Customer Reviews for

The Holy Bible: HCSB Digital Text Edition: Holman Christian Standard Bible Optimized for Digital Readers

Average Rating 4
( 2394 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(1502)

4 Star

(345)

3 Star

(199)

2 Star

(122)

1 Star

(226)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

117 out of 127 people found this review helpful.

5 STAR recommendation from me for sure! This Bible loads easily, search works well, I love it, best of all it was free!

I had tried downloading other Bibles and had trouble getting past the first couple books - they took forever to load, and to find books then chapters was almost impossible. With this one, pagination is almost immediate, you can get to the book you want right away, then ...
I had tried downloading other Bibles and had trouble getting past the first couple books - they took forever to load, and to find books then chapters was almost impossible. With this one, pagination is almost immediate, you can get to the book you want right away, then under the book you can get to the chapter right away - the up and down arrows work! you can access the notes and can add notes and bookmarks easily, Highlighting is also very easily done. It is in modern language and very readable.

posted by Granny_Nan on October 9, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

53 out of 68 people found this review helpful.

GREAT BOOK

I found this extremely difficult to navigate through. It was fine if you wanted to read it from cover to cover. However with a Bible one may want to look up a specific verse and it is virtually impossible to do so. Spent over an hour on the support line trying to fin...
I found this extremely difficult to navigate through. It was fine if you wanted to read it from cover to cover. However with a Bible one may want to look up a specific verse and it is virtually impossible to do so. Spent over an hour on the support line trying to find a way to do verse searches and they also said could not be done.

posted by 5806133 on January 2, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 345 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 18
  • Posted January 12, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Highly recommended

    As a new christian I remember lots from my early years but fuzzy on many different things. Easy reading and very understandable. As flipping around goes I find I can be reading the right text long before many others during bible study ease to navagate thru. I see no problems with the table of contents even puting in notes is simple.

    20 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 22, 2010

    Navigates fast for a large book

    I think this bible is very easy to navigate. Unlike other larger Bibles, this loads quickly and is fast enough to use during a bible study where quick navigation is needed. I am using a Nook Color.
    I just need to research is this is a sound bible version.

    13 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 20, 2011

    Works well

    Now, I can finally read God's Word anywhere! There are absolutely NO issues. Download with confidence and be blessed!

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 26, 2010

    Translation - Great. Navigation - Bad.

    The translation is great. Though this version is not very easy to navigate to a specific verse.

    4 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2012

    A GOOD,FREE AND EASY TO Use BIBLE

    A GREAT BIBLE

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2011

    Great with a full touch screen

    I love this translation. Highly recommended for a Nook Color or Simple Touch. However, it can be frustrating navigating on the Nook First Edition because the contents pages have so many links. Going to Psalm 139 requires hitting the down key 138 times!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 25, 2011

    Pretty Good

    Theres nothing spectacularly new about this translation but it is easy to read and accurate, very useful and useable and hey, its free! If you need a decent bible on your Nook, this one will do ya fine.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 25, 2011

    Really Good

    This is a great ebook version of the Bible. It is easy to navigate even if you don't really know your way around the Bible. I never have a hard time finding a book or chapter, and also there are not a bunch of typos like in many other free nook books. I do not have any problems with it and this is a wonderful book!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 31, 2011

    This was well worth the the time it took to download this.

    It is easy to read and very easy to navigate to any part of the Bible.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2011

    Recommend

    This is not my favorite translation, but this download was well worth it. Easy to navigate and read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 25, 2010

    this is great!

    my 1st download for mycolor nook. fast and easy!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2014

    Bible question

    Is it better to start in the new restament or the old cuz people are telling me different things. Over all the bible is amazing

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2013

    HAPPY NEW YEARS

    HAPPY NEW YEARS

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 8, 2013

    Excellent edition, pretty easy to read and a great Bible to refe

    Excellent edition, pretty easy to read and a great Bible to reference to.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2013

    Good tool

    Very useful and more accurate than other eBible Books

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2013

    The HCSB Bible

    Simple to find scriptures, has "links" that will take you to it's own bible dictionary. To give 5stars I would like a back arrow, to return to the prior verse; a highlighter; & a way to add margin notes next to individual scripture.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2013

    Awesome

    Very easy to understand and use it ...recomend it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2013

    Best choice

    I have tried several Bibles for my nook this is the one I like the best.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2012

    A good bible so far

    Im on page 130 and so far its a pretty good book. it tells me everything i need to know.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2012

    recommend

    useful tool to have, easy to use

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 345 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 18