Customer Reviews for

The Holy Bible: HCSB Digital Text Edition: Holman Christian Standard Bible Optimized for Digital Readers

Average Rating 4
( 2387 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(1495)

4 Star

(345)

3 Star

(199)

2 Star

(122)

1 Star

(226)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

117 out of 127 people found this review helpful.

5 STAR recommendation from me for sure! This Bible loads easily, search works well, I love it, best of all it was free!

I had tried downloading other Bibles and had trouble getting past the first couple books - they took forever to load, and to find books then chapters was almost impossible. With this one, pagination is almost immediate, you can get to the book you want right away, then ...
I had tried downloading other Bibles and had trouble getting past the first couple books - they took forever to load, and to find books then chapters was almost impossible. With this one, pagination is almost immediate, you can get to the book you want right away, then under the book you can get to the chapter right away - the up and down arrows work! you can access the notes and can add notes and bookmarks easily, Highlighting is also very easily done. It is in modern language and very readable.

posted by Granny_Nan on October 9, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

53 out of 68 people found this review helpful.

GREAT BOOK

I found this extremely difficult to navigate through. It was fine if you wanted to read it from cover to cover. However with a Bible one may want to look up a specific verse and it is virtually impossible to do so. Spent over an hour on the support line trying to fin...
I found this extremely difficult to navigate through. It was fine if you wanted to read it from cover to cover. However with a Bible one may want to look up a specific verse and it is virtually impossible to do so. Spent over an hour on the support line trying to find a way to do verse searches and they also said could not be done.

posted by 5806133 on January 2, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 122 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 7
  • Posted January 10, 2011

    No navigation to indiv bks or chaps

    I downloaded the sample hoping this would be a useful Bible ebook. Excellent translation, but lacking navigation, it is not helpful. Since people don't read the Bible cover to cover, like a novel, navigation is critical in a Bible ebook. Please add navigation. Then people will want to read this edition.

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2011

    Difficult to navigate!

    Thought I'd like to try a Bible on my Nook. It was very difficult to navigate. If they're all like this, I'll stick to my Bibles in book form.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 28, 2011

    Hard to navigate

    I tried to go from verse to a different verse while in a class and it took me a lot longer than those with a paper book. I need one I can access in a moment, not in an hour.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 28, 2011

    Highly Recommended for reading cover to cover

    A good Bible for my Nook if you want to read the Bible cover to cover. Not recommened for reading if you want to jump between chapters.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2011

    Unacceptable Navigation

    Nice translation but navigation is just not acceptable. Seems like this e-book could be setup to navigate similarly to the free ESV Bible. Publisher should correct this huge "flaw" in a future version.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2012

    Feel more like a summary to me

    Fells more like a summary of the bible stories this is for people who probably do not own a actuall bible anfd dont want to spend money on buying one (shame on you!) Or folks who do not really comprehend the lingo of the original bibles. (And therevis nothing wrong with that, the word is the word no matter how you get it)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2011

    Missing Books

    Easy to read,need practice to navigate the chapters and verse. BUT, what happened to missing CHAPTERS in Genesis and several other books. I would like those missing Chapters added!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 13, 2011

    Easy to read, not complete.

    Am I missing something here? Yes! Major portions of Genesis and Exodus. In my download there are only 28 chapters in each of these.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2012

    Great Version

    I have a few beefs with the editors. The business of excluding vital verses and changing important words on which the passage hinges is not my idea of a perfect translation. I do, though, appreciate the different verbage; it gived the reader a fresh take on the meaning of the passage. Defintely wouldn't read this in place of an NASB or NKJV. Treat this like an NIV or MSG.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2012

    Read my review before you download this

    A good half of this bible is in extremely, annoyingly light print. Every other paragraph is difficult to read. Might want to find a different bible!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2012

    Ok

    It is ok

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2012

    NOT IMPRESSED

    Easy enough to read, but wording varies significantly from what I consider more responsible translations. Advertised as using the divine Name where it occurs but in most instances does not. I fear that the variations in text reveal a none too subtle bias. You cannot successfully "dumb down" the translation of the Essential Book

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2012

    Highly Recommended

    This Bible is easy to read - You'll like this one

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 18, 2012

    It's ok for a free edition

    It's ok in so much as it has several places where it repeats 20 to 30 pages before it continues on. Easy to read and under stand. Excellant if you want to read the bible cover to cover, than go back and study.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2011

    I dont know anything about this bible but is it king james version?

    Bible

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2013

    Difficult to Navigate.

    It's the bible. Which is 5-star. The navigation in this digital version, however, is clunky and slow. I'm still looking for a more digitally nimble version. If I find one, I'll delete this one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 122 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 7