Customer Reviews for

HDTV Adapter Kit for NOOK HD and NOOK HD+

Average Rating 3
( 54 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(13)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(10)

2 Star

(9)

1 Star

(15)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

39 out of 40 people found this review helpful.

Finally able to output content from my nook to the big screen.

Finally able to output content from my nook to the big screen.
Format quality from the nook device is shown as exactly on the big screen.
If device content is 240 or 480p it will show on the big screen as 240 or 480.
Same seems to hold true for 720 and 1080. Works as...
Finally able to output content from my nook to the big screen.
Format quality from the nook device is shown as exactly on the big screen.
If device content is 240 or 480p it will show on the big screen as 240 or 480.
Same seems to hold true for 720 and 1080. Works as I expected when purchasing this adapter. 

Seems most magazines and the home screen of the nook is only 480p, but when I stream from HD content or upload my own 1080p movies, it is very impressive.
Playing angry birds on the TV is also very enjoyable for my little cousins which is a plus. 

posted by Anonymous on December 11, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

32 out of 39 people found this review helpful.

The adapter works but...

The resolution when viewing the nook hd+ home page or any of the nook hd+ screens appears to be 240p or maybe 480p. Tested on a new 50" plasma and a new 27" monitor. This output resolution is very bad for viewing a pdf or ppt slide. At times you can barely read the t...
The resolution when viewing the nook hd+ home page or any of the nook hd+ screens appears to be 240p or maybe 480p. Tested on a new 50" plasma and a new 27" monitor. This output resolution is very bad for viewing a pdf or ppt slide. At times you can barely read the text.

Oddly video looks very good, as you would expect when streaming SD or HD over the web. If you watch a youtube video, which can mix video and text on the same screen, the video will look fine but the text will look bad.

There are no settings on the nook HD+ to change video quality.

posted by ghsolar on December 9, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 15 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2013

    will not connect to my TV. I don't know how every one else was a

    will not connect to my TV. I don't know how every one else was able to get theirs to work but the kit would not work on any of the TVs in my home. I'm taking it back to walmart! Called customer service and just like someone else said they acted surprised that it was not working and kept placing me on hold to have me do things that I have already tried. So after I hung up on them I did some digging and found out that it does not work on Samsung TVs at all. GET YOUR ACT TOGETHER B&N. oh and fix the jiggle charger thing I see that it a #1 issue around here.

    12 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2013

    This product worked beautifully--- for 3 weeks.  Afer that,  it

    This product worked beautifully--- for 3 weeks.  Afer that,  it was totally worthless.  Customer service was clueless  on how to correct problems and created considerable stress with absolutely unrelated instructions despite MANY descriptions of the issue. I cannot even get a refund!

    9 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2013

    229 I payed for my Nook hd plus tax and now they want 39.95 just

    229 I payed for my Nook hd plus tax and now they want 39.95 just for an adapter?  :(

    8 out of 37 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2013

    Piece of junk. Very hard to get it to make connection. when u do

    Piece of junk. Very hard to get it to make connection. when u do get a connection if u so much as breath on the tablet u will loose your connection. U would think they could come out with a better product than this. will be returning which is  dissapointing because Ibought my nook so I could stream movies to my tv.




    5 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2013

    So I didn't want to take it out of my nook casing, so I took a d

    So I didn't want to take it out of my nook casing, so I took a dremel to it and cut out the useless pieces of plastic that were making it impossible to connect it too my nook. So now i can have the case on it while it plays, great! Except it rarely works, i have to sit there and jiggle it and pull it out, turn off the nook, plug it back in, turn the nook back on, turn off my tv, turn my tv back on, plug in the charger... All of these things have fixed it, and often they don't work and i have to go through and guess as to how to fix it. There is no support from barnes and noble for this, they don't seem to think theirs anything wrong with this and its working "as intended". This is the last Barnes and Noble product I buy, which is sad, I do like the nook but this lack of empathy for people buying a broken product seems immoral to me and I will not support it. To people complaining about the cord, just buy a new cord if thats all thats wrong, I use a nice 5 foot cord thats about 3 times as thick as the one that came with the nook and it works well when it works, so about 1/3 of the time.

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 27, 2013

    Waaay too expensive!

    Waaay too expensive!

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 15, 2013

    Very very loose. If you decide to buy this junk, good luck holdi

    Very very loose. If you decide to buy this junk, good luck holding it with your hands all the time while watching videos on your TV. I complained to their customer service and they just told me to return it. F**k!!

    2 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2012

    HDMI Adapter for Nook HD/HD+

    It works OK.

    2 out of 39 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2014

    I am profusely disappointed with this thing. It costs $40, more

    I am profusely disappointed with this thing. It costs $40, more than 25% than the nook HD+ itself. And I have seen it some time ago at some stores on sale for less than $8! That is what I consider an unscrupulous rip off, and moreover it has been reported that it won't work as expected with many devices. BN, if you want to keep your customers happy and loyal you should not run this unethical tricks on us. I am very happy with my nook, but not quite with BN. Next time I will definitely go for a device with nonproprietary ports.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2013

    Broke after 3 weeks

    Broke after 3 weeks

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 29, 2014

    When I try to play a tv show via youtube I cannot increase the v

    When I try to play a tv show via youtube I cannot increase the video to full screen. I own a smart tv with hdmi inputs but rather watch the videos via the nook due to it streaming better than the built in wi-fi of the tv. Any suggestions?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 13, 2014

    This has to be the biggest rip-off. $40 plus $18 postage to the

    This has to be the biggest rip-off. $40 plus $18 postage to the UK. Come on B&N, at least ship them in bulk to the UK so you can sell them in your UK store. What's the matter, you anti the UK?! Then don't sell your Nooks here!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2013

    Useless. Worked without issue maybe once. Now it constantly fall

    Useless. Worked without issue maybe once. Now it constantly falls out of the Nook or even if it's connected, I get an error that it's not. Waste of money. Contemplated buying another thinking that one was just defective, but after reading the reviews it's clear I'm not the only one with this issue. Waste of $40.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2013

    Bought a Chromecast only to find that I can't cast from my Nook.

    Bought a Chromecast only to find that I can't cast from my Nook.  Have to by B&N adapter to do that.  That stinks

    0 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2013

    Nook HD+ - check! Nook 360 cover - check! Nook HDMI adapter - oh

    Nook HD+ - check! Nook 360 cover - check! Nook HDMI adapter - oh, dear...

    As others have noted, you cannot use the HDMI adapter with the Nook 360 cover without  popping the Nook out of the cover - which will either break the cover or the Nook over time. 
    This is somewhat dim-witted on B&N's part considering they are all official Nook parts and yet, so far, their customer service people have failed to grasp the problem let alone provide a solution.
    As a science PhD there are only a certain number of times I'm going to be happy about their sending me instructions (including a photo) on how to put the Nook on its side.
    This is really not going to solve the problem of not being able to insert the adapter into the machine.
    They should either provide a modified adapter or extension adapter to replace what has turned out to be a useless purchase. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 15 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1