Customer Reviews for

HHhH: A Novel

Average Rating 4
( 36 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(20)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

If Ms. Crispin read the book and were aware of everything else t

If Ms. Crispin read the book and were aware of everything else that's been written about Reinhard Heydrich, she'd realize that Laurent Binet has added something unique and vital to the body of work already available on this evil "genius." I generally don't lik...
If Ms. Crispin read the book and were aware of everything else that's been written about Reinhard Heydrich, she'd realize that Laurent Binet has added something unique and vital to the body of work already available on this evil "genius." I generally don't like novels that blend historical fact with fiction, but the author does it without betraying the truths that we know; he simply fills in the blanks that we don't know. It's a good read.

posted by OddJim on June 29, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Too thin on actual Heydrich story

I always enjoy a historical fiction but couldn't even finish this one. The author blends his running commentary on other books on the subject, as well as his thoughts on his treatment of the subject, in the book itself. I found HHhH extremely hard to read, really just...
I always enjoy a historical fiction but couldn't even finish this one. The author blends his running commentary on other books on the subject, as well as his thoughts on his treatment of the subject, in the book itself. I found HHhH extremely hard to read, really just wanted the story of the attempted assasination of Heydrich.

posted by Anonymous on July 3, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 36 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2013

    Interesting

    This was an interesting story, but it could have been told in half the pages. I was not fond of the amount of time spent by the author talking about himself and his writing decisions. A bit too self absorbed for me.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2012

    Too thin on actual Heydrich story

    I always enjoy a historical fiction but couldn't even finish this one. The author blends his running commentary on other books on the subject, as well as his thoughts on his treatment of the subject, in the book itself. I found HHhH extremely hard to read, really just wanted the story of the attempted assasination of Heydrich.

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 29, 2012

    If Ms. Crispin read the book and were aware of everything else t

    If Ms. Crispin read the book and were aware of everything else that's been written about Reinhard Heydrich, she'd realize that Laurent Binet has added something unique and vital to the body of work already available on this evil "genius." I generally don't like novels that blend historical fact with fiction, but the author does it without betraying the truths that we know; he simply fills in the blanks that we don't know. It's a good read.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 27, 2012

    Compelling read, utterly fascinating. I could hardly put it down

    Compelling read, utterly fascinating.
    I could hardly put it down.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2013

    Aphrodite

    I am gonna kill her.... she got in trouble with the cops! They came to my place asking questions!

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2013

    I would not recommend this book.

    A "herky-jerkey" self-examination in the guise of a novel in which the author cannot decide whether he is going to examine the subject matter and tell a readable story or indulge in self-flagellation. It is barely readable and NOT worth the money.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 18, 2013

    Not just another book about Hitler and the Nazis

    A French writer takes on the Czech assassination plot of high-level Nazi leader Reinhard Heydrich. The story is as much about writing the tale of the parachutists who dropped into Czechoslovakia as it is about the parachutists themselves. Only a Frenchman could weave such a narrative, driving the plot along while musing on the nature of writing. I liked the book so much I picked up a copy in French to see how they compare.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 10, 2012

    Disappointing

    Given that this novel won a Prix Goncourt I expected a better book. I think the author failed to bring any of his characters to life. Heydrich, in particular, does not really emerge as a real fiigure.The juxtaposition of "fact" and fiction was not particularly novel although the reviewer for the NYT seems to have been impressed by this.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 11, 2014

    Hannah to bree

    Bree!!!!!!"! What happened to vine! moonflower vine!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2014

    Bree

    "Next result."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2014

    Hi

    Hi <rp>

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2014

    &psi Apprentice's Den &psi

    Besides the Warrior's Den, the Apprentice's Den. Littered with warm nest, this cavern serves perfectly as a Den.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2013

    What is this place

    Who the h*** are you people?? THIS IS FOR REVIEWS NOT TO FANTASIZE OVER A FAKE LIFE BECAUSE YOURS ARE SAD JUDGING BY WHAT I AM READING

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 9, 2013

    A book

    This book is so good you guys n girls read this

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2013

    Yooo

    rl good u guys

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2013

    Hi

    Hi

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2013

    Help

    Somebody come to life after res one. Austin needs help!

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2013

    Unknown

    Hey *she says then walk to you slowly her hips movin back and forth * this seat taken? *points to empty sseat nxt to u

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2013

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2013

    Skye

    A 15-year-old girl with tightly curled blonde hair and blue eyes walks in. She is chewing bubblegum. "I'm Skye Armelia, the new girl in town. I just got transferred here, from New Zealand."

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 36 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2