Customer Reviews for

Holding Their Own: A Story of Survival

Average Rating 4
( 37 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(16)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(9)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Great Story Telling

I found this book a very exciting and enjoyable read. It grabs hold and doesn't let go till the end. I also found the tactic's discussed in the story useful and I think would be a help if the elements of the story ever came true. I highly recommend it. Do yourself a fav...
I found this book a very exciting and enjoyable read. It grabs hold and doesn't let go till the end. I also found the tactic's discussed in the story useful and I think would be a help if the elements of the story ever came true. I highly recommend it. Do yourself a favor get this book.

posted by ZoomerDA on December 4, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

I almost always enjoy the survivalist/disaster fiction genre. I

I almost always enjoy the survivalist/disaster fiction genre. I especially like many of the self published titles available in eBook formats that wouldn't otherwise see the light of day. This time it can't say I enjoyed it a great deal as much as I had hoped. Generall...
I almost always enjoy the survivalist/disaster fiction genre. I especially like many of the self published titles available in eBook formats that wouldn't otherwise see the light of day. This time it can't say I enjoyed it a great deal as much as I had hoped. Generally speaking, I liked the storyline and at the end of the day I recommend this book with the following caveat. Prepare yourself for what I can only describe politely as immature language and situations. Initially, I though perhaps the sexually charged and often perverse situations used by the author might be part of the character development. As I continued to read however, I was disappointed to find that this was repeated in unnecessary detail and it really distracted from an otherwise fine storyline. I have to question why the author chose to do this, as this lends itself to a juvenile male wet dream rather than serious survivalist fiction IMHO. Don't get me wrong because I did like the book and I hope the author continues to write other fiction novels in this genre. I just found no meaningful need for every gruesome thought and detail of the main characters sexual prowess beyond the first chapter or two.

posted by cowboy255 on March 14, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 16 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted December 4, 2011

    Great Story Telling

    I found this book a very exciting and enjoyable read. It grabs hold and doesn't let go till the end. I also found the tactic's discussed in the story useful and I think would be a help if the elements of the story ever came true. I highly recommend it. Do yourself a favor get this book.

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 23, 2012

    Very good read!

    I enjoyed this book from start to finish.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 15, 2012

    Good SHTF book

    Really enjoyed this book - another SHTF genre book. Since reading One Second after I have become very intrigued with stories of social/economic collapse.

    This was another good read with a real feel to it.

    I would definately recommend this book if you like this subject

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2011

    Something for Everyone

    I was compelled to stay up all night, mesmerized by the story line in ¿Holding Their Own: A Story of Survival¿ by Joe Nobody. I had previously enjoyed one of the author¿s earlier works, really liked the information in that book, and was intrigued by the idea of a novel written by the same person. I have to admit I was absolutely absorbed by the plot. The other book I had read by Joe Nobody was more like a technical manual, and frankly it was very good. But could an author who was so direct and to the point possess the skills necessary to tell a story and hold a reader? The answer is an emphatic, ¿Yes, he does.¿ ¿Holding Their Own¿ is a novel like none other I have read, and I am the kind of person who enjoys well-written prose from a number of genres. The plot would interest anyone who has ever enjoyed a good shoot out at the OK Corral, as well as the softies who enjoy a love interest. The bad guys are easy-to-hate, terrorists who seek to overthrow the U.S. government. The primary conflict in the story is more apocalyptic, however, and centers around the precarious balance we have enjoyed as a society tipping in the wrong direction, leading to civil unrest and eventually the fall of civilization as we know it. All the while, the story reflects good character development, the relationship between the protagonists is endearing, and their internal conflict over their choices in the fight to survive is unenviable. There is something here for everyone. The premise of the conflict is disconcertingly believable and alarmingly simple. In the beginning of the book where the stage is set and the terrorists implement their plan, I was shocked at the very modest scheme conceived by the antagonists; it was much more believable than the idea of coordinated assaults on major airlines, i.e., the 9/11 attacks. The protagonists, Bishop and Terri, are lovable and competent ¿preppers.¿ Hailing from Houston, they have ¿bugged out¿ a few times before during hurricane season. In fact most of the story is set in Texas, and those who call the Lonestar State home will have a special treat as they recognize landmarks and familiar surroundings. The characters and setting are well-developed and presented. The story does a remarkable job of weaving in different plot elements in different geographical locations and really keeps the reader engaged by it. What I found to be so fascinating was the way the story of survival integrates the principles and tools recommended in the technical manual. For anyone who is concerned about what might really happen if society were to collapse and how to survive it, this book is for you. For anyone who wants a solid plot full of international intrigue, this book is for you. For anyone who is looking ¿for a good read,¿ this book is for you. For anyone who has ever enjoyed a story about the Wild West, this book is for you.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2014

    Drew

    Be here tommorrow babe.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2014

    Kara

    Gets up and leaves with a se<_>xy wink

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2013

    Let me just say something, after reading this series, and then r

    Let me just say something, after reading this series, and then reading a few other books in the same genre, I found myself comparing the main characters to Bishop and pointing out their mistakes. This series is one of the most intense and real I've ever read. If you're half way aware of what's going on in this world then I'd pay attention and take notes. Definitely recommend this series as a fun read and as a resource!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    Great stories, I've got all 5 of the books and they just keep ge

    Great stories, I've got all 5 of the books and they just keep getting better!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2013

    Loved it

    Great read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2013

    I liked this book so much I just bought part 2 and 3.

    I liked this book so much I just bought part 2 and 3.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 9, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 16 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1