Customer Reviews for

Guyaholic

Average Rating 3.5
( 21 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(7)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Great book!

I had read Mackler's My Earth my butt and other big round things and then found this book. It's a cute story but I wish it would have had more of an ending other than that its a good short read.

posted by Steph0690 on August 17, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Boring

Started off well, but through most of the book, the heroine is pretty much wondering around aimlessly and feeling sorry for herself. Could have been better.

posted by Celly on November 3, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2010

    Great book!

    I had read Mackler's My Earth my butt and other big round things and then found this book. It's a cute story but I wish it would have had more of an ending other than that its a good short read.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 5, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Angie Fisher for TeensReadToo.com

    Vivienne Vail Valentine - no wonder she needs a nickname. "V" is her name, and guys are her game.

    A game she learned well ...from her mom. That would be the same mom who dumped her at her grandparents house to live, which, by the way, was probably the best gift she ever gave her one and only child.

    To say V has trust issues would be like saying the sun can burn. She shimmies from one guy to the next with the grace of a goddess, leaving nothing but broken hearts in her wake. That is, until she finds herself on the wrong end of a hockey puck, bleeding in the lap of a fellow fan.

    Head wounds bleed, by the way, a lot. And Sam Almond didn't flinch when he used his sweatshirt to plug the hole in her head that would later require eighteen stitches.

    Sam didn't consider himself a hero, and V didn't want to think of him as such, because it scared her. He scared her. He was different.

    When the opportunity arises for her to return to her old ways, she convinces herself it's the way to go, it's who she is; it's who her mother made her. But at what cost?

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2010

    Boring

    Started off well, but through most of the book, the heroine is pretty much wondering around aimlessly and feeling sorry for herself. Could have been better.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2014

    Whatt is your age reccomindation?

    What age is this for??

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2013

    Interesting ^_^

    I like hhibook very interedting & s

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 12, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Guyaholic every girl is one

    the main character V is a classic girl with an unpredictable mother trying to solve her problems and going about it the wrong way. She is a great role model for young readers since in the end she is able to find and save herself. She also still gets prince charming and is a strong woman figure. V if no damsel in distress this is for sure. The book has really good life lessons and the characters are very real. This book makes a great summer read and is good just for fun. Nothing less could ever be expected of Carolyn Mackler.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 25, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    the spotlight is on V...

    Guyaholic is the sequel to Vegan Virgin Valentine by Carolyn Mackler. This time the spotlight is on V, and she's on a mission. V has been living with her grandparents since her mom took off on her to follow some guy. Because V's mom is always letting her down she has some commitment issues and is afraid to fall in love and have somebody love her back. Sam is the closest she's come to true love and she messes everything up with him, sending him running away to California for a change of scenery. V's mom was supposed to come to V's high school graduation, skips out on it and invites V to drive down to Texas to visit her. V decides she's up for a road trip and heads out on the highway where misshapes, adventures and epiphanies ensue. On her way down to Texas she figures out what she's truly looking for. Can she forgive her mother and make amends in Texas? Or will she realize what she lost in Sam and head in the direction of California? This is a decent follow up to Vegan Virgin Valentine with a really good ending. I found myself rooting for V and hoping she would make the right decision in the end. I was not disappointed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2008

    Great Book

    This book was great I got it at my school library and was totly captiveated I mean who would not be by a gril who has everything better than she thinks she does she has a great boyfriend and awsome frinds she is a little sluty but not to much not so much as to worry about it im trying to get ahold of her other books right now but im not haveing an easy time doing it In the beginning she goes to a hockey game then she gets hit in the head with the puck and lads in the lap of sam Then she gets the stiches and fixed up and in her down time she has to stay at home and Sam comes over (she does not know she landed in his lap and also does not know who he is)They stat dating and after graduation they go to this party she gets wasted and ends up making out with the ex-boyfriend and Sams little sister ceches them V then walks home alone (Sam has her keys) in the morning Sam brings back her car and leaves without even talking to her she then gets ready to go to Texas to see her mom (her mom let her down by not showing up for graduation like she has done many times in the past) and her mom lets her down yet again by breaking up with her boyfriend and moving before V gets there after talking to Rachel (Sams sister) and her grandparents (She lives with them) she desides to go to Califona to find Sam after finding him they make up and then the book ends but it was a great ending better than most.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2008

    A modern teen romance

    Grabs your attention from the start and keeps you wondering whether or not V will ever get back with Sam the boyfriend she currently cheated on or will she forgive her mom and move to Texas. This vibrant book depicts a teenager on a road trip, who gets more out of the trip than she would have ever expected. As V struggles to learn who she really is deep down, she questions whether or not she is like her mother who can¿t even remember who she got pregnant with. This sequel is V¿s chance for a happy ending or maybe just the start of her happy ending.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2008

    A reviewer

    When I first started to read this book it grabed a hold of me and i wanted to read more of it .When I got to the part when she cheated it made me wounder if they were to ever get back together or if V would go to Cali instead of Texas

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 18, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 19, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2