Customer Reviews for

The Guy Not Taken

Average Rating 3.5
( 109 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(29)

4 Star

(25)

3 Star

(26)

2 Star

(14)

1 Star

(15)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

*****

when I first read a book by Jennifer Weiner, I knew that I would read anything of hers that I could get my hands on. Believe I have read them all now. She has humor, sadness, laughter and all of the ingredients that it take to make a book a good read. Hard to put do...
when I first read a book by Jennifer Weiner, I knew that I would read anything of hers that I could get my hands on. Believe I have read them all now. She has humor, sadness, laughter and all of the ingredients that it take to make a book a good read. Hard to put down once you start so keep your day open.

posted by CAROL-PINER-40 on October 25, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Very Dissapointed

I usually love Jennifer Weiner's book, however was not impressed with this one. It was a bunch of short stories, some better than others. I hated that I would get into a story and it would end, with no real good conclusion. I would not reccomend this book, even though i...
I usually love Jennifer Weiner's book, however was not impressed with this one. It was a bunch of short stories, some better than others. I hated that I would get into a story and it would end, with no real good conclusion. I would not reccomend this book, even though it was discounted.

posted by Kelsey83 on June 6, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 29 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted October 25, 2011

    *****

    when I first read a book by Jennifer Weiner, I knew that I would read anything of hers that I could get my hands on. Believe I have read them all now. She has humor, sadness, laughter and all of the ingredients that it take to make a book a good read. Hard to put down once you start so keep your day open.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2007

    her writing is incredible

    I am not much of a fan of short story writing but i loved loved this collection. I have always found Jennifer to be quite witty but I had reached a point where i was really getting weary of chick lit. I bought this for a long bus ride and fell in love with each and every story. She is extremely talented and the stories were amazing. Her talent for writing really shines through with this collection. highly recommended.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2012

    I love JW and all her books.

    I love JW and all her books.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 9, 2011

    Couldn't put it down

    Really enjoyed the differnt spins each story had

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2007

    ENJOYED EVERY STORY

    I really enjoyed every single story in this book of short stories. That is rare that i can say that.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Great anthology

    This is a terrific eleven story chick lit collection that fans will appreciate and accentuates how great that sub-genre is in the shorter format (as opposed to novels). Interesting chick lit obviously was around before authors tried to keep up with Jones as six of the tales are from the 1990s with one as early as 1990 the rest are from the last two years. Each tales is well written as the audience will care what happens to each of the beleaguered heroines, as they wish to be a Phoenix rising out of the ashes of bad relationships to forge strong new families, but have doubts they are capable of achieving their aspirations. Adding to the fun is the cast from the novel Good in Bed return for a second round (see ¿Good Men¿). Jennifer Weiner provides a delightful anthology that her fans and other chick lit readers will fully appreciate as these women provide strong convincing asides on life, love, and family.----------- Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2006

    Remarkable

    The eleven stories contained in this book are each better than the last. I could not stop reading and was extremely disappointed when the stories were over. My favorite was the the title story, which as a married woman I could definitely relate to. The stories are smart, touching and bittersweet. The characters stay with you long after you have finished reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 8, 2006

    WOW

    Just about the best book that i have ever read. I finished the first story and loved it so much that i wanted to start it all over again.. i just lover her books and can't get enough

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 20, 2006

    absolutely wonderful

    Jennifer Weiner is such a talented writer. I really enjoyed this collection of short stories and I don't even like short stories! Each was better than the next. Very well done and engrossing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 7, 2006

    Engrossing

    It's perfect for a weekend spent curled up on the couch with a cup of coffee! The Guy Not Taken is filled with engrossing, heartwarming stories.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2006

    Illuminating the catacombs of the female psyche

    Although Weiner's novels are good reading, her shorter pieces shine with a pithy elegance. A master at depicting women in relationships -- not only with men taken and not taken, but with mothers, fathers, sons, and daughters -- Weiner creates in these eleven tales lambent characters that illuminate the catacombs of the female psyche.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 2, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    PERFECT PAIRING OF NARRATORS

    Those drawn to the novels of Jennifer Weiner, especially Good In Bed and In Her Shoes (which was made into a major motion picture) will want to listen and probably listen again to this collection of her short stories. She has the ability to create characters to whom we easily relate, individuals cut from everyday life with all of our common foibles and gifts. These 11 stories once again capture men and women during transitional and transforming times in their lives. 'Just Desserts' and 'Travels With Nicki,' the two opening stories were written early in Weiner's career. They reflect, to a great extent, her own life experience - the effects of divorce on a once apparently close knit family. Josie, the lead character, reflects her feelings with, ''I had heard them fighting at night, his hissing whispers and her tears, and I knew that for the last month he'd come home late, and for the last week, not at all, but I'd been telling myself I was worrying about nothing, that they were just going through a rough patch, that things were going to be fine.' In another tale (the title story) Marlie Davidow wonders about what might have been when she comes upon her ex boyfriend's online wedding registry. Here she is with a new baby, lonely, and it's late at night. What might have happened had she chosen him? Sometimes a tender moment, at other times tough going, each story takes on the reality of life as it is today, especially when read by such talented actors as Mary Catherine Garrison and Jordan Bridges. Remembered for her guest appearances on TV's Law and Order as well as her Broadway performance in The Man Who Came to Dinner, Ms. Garrison has a winning voice that accurately captures both joy and pathos. Jordan Bridges is a gifted actor and well he should be as he's the son, nephew, and grandson of Beau, Jeff and Lloyd Bridges. His narration is articulate, powerful when strength is needed, always very much in sync with the character he currently inhabits. Enjoy! - Gail Cooke

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 7, 2006

    Only a Woman Would Know...

    ...how to touch every chord in another woman's life - from young to old age. A superb collection of life's adventures. Could not put it down until finished. I laughed, cried, sighed and remembered various times in my own life so far...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 25, 2006

    I adored the words in this book

    A wonderful collection of stories filled with interesting women who are smart, wounded, jealous, funny, and determined to keep it together as they go through some of life's most trying and truly emotional experiences. Great escape reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2006

    Thanks for the advance copy,

    Guy Not Taken is another great summer read...Entertaining..Exciting...and Sexy. I enjoyed the colorful characters and the strong plot.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2006

    Weiner's best

    I've been so excited for this book. It is by far her best yet -- every story is amazing and they just keep getting better as you read through the collection. So far, my favorite is Oranges from Florida. I haven't read anything this moving and this good in years. I laughed and cried, and just cannot get these characters out of my heart or my head. I've been telling everyone all day, read this book. Enjoy!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 29 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2