Customer Reviews for

H.T. Night's 8-Book Vampire Box Set

Average Rating 4
( 128 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(64)

4 Star

(21)

3 Star

(18)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(20)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

13 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

What can you say? Eight novels from #1 bestselling author, H.T.

What can you say? Eight novels from #1 bestselling author, H.T. Night, for only $2.99. Some of my favorite vampire novels of all time are in this selection!

posted by lovetoreadgoodbooks on June 16, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

21 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

I couldn't finish it - needs major editing

I normally love reading semi-finished books and new authors - epublishing has an immediacy to it that lets you access books-in-progress and up-and-coming authors, and I love that. But I could not finish this. It's wildly inconsistent. One minute, the narrator and hi...
I normally love reading semi-finished books and new authors - epublishing has an immediacy to it that lets you access books-in-progress and up-and-coming authors, and I love that. But I could not finish this. It's wildly inconsistent. One minute, the narrator and his girlfriend are vowing "always and forever", the next minute (literally, the next chapter), she is "a fleeting thought" as he flirts with someone new.

Worse, the writing is clunky. As one human is surrounded by vamps, the narrator says "She looked really scared." Or he describes himself as "looking very vampey in my all black attire." Another vamp is described as "He looked like how you would imagine a modern day samurai would look." I don't even want to diagram that sentence.

Somewhere in this, there may be a good storyline. But the descriptions are non-existent and never manage to draw you in. And the clunky sentences and inconsistent characters constantly distract you. I gave up. Not recommended.

posted by 4716728 on June 27, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 128 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 7
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2012

    I couldn't finish it - needs major editing

    I normally love reading semi-finished books and new authors - epublishing has an immediacy to it that lets you access books-in-progress and up-and-coming authors, and I love that. But I could not finish this. It's wildly inconsistent. One minute, the narrator and his girlfriend are vowing "always and forever", the next minute (literally, the next chapter), she is "a fleeting thought" as he flirts with someone new.

    Worse, the writing is clunky. As one human is surrounded by vamps, the narrator says "She looked really scared." Or he describes himself as "looking very vampey in my all black attire." Another vamp is described as "He looked like how you would imagine a modern day samurai would look." I don't even want to diagram that sentence.

    Somewhere in this, there may be a good storyline. But the descriptions are non-existent and never manage to draw you in. And the clunky sentences and inconsistent characters constantly distract you. I gave up. Not recommended.

    21 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 16, 2012

    What can you say? Eight novels from #1 bestselling author, H.T.

    What can you say? Eight novels from #1 bestselling author, H.T. Night, for only $2.99. Some of my favorite vampire novels of all time are in this selection!

    13 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2012

    Just ok

    I was hoping things would pick up as I went from book to book, maybe the characters would take more shape, but that wasnt the case. Vampires dont eat fast food, never. I was finding some of the characters boring, whiny, and not very admirable. I had a hard time finishing the books, I hate not finishing what I start. I wouldnt recommend these books.

    12 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 20, 2012

    H.T. Night has created a masterpiece with this collection. The c

    H.T. Night has created a masterpiece with this collection. The characters are so interesting & feel "real" to me. They are easy to relate to. There is a depth & complexity to the story that is difficult to find these days. I became quickly immersed into the world that H.T. created & I didn't want it to end... ever. I love that there are such intense emotions evoked, yet laughter throughout. There is witty & clever dialogue with twists and turns. I highly recommend this collection. Give it a try. You will not regret it.

    11 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 25, 2012

    I figured this would be a quick read, and for $2.99 where can yo

    I figured this would be a quick read, and for $2.99 where can you go wrong? The main characters are flat and have no dimension. The story has a lot of potential but it needs to be re-written with more depth. They talk about the death of the main characters family, but he doesn't really seem to have any deep feelings about that. There was so much promise with the romantic side of the plot that is not explained at all, they should just put in a "annnddd, Fade to black" as the romance starts, because it leaves you wondering about a lot. The grammar and structural issues I can get passed, but I'm pretty disappointed overall in this story, I can't believe anyone would give it 5 stars!

    10 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2012

    Awful. Unoriginal, simplistic, boring and immature

    I bouggt this set expecting a "beach read" a quick easy read with little substance and not much, if any, value beyond entertainment. But sad to say even my extremely low expectaitions were drastically unfulfilled. The story line is simplistic and chiche(the clan of vampires the main character belongs to is called The Children Of the Night for godsakes) the characters are one dimensional and unlikable and over all it was an utter waste of my money and time.

    10 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 20, 2012

    These books are great! If you are looking for a page turner with

    These books are great! If you are looking for a page turner with detail and great characters, this is it. The vampire werewolf story is different than the rest and defiantly refreshing. This is a bargain too. 8 books in one. HT just keeps them coming. Can't wait for the next book.

    8 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 19, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    This is an AWESOME set! These are all GREAT books by HT Night.

    This is an AWESOME set! These are all GREAT books by HT Night. How often can you get great books packaged in one place? And the best part is once you have this, you dont have to wait for the next book, you already have it ready for you! HT's Vampire Love Story series is a great story of friendship and life changes and love. I highly recommend this collection!

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 19, 2012

    This is my favorite of all of H.T.s books! A must read if you lo

    This is my favorite of all of H.T.s books! A must read if you love paranormal romance, A little of everything,happy moments,sad moments,a little fighting...Love,lots of Love!

    6 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 19, 2012

    This is a great series! I was hooked after the first one. I fell

    This is a great series! I was hooked after the first one. I fell in love with the characters and could not wait for more! Luckily for me, I didn't have to with this set! Get this series and you will not be disappointed! :)

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 16, 2012

    I love H.T. Knight. He is an awesome author. I already had the f

    I love H.T. Knight. He is an awesome author. I already had the first four of these books. But I had to buy just to get the last 4. And I am sure its well worth the $2.99 charge for 4 books lol!

    6 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2012

    Hated, dont waste your money

    I have OCD so I have to purchase entire book series (even if I don't like the books). I also have to read the entire

    book. I normally can read 350 pages everyday. These 8 books took me over 40 days to complete. I won't be buying anything else from this author. Buyer Beware.

    5 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2012

    Horrible!!!

    I feel like I am reading at a 5th grade level! I cannot wait to be finished with this series so I can never think about it again ( I did pay for it so I will finish it). The characters are dull and unimaginative, dilemmas that the characters face either are magically fixed within a few pages or take an eternity to be resolved, and don't even get me started on dialog.

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2012

    Still trying to find the plot?????

    Vampires, werewolves, and romance sounded promising but what i found was a redundant read about a main character whom we were repeated reminded was a good person and who loved to fight and his "soul mate". This character was not a strong independent person but rather emotionally weak. She couldnt even make up her mind about who to be with. As for the what i thought would be the orignal main plot the "savior" of the mani people bring them together and their conflict with the carni is only brought up by sub characters who remind him he needs to focus on it and less on his love life. If it is any indication of how good this series is i'm half way through and the only characters name i can remember is tommy. Thankfully this was free so i dont have to feel bad about the money i would have wasted on it just the time spent trying to read it.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2012

    Hire a proof reader

    Good stories, if you can get past the MULTIPLE gramatical errors and missing words in sentences. I was extremely surprised to find something published with this many errors. Discredit towards the author's abilities, not so much the value of the story if you can figure out the missing words.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2012

    I enjoyed the first 7 books of the set. The 8th however had not

    I enjoyed the first 7 books of the set. The 8th however had nothing to do with the others. Even the characteristics of the vampire were different from the first 7 books. While Bad Blood was good, it should not have been part of this set. The next book in the set "Love Maya" was supposed to be out in June 2012.
    I don't know if the spelling and grammatical errors were in the book version or if they showed up in the ebook, but use a little common sense and edit the books.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2012

    Good light read

    All in all not a bad purchase, the only thing is that the last book in this set doesn't belong, For the first seven books there was a consistent theme of Mani vs. Carni, but in the last one suddenly we are dealing with a vampire. It's like we changed world all at once, or the author was teasing us with the beginning of a new series.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2012

    Cheap. Just like the price

    Did not like it at all.

    3 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2012

    Yay finally a good book!

    Awesome and amazing series. I'm totally in love with it!

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2012

    Awful

    This series is absolutely terrible. The writing is amature at best, and the plot is sketchy. Not to mention the fact that the portrayl of the "Chosen One" is more idiotic than Meyer's sparkling vampires. In addition, I was charged $9.99 for this set when it said that it was $2.99. $10 thrown down the drain and a lot of time wasted trying to force myself to read this rubbish. Please do not be fooled by the seemingly good reviews because this is awful.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 128 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 7