Customer Reviews for

H.I.V.E.: (Higher Institute for Villainous Education #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 105 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(80)

4 Star

(21)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

"H.I.V.E.: The Higher Institute of Villainous Education"

"H.I.V.E.: The Higher Institute of Villainous Education", by Mark Walden, is one of my very favorite books! It's great, with all its suspense, twists, and turns. I love how the author is able to really show the thoughts and feelings of the villainous characters in this ...
"H.I.V.E.: The Higher Institute of Villainous Education", by Mark Walden, is one of my very favorite books! It's great, with all its suspense, twists, and turns. I love how the author is able to really show the thoughts and feelings of the villainous characters in this book, and give them a bit of a more endearing quality, rather than the dark and sinister personality usual expressed through "the bad guys". Walden does a great job of taking something that someone else may express as a dark topic, what with all the encouraging evil thoughts and containing lots of violence, and giving the wonderful story a comedic twist. I love H.I.V.E., and everyone in it. From the mysterious assassin Raven to the snarky former jewel thief Shelby Trinity, this book is one of the best (not to mention most begging to be turned into a major motion picture) books I have read yet.

posted by Anonymous on December 22, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

The Best?

This book was very good. It was not the best, but it had me searching for the second one immediately after I finished. I recommend this book to anyone who loves science fiction and action.

posted by 8372848 on May 13, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 107 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 22, 2011

    "H.I.V.E.: The Higher Institute of Villainous Education"

    "H.I.V.E.: The Higher Institute of Villainous Education", by Mark Walden, is one of my very favorite books! It's great, with all its suspense, twists, and turns. I love how the author is able to really show the thoughts and feelings of the villainous characters in this book, and give them a bit of a more endearing quality, rather than the dark and sinister personality usual expressed through "the bad guys". Walden does a great job of taking something that someone else may express as a dark topic, what with all the encouraging evil thoughts and containing lots of violence, and giving the wonderful story a comedic twist. I love H.I.V.E., and everyone in it. From the mysterious assassin Raven to the snarky former jewel thief Shelby Trinity, this book is one of the best (not to mention most begging to be turned into a major motion picture) books I have read yet.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 3, 2008

    Fantastic!

    H.I.V.E. is an extraordinary book where the main character isn't really a superhero. It's a mind-blowing story with suspense at the bottom of every page you won't be able to put this book down!

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2008

    This book is AWESOME!!!!!!!!!

    You CAN'T put this book down! It is easy to get hooked on it because there's so much going on. The author writes smoothly and beautifully and it makes you feel like you're watching the whole thing right in front of you.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2012

    GET IT

    Two words: GET IT

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 19, 2012

    Best book ever!

    This is the best book ever! It is full of suspense, action, adventure, sci-fi weapons, and other awesome stuff. Otto, Shelby, Laura, Nigel, and Franz have to do the impossible. Can they break out of H.I.V.E.? This book is a real page-turner and impossible to put down! (By the way, my favorite character is Otto, but H.I.V.E.mind rocks!!!)

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2011

    READ THIS BOOK OR OTTO MALPENSE WILL DESTROY YOU!!!!

    This book in my opinion is the best book in the world, it has pushed me to have dreams of world domination, someday you will all know my name (Karina). Also my gang of nerds thinks this book is awesome too :)

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Great book by terrific author Mark Walden!

    The story H.I.V.E. (Higher Institute for Villainous Education) takes place in a school in a volcano in the early 2000s. This story is by Mark Walden. In the beginning of the book a boy named Otto Malpense finds himself in a helicopter in the middle of an ocean. He has clearly been captured. There is a tall Asian boy named Wing Fanchu sitting next to him, and the two become fast friends. Wing and Otto are taken to a school for villains (H.I.V.E.) which is in the middle of a volcano. The school is run by a mysterious man named Dr. Nero, and his assistant is a deadly assassin called Raven. The boys meet other first-time students including Laura, Shelby, and Nigel. On their first day the students have unique lessons like Beginner's Evil, Tactical Education, Stealth and Evasion, and Practical Technology. After two months, they are still in the school, but Otto, Wing, Laura, and Shelby devise a clever plan to escape from the evil school. However, the four friends are caught at the last minute by Nero and Raven. Meanwhile that same night, Nigel, who is experimenting with plants, accidentally creates an enormous live monster flower. The evil creature rampages around the school. Otto finds a way to defeat this huge flower and crushes it under tons and tons of rock. Finally, Wing's mother is dead, but he has half of her amulet, and he notices that Dr. Nero has the other half! He decides to find out how Nero got it and stays at the school, and Otto stays with him.
    The author's words in this book are very descriptive and paint pictures in the reader's mind. Also, the name H.I.V.E. is very foreshadowing, as the school is like a hive-or a prison. The book is very adventurous and the characters are creative. A negative fact of this book is that it was almost too mysterious-especially at the end. A few of the characters were unlikable, like the evil mind reading Contessa, and the obnoxious, whining, Franz Argentblum. There are also some difficult words in this book that I had to look up in the dictionary. Some of these words were monoliths and concentric.
    The writing style of the author Mark Walden is very good. He used third person point of view in H.I.V.E. Walden also used a lot of figurative language in this book. The words were extremely descriptive. Some great words in this book were indicative, rebelliousness, monoliths, and concentric. Walden's writing style is also very easy to understand, save for a few words here and there.
    I would recommend this book because it is descriptive, it is action-paced, and it is adventurous. It is also good because most of the characters are interesting and creative. A novel similar to this one is H.I.V.E. The Overlord Protocol (book two in the series). The London Eye Mystery is great too. Another good one is Scat. I have read a book by the same man who wrote Scat, Carl Hiaasen. This book by Hiaasen is Hoot. The Lightning Thief by Rick Riordan is a very exciting book, the first in a series of five. I think many people would enjoy award winning The Mysterious Benedict Society by the terrific author Trenton Lee Stewart. These are all great books!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2011

    Best villain book

    Awesome. Just plain awesome and thrilling. An amazing book that took my breath away till the very end

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2011

    H.I.V.E.

    I totally love this book! (and Otto Malpanese)

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    Very good!

    Pop quiz! What is james bond+hogwarts+evil? H.i.v.e. that's what!

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 27, 2011

    Villanious

    It was totally awsome! I loved it, i cant wait for the next book!!!!!!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 25, 2011

    awsomeness

    best book of all time!!! evil vrs evil and awsome twists by far better than that twlight crap and a must read :)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2008

    H.I.V.E. is an awesome bok!

    All Otto Malpense wanted to do was save the orphanage where he grew up. The next thing he knows he¿s heading to a place he never signed up for. A place called H.I.V.E which stands for Higher Institute for Villainous Education. It¿s a weird place on an island that nobody¿s ever heard about. They teach villains the art of things they thought should never be taught in school. What would you do? Otto knows what he would do, try to escape. The book starts with Otto in a helicopter where he awakens with no memory. He then becomes friends with Wing Fanchu, a martial arts expert. Next the helicopter descends into a volcano and they are amazed at the beauty that surrounds them. Then they find out that this is just the hangar. While they are given a tour of the facility Otto starts to think of a way to escape. They are shown a slideshow that shows that this place is more magnificent then they thought. They think it is a wonderful place to spend a couple of weeks until they are told that they have to stay for six years. When they are led to their rooms they meet the two other people that will help with their escape. Laura Brand is the electronics expert and Shelby Trinity is the diamond thief. Otto is determined to escape because he is not used to people being able to outsmart him. He has many questions like: why are they allowed to go to H.I.V.E. without their parents¿ permission and how does their food get there. Even though Otto doesn¿t realize it he is losing his desire to leave. Little by little you get to learn about Otto¿s time at H.I.V.E. along with his interesting path to being there. This book has a fluent mix of Otto¿s past and his interesting time at H.I.V.E. This book will show you that villains are more like us then you would think. If you like books that are action packed and that hold many surprises H.I.V.E. is the book for you.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 28, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Quotes from the book: " ... detailing one nefarious plot af

    Quotes from the book: " ... detailing one nefarious plot after another, each one seeming more devilishly cunning than the last one." and "When you graduate from H.I.V.E. you will be the trailblazers, the cutting edge of evil, leaders for whom conventional should never be good enough." Pure entertaining work of fiction, great for encouraging readers to work toward their "evil best." And you will probably never guess what all this will lead to as you read the storyline. As you read the descriptions, of the characters & their surroundings, they are so clear that you will be able to visualize this story in your head & mind. *Plenty of action, suspense, and intrigue to keep you turning the pages until you get to the story's conclusion.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2014

    Hello

    This is the besssttt bbboookkk eeevvveeerrr!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2013

    #1 book!

    Loooooooovvvvveeee it! Best book ever! Ecept the cliff-hanger at the end. I give it a 4-5.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2013

    Great book.

    It can get a little non eventful, definatly not the part where the prime minister moons the audiance on public tv thanks to Otto,but you get the idea. The rest of the series are must reads

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2013

    Raven

    Here. Go to the overlord protocol. Ill meet you there.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2013

    Great Read

    Great book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2013

    Epic

    When thirteen year old Otto Malpense wakes up on a helicopter flying over the ocean, he has no memory of how he got there. Seated next to him is an Asian boy named Wing Fanchu. Wing has no memory of how he got there either. The last place Otto expects to land is in a volcanoe on a deserted island in the middle of nowhwere. But that is exactly where they land. When they land, they enter an atrium filled with kids that are just as confused as they are. They are greeted by a strange man who calls himself Dr. Nero. He tells them that the strange place is is a school called H.I.V.E. (Higher Institute of Villanous Education). When Otto learns that H.I.V.E. is a six year program, he devises a plan to break out of H.I.V.E. With the help of his friends, athletic Wing, beautiful American diamond theif Shelby Trinity, and pretty Scottish computer geek Laura Brand, he attempts to make his plan work. Will Otto and the gang suceed? Find out in Mark Walden's H.I.V.E.: the Higher Institute of Villanous Education. This book catches you after the first few sentences! I couldn't put it down after i started it! This book is amazing!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 107 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6