BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Guts: The Endless Follies and Tiny Triumphs of a Giant Disaster

Average Rating 4.5
( 47 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(37)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 47 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2012

    Felt it

    Kristen's writing is not only funny, she has a way of making you feel everything she's gone through. I felt like I was there. I loved this book and hope she writes more. She's hysterical and painfully honest.

    16 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2012

    Amazing, Honest, Funny, Surprising Book

    I have absolutely no idea how I came across this book. I usually dont even read memoirs. But by some weird twist of fate, I noticed this book and decided to buy it.... And it was the most inspirational book Ive read in the last few years.....and I read A LOT! Kristen Johnston is a hilarious writer, so the book reads more like a really good story than the common celebrity biography type books. But what really got to me was how seriously honest it was and personal, and revealing, and surprising. I was both laughing and breaking a sweat simultaneously, because there are parts that are so open and honest that Im not used to hearing people talk about them. But she kept it funny as well. I love the way she writes because I rarely ever come across something that is both serious and hilarious at the exact same time....and motivational/inspirational. Im probably making a mess out if this review, because I cant properly explain how much I loved this book. So to sum it up Ill just say: READ IT! Its good! And to Kristen Johnston, if you ever browse the B&N reviews: Thank you! :)

    11 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2012

    Cringe worthy laughs

    I aboslutely LOVE Kristen Johnston. This book made me laugh out loud and feel horrified and sad for her at the same. The book made me want to be her friend. I tweeted her when i finished the book to tell her just how much i loved it. She actually replied. If you have ever been addicted to something or if you just appreciate some good laughs get this book. You will NOT regret it.

    11 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2012

    Thank you Kristen for writing this. It's not just another book a

    Thank you Kristen for writing this. It's not just another book about celebrity addiction, it's real and honest to the (funny) bone and I think it should be required reading in High Schools. We are all freaks trying to escape on our own coconut boat and it's all good.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2012

    Love

    Read it in one day So fantastic

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2012

    Worth Reading

    Kristen is open and brutally honest about her substance abuse dependency and how it ruined her health and career. Her experience is written with the sense of humor and absolutely no BS, she tells it like it happened. I hope Kristen finds the daily strength she needs to maintain her life as it is now, and hope that she realizes that anyone who reads her book will be looking forward to another publication from her in the future.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2012

    Guts

    Great read. She doesnt sugarcoat things, yet still hilarious

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2012

    Great book

    I enjoyed reading this book only because the author was so brutally funny and open about her addiction and rehab. You have to read the book if you want or need a laugh. Warning: she uses vulgar language so if this bothers you, then do not buy this book.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2012

    Grat book

    I lived this book you can tell it was written by her. Iy tellsher storyof addiction but at the same time is so funny.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2012

    Amazing!

    I don't really read books. I have to read a few for school and such and just can't get through them. I try and read classics and celebrity reads too but I get bored easily. Now this book, I just couldn't put it down. I sometimes struggle with some of the issues discussed in this book and felt it so relate-able. Kristen is an amazing story teller and you will not be able to put the book down. It is sad and funny and just shocking. All I can say is, read it. I don't read much but I am so glad I finished this. Amazing amazing amazing. Must read!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2012

    read in one sitting - could not put it down

    Brilliant, heartbreaking, honest, hilarious. If you've ever loved and had you heart repeatedly broken by an addict, you will not be able to put this book down. It was as if she was quoting from my journal at times. An amazing voice; I hope she writes more!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2012

    Good

    Good fast read

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2012

    Powerful, hysterically funny, and raw

    I couldn't put this down. She is raw and painfully honest about her journey to a level that is awe-inspiring. This book is also laugh-out-loud funny. Her account is a testament to the power of recovery - for both the addict and anyone in their circles and beyond. I LOVED it - and will re-read it!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 25, 2013

    Raw, honest, humorous, & courageous This book is honest, f

    Raw, honest, humorous, & courageous

    This book is honest, funny, and shows what addiction can really do. Everyone who reads this should be able to identify with some part of it. We are all flawed in some way; we all have our own vices to help us deal with whatever is going on in our lives. If we all took down the façade that everything is perfectly ok and be real about what is going on, be real about the challenges we have overcome, and be truly authentic that would be so amazing and powerful. I love Kristen’s honesty in this book. It is an inspiring to see someone be that bold and honest about what really happened. It’s beautiful when people are 100% true, honest, and real.

    I have been blessed to have been sober going on a little over 2 years. I used to be ashamed that I am an alcoholic. I wanted to be normal! Seriously, who is normal and who defines what is and who is? I refuse to let what other people may be thinking/their preconceived ideas about addiction stop me from being proud of my recovery and sharing my story. I know a new freedom and serenity today that I have never felt. Life still happens and things still go on, but I can accept them today and not hide behind drugs and alcohol.

    I was a functioning alcoholic and I masked how unhappy I was when I was around others. It was exhausting just trying to keep up the picture that everything was great and life was wonderful. I didn’t embrace recovery at first, but life is so much better today than what it used to be like.

    It’s sad to know that people can be so ashamed and afraid of what other people will think that they continue going through life battling addiction, but sadly not all make it. Addiction not only impacts the addict, but also family and friends. Addiction comes in many forms, but we seem to place them on levels of semi bad to horrible. Addiction is addiction. It’s heart breaking hearing about the ones who lose their fight with addiction. Brothers, sisters, mothers, fathers, sons, daughters, etc.

    LisaMarie

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2012

    A must-read

    This book was excellent! I can not express how much I insist on this being a must-read for anyone who has or is close to someone who struggles with a substance abuse problem.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2014

    Guts

    Great detailed story of adductuin

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2014

    A very good book

    I am the kind of person that doesnt like alot of books, but I really enjoyed this book. I wish it was a series because I would read all of them. A must read book in my opinion.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2014

    Loved it!  Read about 90% of it the first time I opened it.  I'm

    Loved it!  Read about 90% of it the first time I opened it.  I'm 15 months into recovery myself. Im always looking for inspiration or motivation for strength and growth, and "GUTS" delivered both!  

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2013

    THIS BOOK SAVED MY LIFE Oct 6 2013

    The best book on addiction I have ever read. Helped me understand addiction is a disease and that their are reasons why people are addicts. On behalf of my daugher and myself Thank You for sharing your story and for the powers that be thank you for allow her to live to share her story and to help others.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2013

    GUTS is FABULOUS, could NOT put it down.  It's more than a "

    GUTS is FABULOUS, could NOT put it down.  It's more than a "how i got off drugs" book.  It's a book about the realization of self. LOVED it.
    If you like memoirs like i do, you will love this one.....so honest....love Kristen Johnston, cool lady!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 47 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3