BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

H. M. S. Unseen (Admiral Arnold Morgan Series #3)

Average Rating 4.5
( 19 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(11)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 19 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2014

    LUNACLAN MAP

    Res 14 Main camp. Res 15 Sacked Rocks. Res 16 Leaders den. Res 17 Nursery. Res 18 Apprentice Den. Res 19 Elders Den. Res 20 Warriors Den. Res 21 Med cat Den. Res 22 Lookout Rock.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2013

    Number the Stars~~ chapter 6 One More Time

    Just one more time with him wont hurt... right? Shimmerpaw battled these thoughts around in her head. She was going to do it. Obsidianflame wont let her know; he's a part of Starclan. Speaking of Starclan... who would send te sign to Tawnypetal? Shimmerpaw padded to her den just as darkness filled the sky, welcoming the ablazed stars. Greatfully she rested her body on her nest, and she slept. Once again she collected herself in the meadow, more confident about her surroundings. But something was different... where's Obsidianflame? She sat, waiting for the sleek black tom to arrive at their secret meetingplace. She scanned the clearing, hoping to pass the time, once again recalling the graceful butterflies and dancing waves of color. The violet sky, Obsidianflames scent... Obsidianflame! She spun around, full of glee to see her love. She threw her paws aroun him, and she licked him to her hearts content.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2012

    Elana

    Cool. So am i.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2012

    Derpu

    Okay bye!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2012

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2011

    Patrick Robinson

    Highly Recommended

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 12, 2009

    Subwarfare purists who miss page-burning Patrick Robinson

    I first discovered Patrick Robinson when I bought a paperback Nemitz Class at a yard sale. What a fantastic surprise . . . techno-thriller like I hadn't seen since the earliery Tom Clancy novels. . . you know, like before Clancy branched out into ghost-writer francises?

    I love spy versus antispy plots. In HMS Unseen, Ben Adnam [sp?] is a Jason Bourne-type professional killer/manipulator, lethal with a paper weight and a nose-bone smash into a sentry's brain. Ben, a former Israeli navy commander [though born in Iran] turned Islamic terrorist commander has Iraq, Iran, and the western powers closing in on him. He's cornered, no place to hide in the world. I had no idea how Robinson was going to finish this story, but Robinson did it -- leave it, and Ben, to Arnold -- plausible and satisfying.

    The plots are gripping, the characters,at times are militarily stodgie and sometimes James Bond "shaken, not stirred" lavish for a career navy dude.

    Robinson's overall sequences -- not the minutia about whether or not AK-47s might or might not have silencers,-- are what makes reading a Robinson novel a compelling adventure.
    I've read nearly all of Robinson's novels, starting with Nemitz Class through Hunter Killer. DiMercurio and Buff, excellent sub warfare authors, apply submarine service terms like "HDR masts", "BQQ-5", "DSUV 61" or "slot buoys". My point is. . . these specialists in sub warfare bog down into too much, it slows the reading. I really have had a tough time sticking to reading about pipes, bulkhead hatches and bowplane indicator "bubbles". Okay, but not the overall excitement of a Clancy-type novel that tickles the imagination of readers who enjoy international intrigue chess matches.

    Robinson's Admiral Arnold might be rude and irrascible, but the story line plots pitting Arnold against Chinese, Russians, North Koreans, radical Islamists are fun, suspenseful to the end and wonderful companionship. I really hate when each novel ends.

    Military leaders recommend Robinson's books for military personnel of all services. The story lines at times have been prophetic, they read like today's headlines. Robinson stages his plots as if he's got a radical Islamic advisor/informer whispering in his ear.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2000

    Oh what a crocker.

    The sheer unbelievability of Ben Adnam is not the main downfall of this book. That is reserved for the absolute lack of research carried out about the Armed Forces involved. To name but a few problems; 1.The correct military signals term for a genuine situation is 'NODUFF,' not the one used in the book. 2.The two soldiers murdered on St Kilda could not belong to the RASC. The RASC ceased to exist under that name in 1965 when it became the RCT. 3.The regimental number of the corporal would have him joining the Army some time in the mid sixties, so even had he joined as a junior he would be at least 54 years old having served some 39 years. 4.The British Army have used diesel Land-Rovers since the late eighties. 5.The St Kilda installation would be checked over by a REME Control Equipment Technician (Ecky Tech) who would be a sergeant at most, officers do not carry out these inspections - they are not trained for it. 6.The maximum speed of a UH-60 Black Hawk helicopter is 184MPH not the 250MPH claimed in the story. In fact the absolute helicopter speed record is less than 250MPH. Mr Robinson has fallen into the trap of relying on a (very eminent)seaman for background detail on the British Army. Not checking out about the helicopter was just negligent (not what Ben Adnam would consider professional at all)- that piece of data took me just 25 seconds to root out via the net.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 9, 2000

    Robinson outdoes himself in HMS Unseen

    An action pact thriller you will want to read time and time again. You will follow an Iraqi terrorist through an adventure of international deceit and destruction. A book of strategic warfare and deception that will keep you on the edge of your seat page after page from cover to cover.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2000

    What a ride!

    A fantastic conclusion to an all too real possibility. A classic tale of good versus evil. H.M.S. Unseen brings to head, a story of one man's mission to destroy the U.S. and the country who tried to have him eliminated. An excellent read that you will not be able to put down once you have begun the fanatasic ride.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2000

    My First Patrick Robinson Novel

    H.M.S. Unseen is my first Patrick Robinson novel. Reviews I have read compare him to Tom Clancy. By no stretch! Although Mr. Robinson's writing ability is apparent, his story line does not approach the authenticity of a classic Clancy tale. As a matter of fact, a third through the book I became overcome with exasperation; the anti-hero too perfect, all others (in the free world) simple minded incompetents! Clancy's fiction is awesomely believable, even to the technically knowledgeable. Moreover, why a novel has to contain obviously excessive detail and filler subplots just to be over 500 pages is something I fail to understand. Criticism of too unreasonable a change later in the story in the anti-hero's otherwise super human flawlessness, is also something I find legitimate. Nonetheless, I felt compelled to finish the book, such is the quality of the writing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 24, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 19 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1