Customer Reviews for

Hysteria

Average Rating 2.5
( 1066 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(132)

4 Star

(171)

3 Star

(269)

2 Star

(226)

1 Star

(268)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

42 out of 44 people found this review helpful.

...Different

I labeled this eBook as "different", but that's not a bad thing. I agree with the other reviewer, in that this is unabashedly erotica. I've never read a book that was labeled as "erotica", but I assume it's a romance novel without the romance.
---------------------...
I labeled this eBook as "different", but that's not a bad thing. I agree with the other reviewer, in that this is unabashedly erotica. I've never read a book that was labeled as "erotica", but I assume it's a romance novel without the romance.
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
The story is about a 28 year old woman in the early 1900's (I think). She's been labeled insane and goes to a hospital to be "treated" for insanity by sexual stimulation. She likes the sexual stimulation so much that she pretends the "treatment" isn't working so that she can continue going. I vaguely recall hearing (or reading) that they actually used sexual stimulation as treatment for women, and I found this story interesting.
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
I know that the ending is completely unrealistic, but I liked it. (And I say that with a 5-year old's pout on my face.) If you have 15 minutes to spare to introduce yourself to erotica, give this free eBook a read.

posted by exes_and_ohs on April 28, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

24 out of 29 people found this review helpful.

19th century erotica written in the 21st

The writing style is attempting 19th century vernacular and is decent. There was some research done for this story. However, the plot had a lot of holes in it and I found the ending to be happy and totally unbelievable. But hey, if you're reading erotica, you are probab...
The writing style is attempting 19th century vernacular and is decent. There was some research done for this story. However, the plot had a lot of holes in it and I found the ending to be happy and totally unbelievable. But hey, if you're reading erotica, you are probably not too concerned with plot, right? Take it for what it is and enjoy!

posted by Urbanitra on February 12, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 1068 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 54
  • Posted April 28, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    ...Different

    I labeled this eBook as "different", but that's not a bad thing. I agree with the other reviewer, in that this is unabashedly erotica. I've never read a book that was labeled as "erotica", but I assume it's a romance novel without the romance.
    -------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    The story is about a 28 year old woman in the early 1900's (I think). She's been labeled insane and goes to a hospital to be "treated" for insanity by sexual stimulation. She likes the sexual stimulation so much that she pretends the "treatment" isn't working so that she can continue going. I vaguely recall hearing (or reading) that they actually used sexual stimulation as treatment for women, and I found this story interesting.
    --------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    I know that the ending is completely unrealistic, but I liked it. (And I say that with a 5-year old's pout on my face.) If you have 15 minutes to spare to introduce yourself to erotica, give this free eBook a read.

    42 out of 44 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 12, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    19th century erotica written in the 21st

    The writing style is attempting 19th century vernacular and is decent. There was some research done for this story. However, the plot had a lot of holes in it and I found the ending to be happy and totally unbelievable. But hey, if you're reading erotica, you are probably not too concerned with plot, right? Take it for what it is and enjoy!

    24 out of 29 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 3, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Happy ending

    I see all the reviews calling this porn. Have you read porn? Seen porn? This is NOT porn. The technique in this short story is an actual clinical remedy doctors used to employ. In none of the scenes do the doctors act anything less than professional with this woman. It is in her mind that she is wanting and needing more. Although the ending was impractical, I still enjoyed it. What woman, who is being held captive by her less-than-sane mother, wouldn't want to be rescued! Cute, yet odd, story - not porn!

    17 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 2, 2010

    Don't bother

    Porn or erotica, either one, it was bad and stupid bit of writing! It was time I will not get back and have removed it from my library!

    10 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2010

    Not Porn or Good Erotica

    This was billed as porn by some reviewers and erotica by another. If pressed, I would come down on the side of erotica. It is clearly not porn nor is it filthy as some have described. Sadly for those who like erotica, this is an insult. At the most, it is erotica told by an adolescent girl. There are perhaps no more than two three erotic scenes, thinly described, with a paucity of word choice in the narrative. While it is understood that this was a short story, it would have had more impact had it focused entirely on the erotica, rather than wasting precious wordspace attempting to provide a background and basis for the character's actions. On the whole, it as disappointing and curiously chastely erotic. I was yawning in portions of it, waiting for something more to happen. The ending is a melodramatic mess. The character may have just as well been tied to the railroad tracks waiting for Dudley Doright. i would not recommend this to a person seriously wanting to spend a late night enjoying some well-written, sensual erotic. If that is what you are looking for, skip this and break down and buy an nice book of erotica, because this is not it.

    9 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2011

    Should never have been a short story

    First of all, this is definately not appropriate for young readers. Scenes are sexually explicate, in a naive way. As hard as it is to believe, this was the accepted medical treatment for depression at one time. Very unique perspective. Validates the human need to be touched by someone, by abuse if not by pleasure. However, 60 pages is not enough to tell this story. Too much is left out and characters are unable to be fleshed out.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 5, 2010

    I liked it

    If you have a half hour to spare in your day this is a pretty good book. The plot is a woman in 1800's who is supposedly crazy and doctors use sexual stimulation to treat her. It was actually a cute cheesy ending, but I like all the fantasy happy endings. I don't care what the other users have to say I liked it (and I agree with another user who left feedback and said they say that with a pout on their face. I agree).

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 22, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Very Disappointing

    I guess this is meant to be erotica or porn, but I don't think it appropriately labeled itself. I mean the summary leads one to believe the story could be a legit story or could go from horrible primitive psychological treatment into female circumcision and other horrors. Both lobotomies and circumcision are common ways to cure female "hysteria" historically (though I do think the work takes place too early for a lobotomy to happen ).

    Anyhow I found the work to be in bad taste, especially considering the history both of mental illness and how it has been used to trap, torture, and silence women.

    I kept thinking that if I read further I would better understand what the narrator's "illness" was but it seems that she was neither mentally ill nor acting out in some way. She just liked getting orgasms and her parents were mean.

    Over all an offensive and oppressive work.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 2, 2010

    Its even poor for porn

    I was hoping for a more indepth exploration of treatements for hysteria for women in the 1800's, I could even handle some erotic writing.
    This was just an excuse for porn. Badly written porn at that. The reasoning for why the Dr fell in love with his patient is haphazard at best.
    This book could have been more exciting if the author had actually developed her characters and tried to do some historical research on the sexually based treatment of women in the 1800's.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 12, 2011

    Like a sex starved womans imagination....

    Could have been better if the story was actually researched and developed.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2011

    disconnected

    This book did not make any sense to me. There wasn't really a bridge connecting/telling how the Dr. developed love forth main character. It seemed to just jump from her in her parents house to her being married.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 8, 2011

    Not worth the memory it takes.

    Poorly written. Horribly edited. A plotnso.full of holes a Mac truck could easily navigate through.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 10, 2011

    Terrible

    This short story makes a case for doing away with today's self-publishing. I can't imaging that Ms. Gale spent more than an hour concocting, typing, and publishing this rather offensive drivel.

    I'm not a prude by any stretch, but I certainly wasn't amused by the horny heroine who is methodically sexually assaulted by her doctor. Nor was I amused by the lack of plot planning.

    It's writers like this that make a mockery of up-and-coming authors...

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2011

    This was gross!

    Didnt read but first few pages. Perverted.

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2011

    WOW! That was Unexpected!

    I was just excited to get a free download. I had no idea that this would be essentially porn. Perhaps warning labels would be appropriate for similar reads.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2011

    not worth it

    it took me barely a half hour to read and i thought it was boring, there really isn't much else to say.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2011

    Really???

    This book was twisted erotica with no romance. Set in the 1900's a mid-twenty year old girl receives "treatment" from a doctor. Her "treatment" includes methods to relieve her sexual tension. I found the descriptive images rather disturbing. Now, if you are looking for 20 pages of twisted smut, this is the book for you!! However, this is one eBook I will promptly delete from my Nook library.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 22, 2010

    Do not bother!

    I read this because it was free, and I will never get that half hour of my life back. What a waste, the story was too strange and had no point or purpose.

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2014

    Boring

    Not great but its ok

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 21, 2013

    Weird

    It was strange. I could not figure out why her mother sent her in the first place. That was suppose to be a cure for insanity?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 1068 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 54