Customer Reviews for

The Holy Bible: HCSB Digital Text Edition: Holman Christian Standard Bible Optimized for Digital Readers

Average Rating 4
( 2410 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(1511)

4 Star

(350)

3 Star

(199)

2 Star

(122)

1 Star

(228)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

121 out of 131 people found this review helpful.

5 STAR recommendation from me for sure! This Bible loads easily, search works well, I love it, best of all it was free!

I had tried downloading other Bibles and had trouble getting past the first couple books - they took forever to load, and to find books then chapters was almost impossible. With this one, pagination is almost immediate, you can get to the book you want right away, then ...
I had tried downloading other Bibles and had trouble getting past the first couple books - they took forever to load, and to find books then chapters was almost impossible. With this one, pagination is almost immediate, you can get to the book you want right away, then under the book you can get to the chapter right away - the up and down arrows work! you can access the notes and can add notes and bookmarks easily, Highlighting is also very easily done. It is in modern language and very readable.

posted by Granny_Nan on October 9, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

53 out of 68 people found this review helpful.

GREAT BOOK

I found this extremely difficult to navigate through. It was fine if you wanted to read it from cover to cover. However with a Bible one may want to look up a specific verse and it is virtually impossible to do so. Spent over an hour on the support line trying to fin...
I found this extremely difficult to navigate through. It was fine if you wanted to read it from cover to cover. However with a Bible one may want to look up a specific verse and it is virtually impossible to do so. Spent over an hour on the support line trying to find a way to do verse searches and they also said could not be done.

posted by 5806133 on January 2, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 1511 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 76
  • Posted October 9, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    5 STAR recommendation from me for sure! This Bible loads easily, search works well, I love it, best of all it was free!

    I had tried downloading other Bibles and had trouble getting past the first couple books - they took forever to load, and to find books then chapters was almost impossible. With this one, pagination is almost immediate, you can get to the book you want right away, then under the book you can get to the chapter right away - the up and down arrows work! you can access the notes and can add notes and bookmarks easily, Highlighting is also very easily done. It is in modern language and very readable.

    121 out of 131 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2010

    So far so good!!

    Just downloaded this free version of God's word and read some to see if I liked the translation. It's great and very easy to navigate! v

    78 out of 84 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 16, 2010

    Too difficult to use

    There is no way to use this as a research Bible. There are no page headings with book names and chapter numbers. The only way you can know where a book is, is to guess, then go to that page and scroll back to the beginning of the book to see if you are right,then scroll ahead to the chapter and verse that you want. It is very cumbersome to use.

    39 out of 53 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2010

    very useful

    people complain about pg number issues and slow downloads, but my nookcolor had neither problem (as there is a button labeled 'contents'). beautiful word of God not hindered by many distractions. i suggest for sure!

    17 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 7, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Easy to navigate

    Very easy to navigate. Tap on the screen, click content, choose a chapter, and you're on the chapter you want. Plus, it's FREE!!!!!

    9 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 28, 2010

    gerat digital version of Bible

    I have found this bible very easy to read on the nook. I have read other reviews that people have used other versions of the bible to study from, but I'm not using this as a study guide, just to read. It is much easier then in reading the hardcopy version.

    8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2012

    JOHN 3:16

    FOR GOD SO LOVED THE WORLD THAT HE GAVE HIS ONE AND ONLY SON SO THAT WHOEVER BELIVES IN HIM SHALL NOT PERISH BUT HAVE EVER LASTING LIFE

    6 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2012

    Awesome Awesome Bible!

    This Bible is a great read for anyone interested in ESV or that kind of Bible, I read this Bible as a devotional every night and it is a kind of Bible that is relevent for our culture's way of speaking, Aside from a few words run together likethis-I give rhis version a five out of five

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2012

    She

    I LOVE IT

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2012

    Awsome

    There were a few errors like "sworeto" when it should be swore too but other than that it was great. Oh and most of the bible in the shop aren't free. If people wan tto spread the word of God then they should make all the bibles free like this one. I usualy read the niv version but this is an older version its more "original".

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2011

    BIBLE

    the bible is amazing & if you never read it you should. It has stories that will change your life. LITERALLY

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2012

    Offensive Postings

    I am appalled at some of these postings... when I read a book review I am inquiring about the book itself. This is not a forum for sharing strong personal beliefs. To do so is inappropriate and ABUSIVE. A flagrant disregard for respecting other people's beliefs by inappropriate means is SHAMEFUL indeed. The Nook community is a safe place for everyone, please reserve the ratings and review section for helpful and relevant postings.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2011

    Keren

    Love the bilble and going to chufch o saturdays ..i say saturday because i am a sevanth day ad ventis wich is the religon closest to the bible as posible i llove my religion

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 8, 2011

    Quality exceeds pricetag!

    I am so grateful for a freely offered eBible that does not look or feel cheap in any way. Thank you B&H!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 25, 2011

    Very Organized and easy to use

    Its so easy to navigate and take notes using the note taking thing! I reccomend it to anyone. The best part is its free! ;-D

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 25, 2011

    I agree

    I agree totally with Anonymous on September 17 . Any version of the bible is amazing. If you dont like this version Then try another version. There is no need to be rude. God wouldn't approve.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 3, 2010

    Great Bible

    And I love that it is free. Haven't found a problem yet with the translation.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2013

    Good

    I like that i can make the passages bigger and smaller. Also when I am reading it starts off from where i left off. In church it is easy and quicker to find passages.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2012

    I love god

    Im on team jesus

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 28, 2012

    Excellent

    This is the Word of God in an accurate and very readable translation. It is a joy to have these excellent verses at my fingertips. I highly recommend it for anyone seeking to know who God is and how much He loves us.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 1511 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 76