Customer Reviews for

Guts: The True Stories behind Hatchet and the Brian Books

Average Rating 4.5
( 57 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(34)

4 Star

(13)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 34 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted April 8, 2010

    My son loved this explaination of the Hatchet series!

    Paulsen's books are great! My sons are dyslexic, these books have been such motivation encouragement my youngest has gone from the lower 5% to the upper 97% in reading in just 1 semester, Thanks Gary!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2004

    THIS WAS THE BEST BOOK EVER!!!!!!!!!!

    ¿¿¿¿¿ Warning this book will keep you guessing until the end and may cause you to read for hours. That¿s how I felt with Guts by Gary Paulson. This book explains why Gary wrote The Brian Books and Dogsong. ¿When I came to write Hatchet, I remembered one call, while I was a volunteer paramedic, to a man in Colorado Springs.¿ It also tells the true-life experiences of Gary. ¿I turned raising my rifle and saw two glaring red eyes coming at me at what I thought was 60 or 70 miles per hour.¿ Parts like that made me read nonstop. The setting of the book changes as Gary tells different parts of his life. He writes about his adventures in the north woods of Canada. He wrote about his dogsled races and his experiences with moose. Everything seems to fall into place like a timeline. As I was reading, every page was a new place, a new adventure. This book gave me a better understanding of both Brian and Gary. Gary writes in a very unique style and seems enthusiastic about what it is he¿s writing about. He has lots of excitement, more than any other author I know. I thought this book was extraordinary. I think others will more than enjoy this book. This is a book for the young and the old to enjoy. You will need to read The Brian Books to understand what it is he¿s talking about in Guts, as he refers back to them. If you want to gent into a great book than I suggest that you go to you local library and pick up all of Gary¿s books. I did. What about you? Willowcreek Middle School, Portage, IN

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2013

    Emmet

    Think rest will be good it is good so far but dont read first chapter really gruesome

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2013

    Chris

    Here

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2013

    Absolutly love it

    This fascinated me and taught me alot. I loved it! <3 Me

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2012

    Love gary's books

    I have read alot of his books and they are awsome.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 23, 2012

    Amazing book

    I read this in a barnes and noble once and now I want it for my nook

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2011

    gary is awesome!

    his books r so amazingly good!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 18, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Really Good

    I'm not very much into Hunting but i can say Gary Paulsen is a Great Author. I very much enjoyed this book it was Graphic at times though so I recomend this for 10 year's and up.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 29, 2011

    GGGRRRRRRRR!!!!!!!

    People who dont like gary paulson books SUCK!!!!! Keep ur feelings to urself!!!!!

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2010

    love this book

    this book is great iove it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2008

    Action packed from page one

    What would you do if you were lost on an island with no food or shelter with only a flare gun, a hatchet, and a two piece shotgun? Would you go hunting for food and cut down trees for shelter then wait for someone to rescue you? Well, this is exactly what Gary Paulson went through in the book Guts by Gary Paulson. A young man named Brian was a character designed to do all of Gary Paulson's own life experiences. A plan went down on an unknown island caused by a horrible heartache of the pilot. Bryon had to survive on this stranded island till someone came to rescue him. All the stunts and experiences Brian does were all Gary Paulson's life experiences. The book Guts is all survival which I like a lot. In this book you can find many survival techniques and life or death situations. I also love all the encounters with some of the animals. The book Guts is a good book for you if you like survival or adventure. Also, I recommend you read Hatchet, Brian's Winter and many more books by Gary Paulson.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2008

    This book is wonderful

    Do you like wilderness books? If so, this is the book for you! The memoir Guts by Gary Paulsen is based on his life experiences and the unintended adventures in the wilderness. For example, one time Gary had to perform an emergency landing and the pilot had to fix the engine. Another time, Gary described his dog sledding adventures in the Iditarod, which is a dog sled race in Alaska. My favorite misadventure, was when a moose almost ran Gary over when he was hunting and it was five feet from him: ¿I saw those red eyes charging at me then I closed mine¿. This was my favorite part because Gary was really scared even though the moose ran right past him and started stomping, kicking, scraping with his antlers a harmless, little adorable spruce tree. Hilarious! I think this book is 5 out of 5 stars! I loved this memoir because I like outdoor books and it is such a good memoir. I think Gary is one of the best writers he went on to write the Brian books and Hatchet, works of fiction based on some of his real life adventures.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2007

    A reviewer

    gary paulsen is a very good writer. anyone who likes adventurer books i would really recoment this book. i like the first part of the story when he talkes about him and that man who had a heart attack. it was very dissappointing that the first thing in the story had to be like that. but it made me just want to keep reading and reading on. this book was deffinitly a page turner. story to story and more to come. i give this book a 5 out of 5. OUTSTANDING!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 11, 2007

    Read Guts with Hatchet

    I finally have an answer to the question, 'If you could have dinner with anyone, who would it be?' It would be Gary Paulsen. This man has had enough wilderness adventures to make TEN men's lives interesting. He makes the guys from Jackass look like mere amateurs. In a good way. He's been attacked by insane moose REPEATEDLY, sucked down raw snapping turtle eggs, and been nearly suffocated by mosquitos. I've been using this book as a read aloud, alongside Hatchet. My students love to hear the real life experiences that inform Gary Paulsen's character, Brian Robeson. This is a book boys LOVE. Girls like it too, but the boys are really into it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2007

    Guts, purely outstanding

    I have not read any of Gary Paulsen¿s exhilarating books until I picked up ¿Guts.¿ I thought that I would not truly understand the book due to the fact that it incorporated other books that he has written such as Hatchet and the Brian books. Although this was so, reading about how he was inspired to write those books by his own past experiences and his many close encounters with a ¿world of hurt,¿ made me actually comprehend the situations and the book overall of Guts as well as the two books I have yet to read, Hatchet and the Brian books, a lot easier. Also by incorporating these books into Guts, it made it more entertaining as a reader by making me want to read more and more, never putting the book down from the chilling C-54 plane story, to Gary and his sled dogs dangerous encounters with violent moose, to eating anything that Gary could get his hands on such as a squirrel¿s heart, kidneys and lungs just to survive in the wilderness. I would greatly recommend this book, so read it and find out more about Gary, his inspiration to write other books, and his life¿s adventures.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 17, 2006

    Guts is Good

    This was an exciting book! It kept me guessing and I never wanted to put it down. I would definitely recommend it to any 6th to 9th grade boy with a sense of adventure. There were many parts in the book that I could relate to myself. I have been hunting but I can not imagine being attacked by a moose! And the entire chapter he devotes to wilderness cooking brought back fond memories of camping trips with my dad, brother and friends. Just knowing that the fictional books that he writes are based on real life events makes me like them even more. Gary Paulsen is a very descriptive writer...you can almost visualize what he is writing. I especially liked how he explained all of his adventures and what he ate and how he cooked it. And even though he writes about amazing adventures, he writes about them with humor. But no matter how well he writes, I still don¿t want to eat turtle eggs.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2006

    5 out of 5

    I was surprised that Gary Paulsen lived a life that was so similar to the life of Brian. This was a very good book, though short it did explain how Brian became Brian and what had influenced Hatchet and the Brian Books. When Gary Paulsen wrote this book he didn't write anything that was unrealistic, he experienced just about all of the problems that Brian faced. Once I started reading this book I found it hard to put down because of all of the interesting stories that had happened to Gary Paulsen.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2003

    You gotta love him!

    This is a really great book for all ages it is interesting and if you liked the Brian books you would be sure to like this.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2002

    My life in dog years

    I would recomend this book to people because if you are not a dog lover you will be a dog lover afer you read tis book.Also it tells you about 9 of his dog. Gary you are awesome writer.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 34 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2