Customer Reviews for

Guts: The True Stories behind Hatchet and the Brian Books

Average Rating 4.5
( 57 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(34)

4 Star

(13)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 13 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2014

    Guts by Gary Paulsen, is an autobiography of the memories that c

    Guts by Gary Paulsen, is an autobiography of the memories that caused the author to write a book like Hatchet. I found the stories interesting and filled with suspense like his stories about moose attacks. There was many dangerous stories that kept me on the edge of my seat, and I liked that about this book. If I could change one thing about the book, I would take out the cooking stories because that just isn’t very interesting to me; however, some people may enjoy learning about their cooking styles. I would recommend this book to anyone who enjoys the outdoors like hunting, fishing, and plane rides. 

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2014

    Almost Done

    Sad and Scarry

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2013

           The book Guts, by Gary Paulsen, is a really interesting


           The book Guts, by Gary Paulsen, is a really interesting memoir. This book is about how
     he wrote the Brian saga, which is one of his best series. In the beginning of the book, Paulsen tells
     about his life of hunting and fishing for survival as a young boy.  Then, in the middle of
    the book he turns on his numerous moose attacks, which Brian also knows a lot about. Then in the
     end of his book he discusses how he had to deal with the chances of starvation as a kid. All of the
     events that have happened to Brian in the books have happened to Gary at least one time in his
     life. I really enjoyed this book. I enjoyed it because it is about how Gary Paulsen wrote my
     favorite series, and it has a lot to do with the outdoors. I recommend this book to
     anybody-boy or girl-adult or child who has read his Brian saga. This book is a fun read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2012

    Gary fan

    This book finally revealsall the secrets from hatchet! Such a great great book, gary tells u all about his personal adventures and disasters that soon came to be part of hatchet. I expected more from the ending, but it was still fantastic! Absolutley one of yhe nooks u shuld read, iam 12, but i think this book will be good for alll ages.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2008

    Guts: The True Stories behind "Hatchet" and the Brian Books

    Guts is all about the exotic adventures the author Gary Paulsen has gone through. His past experiences were what made him decide to write Hatchet. You won¿t even believe some of the things he goes through. From moose attacks to giant mosquito swarms, he¿s done it all. The only reason I rated this a four was because there is no climax or plot. It¿s just Gary Paulsen sharing his life story. However, his life story is so interesting that you can¿t put the book down. The story is also well written, of course, and it¿s a very quick read, being only about 150 pages. In fact, if there was an option, I would have rated this a four and a half.<BR/> Most of the story takes place during Paulson¿s childhood, when he first learned to live and survive in the wild. He tells of how he shaped his own bow, assembled his own arrows, and learned to hunt. There are many cases in the book where Paulsen learns something the hard way, most of the adventures keeping you on the edge of your seat. If you are a fan of fun and amazing true stories, then you should definitely read this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2008

    A reviewer

    This book is about all the adventures Gary Paulsen has gone through. These adventures that he has gone through inspired him to make the books Hatchet and the Brian books. There are many stories about moose attacks too. I think Gary did a good job engaging the reader because i couldn't stop reading. The stories were very exciting and i enjoyed reading them. I liked how the author told about his actual experiences. I really don't understand how he never got extremely injured(life threatening)because some of the events were very scary and sounded harsh. I think someone who likes adventures and true stories would enjoy this book because thats what it is.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2008

    Not bad...not bad

    In the book, Guts by Gary Paulsen, Gary is telling the true stories and what really happened in the Hatchet and Brian Books. I enjoyed this book better than some of the other books i read over the past couple years. In the book Guts Mr. Paulsen talks about moose attacks and in the Hatchet how the mosquitos were swarming around Brian. Gary Paulsen also talks some about himself and what he is doing now and the book he has writen. I was a bit dissapointed when i got this book because i thaught it was going to be like Hatchet or Brians Winter gecause Gary Paulsen has always had some good names for books. I think anyone who has read one of his books would enjoy reading Guts.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2007

    A Great Book

    This book showed the reader what Gary Paulson's life was all about. Hunting, plane crashes, eating eyeballs, he did just about anything to survive. He told the reader how important it was to survive too, how you should eat almost everything off an animal, including guts and brains. Also, the book Hatchet, was based off of everything that Gary Paulsen did. Even the moose that charged Brian was based off of Gary Paulsen's life. At the end of the book he taught the reader some useful facts if you were to cook in the wilderness. It taught you how to make a bowl and how to cook some meals. I would recommend this book to anyone who has read The Hatchet or any other books Gary Paulsen has wrote. Although it was very small, it was a great book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2007

    very exciting adventure book

    I have not read any of the other books by Gary Paulsen, but my friends and my brother told me that this was a very good book that was written by him. When I picked it up I thought, 'man this is going to be a very boring book,' but after I got to around page 25 I thought,' wow this is turning out to be a great book.' The part that was disgusting to me was when Brian was so hungry in the wilderness, he started eating the eyeballs and guts from the creatures he killed! He said that if you are starving in the wild, it's good just to have something to eat than to starve. From the plane malfunctions to his encounter with a hugmongous moose on a dog sled to the time when he ate anything he could get his hands on. This book has some very, very interesting, exciting parts but also some very gross parts. I recomend this book to anyone who likes exciting adventure books. Not just this book but also the other books Gary Paulsen has written like 'Hatchet', 'Brian's Winter', and 'Brian's Return'.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2006

    Guts the most exciting adventure book

    'Guts' is a book about how Gary Paulsen wrote his books. Gary Palsen is a man who wrote the book 'Hatchet.' In the book 'Guts' Gary Paulsen talks about 'Hatchet' and about the character Brian. Gary wrote his book 'Hatchet' using only real life things that has happened to himself. All along people have been emailing Garyand sending him letters asking him if he really got attacked by a swarm of mosquitos, or if he really got attacked by a moose. So Gary wrote Guts. He wrote about times when he was attacked by mosquitos. And about how when he was a young boy he would stay in the woods for days and hunt with his home made bow and arrow. He also wrote about his days in the Iditorad. He would be out on days 30 below. And he wrote about being stuck on the ice during a blizzard and having to a plane come and get him. Gary Paulsen wrote about horrible plane crashes that he had witnessed, and wrote of his days as a volentere medical worker. Gary Paulsen wrote this book Guts to inform readers about his horrifying and exciting times in his life that he used to put into his books. Me I hate reading, I hate to take the time out of my day to read a book but with Guts I would volentarily read. I think people should read this book if you like adventure and exciting expieriences. So if your like me and hate reading this book you'll get into the book and just love it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2004

    A Story With a Twist.

    In this story, a boy who survives a plane crash and manages to survive with the assistance of a gift given to him by his mother. The usless gift becomes the major item needed for survival in this harsh environment

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 24, 2002

    the wildreness Man

    It is about gary that he talks about his life and the acsidents hes seen.And when he writes about the book compared to his life

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 13 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1