Customer Reviews for

HTML 4 for the World Wide Web: Visual QuickStart Guide

Be the first to write a review
( 0 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(0)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 38 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2003

    HELPED ME IMPROVE ON MY WEB PAGE DESIGNING

    AWESOMENESS

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 2002

    It is marvellous reference book about HTML for every WebMaster

    I used second edition of this book and was very happy about it. Each time I had a problem with html tag, I refered to this book and was satisfied with received answer. Try it - You will be happy to have it !

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 9, 2002

    HTML 4 for the World Wide Web: Visual QuickStart Guide

    Poorly organized, not a good reference guide. I am actually on Barnes and Noble now looking for a replacement. I am using it currently to prop up furniture.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 9, 2002

    HTML 4 for the World Wide Web: Visual QuickStart Guide

    Its ok, but the referencing is not ordered well, The sections aren't headed well, and the explinations are not overly clear and concise. The examples also are lacking in effectiveness.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2002

    HTML 4

    This is a very great book, it has all of your tags and Hex Colors. It also takes you through step-by-step with images and not plain words that mean nothing. This definetely deserves a 4-star rating, or even a 5. If you're looking for a great way to learn HTML 4, this is the book to get.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2002

    10x BETTER THEN HTML FOR DUMMIES

    IM GOING TO COMPARE THIS BOOK TO HTML FOR DUMMIES. HTML FOR DUMMIES FROM WHAT I HEAR IS THE BEST BOOK TO LEARN HTML. WELL THAT IS A LIE. IF YOU WANT THE BEST BOOK TO HELP YOU LEARN HOW TO MAKE A BETTER THAN AVERAGE TO TOP WEBPAGE OR WEBSITE THEN YOU NEED THIS BOOK.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 5, 2001

    Fantastic

    Whether you're new or experienced with HTML, this book is excellent. If you were ever scared of learning web design before, this book takes it all apart and makes it seem like plain ol' English. Very easy to understand & it's got everything on the subject. If I could rate it 6 stars, I would!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2001

    Best I've Seen

    So far the best for the beginning web designer that I've read to date.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2001

    Excellent

    I have this book for an 'Intro to HTML' class that I am taking online through the HTML Writer's Guild. I love this one. Very easy to read and understand for a beginner like myself.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2001

    Very practical, get you off and running

    We are using this in college and it is an awesome book that will get you working with html right away!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2001

    Great

    This book is a must have. I am an intermediate web designer, and I would recommend this to anyone. There is no need to get HTML 2 because this book covers every topic in that edition and has more. It has a debugging chapter, CGI script forms, JavaScript tips, and much more. It is truly what you need to design a dynamic site.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2001

    Excellent Beginner's Guide to HTML !!!

    This an excellent book for beginning HTML coders and would be webmasters. This book's 2-column format is very handy and easy to use. Each page has the actual step-by-step guides for performing a specific task or group of related tasks. The right column uses a combination of screen shots, framed copies of the actual coded pages and colored text to emphasize the HTML code being discussed on that page. The explanations and basic steps that are needed to accomplish a specific HTML coding task is written in 'plain English' with very little 'techy' terminology. Some of the really neat things found in this book are: -->A full-color guide to web color choices in an easy-to-access location (inside the back cover) -->An extensive appendix of HTML 3 and HTML 4 formatting tags with explanations of their attributes -->This resource begins at the beginning with layout techniques that every web designer should do before actually beginning to write the code. I really like this book and would recommend it to anyone who is interested in doing web page design and HTML coding.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2001

    Short and Sweet

    Lots of concepts are covered in short. interesting Short examples. Very good book for beginners.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2001

    A superb book for beginners!!!

    HTML For The World Wide Web is an excelent book for learning HTML. The book also serves as a great book for more advanced HTML design concepts. I learned HTML at the age of 12 and it was the book which taught me everything I needed to know. If you do not already have it, order it now. Your web pages are bland without it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2000

    Wonderful book for both newbies and those with more experience

    I bought this book after I learned HTML. Even though I knew it already, the book was a WONDERFUL reference to quickly find the tags you need. This book is also great for the beginner - it is easy to understand and has great example. Much better than those other HTML books that cost $50 or more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2000

    Great Book For First Timers........

    This book is great for anyone who have never done HTML before. It explains a specific topic then shows you the examples: as code and as what it would actually look like on a web site.....I was a little spectacle about buying this book but trust me it's worth your money....you will like this book so much you will be back to write your own review.....its a best buy...BN

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2000

    Computer Instructor Recommended -- I got it, I LIKE it.

    This is a great book. My computer CIT teacher reccommended this book so I did not consider too many other HTML books. From the reviews I have read and from using the book the past week I am not sorry I purchased the book. If you need a book on HTML you owe it to yourself to consider this one. Also has a good web site to go along with the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2000

    HIGHLY RECOMMENDED FOR BEGINNERS

    I had been searching for a book that would explain the 'how to's' of HTML programming in plain english. Elizabeth did just that! In addition, the diagrams make it much easier to understand seeing an example of sample code. If you are looking for a great book to get the basics and get your feet wet, this is it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2000

    Simple, great for beginner

    I enjoyed reading this book, it seemed that Elizabeth was actually talking to me while reading. The visual prompts on each page, along with text was very helpful. Having the IE & NS differences was nice as well. I have this on my desk and refer to it often while I learn HTML. Would recommend to any beginner.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2000

    is a nice book

    is nice book to learn and to work with

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 38 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2