Customer Reviews for

The Guy Not Taken

Average Rating 3.5
( 109 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(29)

4 Star

(25)

3 Star

(26)

2 Star

(14)

1 Star

(15)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

*****

when I first read a book by Jennifer Weiner, I knew that I would read anything of hers that I could get my hands on. Believe I have read them all now. She has humor, sadness, laughter and all of the ingredients that it take to make a book a good read. Hard to put do...
when I first read a book by Jennifer Weiner, I knew that I would read anything of hers that I could get my hands on. Believe I have read them all now. She has humor, sadness, laughter and all of the ingredients that it take to make a book a good read. Hard to put down once you start so keep your day open.

posted by CAROL-PINER-40 on October 25, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Very Dissapointed

I usually love Jennifer Weiner's book, however was not impressed with this one. It was a bunch of short stories, some better than others. I hated that I would get into a story and it would end, with no real good conclusion. I would not reccomend this book, even though i...
I usually love Jennifer Weiner's book, however was not impressed with this one. It was a bunch of short stories, some better than others. I hated that I would get into a story and it would end, with no real good conclusion. I would not reccomend this book, even though it was discounted.

posted by Kelsey83 on June 6, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 109 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2012

    Love her books!

    Has a nice begining, but sarts off a little slow

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 25, 2011

    *****

    when I first read a book by Jennifer Weiner, I knew that I would read anything of hers that I could get my hands on. Believe I have read them all now. She has humor, sadness, laughter and all of the ingredients that it take to make a book a good read. Hard to put down once you start so keep your day open.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 13, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    help you open your eyes

    I read this book because I wanted to finish all of Jennifer Weiner's book. Mind you the stories are very very short, and don't go into a lot of depth, but it's certainly still interesting to read. It opens your eyes to your everyday life, that 'what ifs', and 'what nots'. I found the story about the mom/child and the temper tantrums. How she found a young mom in her class who seemed to be a wonderful mom, yet they grew apart. It's not the best book I have read in my entire life, but it's a good filler if you are waiting for something else to come out.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 27, 2009

    not her best book

    I didn't really like this book although I did finish it. I would not recommend this book over any of her other ones.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 5, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Mediocre...

    I was slightly disappointed by this book. It seemed like her agent wanted her to do a book and she couldn't come up with anything so she just took a jumbled mess of ideas and stuck them in a book. I like her full fledged composed stories instead.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 20, 2009

    Disappointing

    I found this book disappointing. It is a collection of short stories, but they are so well written that you could write a book about each one. I was irritated that the stories ended where they did. I stopped reading about halfway through because I was so disappointed.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 13, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Guy Not Taken

    Not one of Jennifers best. The book is a collection of short stories. From first glance you would think it was going to be stories about regretting past loves and what not, but the stories dont come together in the end and leave you quite confused. I was not satisfied with this book at all.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 6, 2009

    Very Dissapointed

    I usually love Jennifer Weiner's book, however was not impressed with this one. It was a bunch of short stories, some better than others. I hated that I would get into a story and it would end, with no real good conclusion. I would not reccomend this book, even though it was discounted.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 8, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Could not do it....

    I could not get into this book. I'm a fan of Jennifer Weiner but this book was awful.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 29, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    yuck!

    I am a fan of Jennifer Weiner, but this book is horrible! I could not get through it, and I very rarely give up on a book.
    Numerous friends of mine also thought this book was a waste of time.
    I suggest reading ANY of her others besides this one.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2007

    her writing is incredible

    I am not much of a fan of short story writing but i loved loved this collection. I have always found Jennifer to be quite witty but I had reached a point where i was really getting weary of chick lit. I bought this for a long bus ride and fell in love with each and every story. She is extremely talented and the stories were amazing. Her talent for writing really shines through with this collection. highly recommended.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 5, 2014

    Good if you like short stories

    The Guy Not Taken is a book compiled of multiple short stories by Jennfier Weiner. I have loved all of her other books that I have read, but this one didn't really keep me as interested. I am not really a short story person which is the only reason why I didn't like this book as much as the others. Overall, the stories weren't bad.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2012

    I love JW and all her books.

    I love JW and all her books.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 9, 2011

    Couldn't put it down

    Really enjoyed the differnt spins each story had

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 22, 2011

    Awful

    This is not the sort of thing I would typically read so I don't know how it stacks up within it's genre, but it was painfully awful. How does something like this even get published? It was like an undergrad creative writing project, awkward and shallow, lacking anything soulful or even insightful. I finish everything, not this. This wasn't worth the time. The author leaves her poor characters so flat that they aren't worth our concern or time. Was this put out for a quick pay day? Does the publisher have so little respect for readers that it would expect us to hand over our cash in exchange for this garbage? Don't waste your money, there are a lot of other good contemporary short stories out there.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 8, 2010

    Not great

    I wish I had read the reviews on this one before I purchased it. I had bought it on sale but it wasn't even worth what I paid for it. I got through all of it but didn't enjoy it at all. Don't waste your money unless you like short stories. Really short stories.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 11, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Short Stories

    Jennifer Weiner's writing is enjoyable escapism. I bought the audio book and didn't read the cover carefully so I was a bit surprised to find that this is a collection of short stories when the first story ended and I wanted to know more about what happened.
    Overall I enjoyed it and will buy more of her books as they become available. Her characters are more realistic than most and don't necessarily have a "happy ever after" ending and that's refreshing sometimes.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 3, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Augh.....

    Sadly this was my first Jennifer Weiner read, and I am not impressed. The content is AWFUL! Hopefully this is just a bad book and her other books are great. I will give her 1 more try.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 30, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Couln't Get into It

    I got this book because I have read a majority of her other work and loved it. However, this one I just could not get into 100%. I was able to finish it by pushing myself but it was tough. I just didn't like the wayt hat it was presented and the way that the stories happened. I think her other work is amazing but something just happened with this one.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2007

    Worst book I have ever read

    This book was a huge disappointment. The stories were boring and juvenile. I used to like her books, but after this I will not buy another.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 109 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6