Customer Reviews for

Hysteria

Average Rating 2.5
( 1065 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(132)

4 Star

(170)

3 Star

(269)

2 Star

(226)

1 Star

(268)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

42 out of 44 people found this review helpful.

...Different

I labeled this eBook as "different", but that's not a bad thing. I agree with the other reviewer, in that this is unabashedly erotica. I've never read a book that was labeled as "erotica", but I assume it's a romance novel without the romance.
---------------------...
I labeled this eBook as "different", but that's not a bad thing. I agree with the other reviewer, in that this is unabashedly erotica. I've never read a book that was labeled as "erotica", but I assume it's a romance novel without the romance.
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
The story is about a 28 year old woman in the early 1900's (I think). She's been labeled insane and goes to a hospital to be "treated" for insanity by sexual stimulation. She likes the sexual stimulation so much that she pretends the "treatment" isn't working so that she can continue going. I vaguely recall hearing (or reading) that they actually used sexual stimulation as treatment for women, and I found this story interesting.
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
I know that the ending is completely unrealistic, but I liked it. (And I say that with a 5-year old's pout on my face.) If you have 15 minutes to spare to introduce yourself to erotica, give this free eBook a read.

posted by exes_and_ohs on April 28, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

24 out of 29 people found this review helpful.

19th century erotica written in the 21st

The writing style is attempting 19th century vernacular and is decent. There was some research done for this story. However, the plot had a lot of holes in it and I found the ending to be happy and totally unbelievable. But hey, if you're reading erotica, you are probab...
The writing style is attempting 19th century vernacular and is decent. There was some research done for this story. However, the plot had a lot of holes in it and I found the ending to be happy and totally unbelievable. But hey, if you're reading erotica, you are probably not too concerned with plot, right? Take it for what it is and enjoy!

posted by Urbanitra on February 12, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 226 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 12
  • Posted February 12, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    19th century erotica written in the 21st

    The writing style is attempting 19th century vernacular and is decent. There was some research done for this story. However, the plot had a lot of holes in it and I found the ending to be happy and totally unbelievable. But hey, if you're reading erotica, you are probably not too concerned with plot, right? Take it for what it is and enjoy!

    24 out of 29 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2011

    Should never have been a short story

    First of all, this is definately not appropriate for young readers. Scenes are sexually explicate, in a naive way. As hard as it is to believe, this was the accepted medical treatment for depression at one time. Very unique perspective. Validates the human need to be touched by someone, by abuse if not by pleasure. However, 60 pages is not enough to tell this story. Too much is left out and characters are unable to be fleshed out.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2011

    disconnected

    This book did not make any sense to me. There wasn't really a bridge connecting/telling how the Dr. developed love forth main character. It seemed to just jump from her in her parents house to her being married.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2011

    WOW! That was Unexpected!

    I was just excited to get a free download. I had no idea that this would be essentially porn. Perhaps warning labels would be appropriate for similar reads.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2012

    Creepily erotic

    I wish the story was longer.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2012

    Ummm

    Well, Im still not really sure what I think of this as of right now. I liked the ending, girl gets what she needs. Thats all I can really say.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2012

    Not what I was expecting.

    Very erotic! Never judge a book by it's cover definitely applies to this one. I wasn't aware that this was something that actually used to take place until AFTER I read the book, so imagine my surprise. It's not a bad read if you are into erotica. It just so happens that I am not.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2012

    Meh

    Poorly written with a crappy plot.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 2011

    A little bland

    It was OK but not a exciting. Perhaps a little more store line and a further examination into the period would be nice.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2011

    Okay

    Nice short story but very unbelievable ending.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 5, 2011

    okay

    Didn't like the ending... they treat her like a crazy person throughout the story and then suddenly she is not crazy anymore... I don't get it. Besides, the relationship between her and the doctor - that would actually be abuse.
    short enough to read through in twenty minutes.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 3, 2011

    Not Quite Romance, Not Quite Erotica...

    I was looking for something different to read and this was definitely different! I'm not really sure how to describe this other than not well written. The ending was completely unrealistic and the plot wasn't well developed. Not terrible, but it wasn't exactly my cup of tea either.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 30, 2011

    Bizarre

    Hard to believe, but things like that really haapened back in the early days of medicine

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 27, 2011

    Unfinished?

    This book could be so much better if it didnt skip the whole two years in between the beginning and the end...I mean how did they even get to the end...it just seems like the author was into the book in the beginning and the just hastily finished it because they had somethimg more interesing or better to do. Thats just my opinion though...if you want a 30 minute fast read then by all mean download it...it is free!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 20, 2011

    Intresting

    The summary misleads u what the actual plotline is but the idea was actually inresting but the story is too short and feels incomplete while the ending is actually sweet more character develop was need

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2011

    A%0ANameunknown

    Did+the+author+really+have+to+write+this

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 6, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    confusing

    should be under erotic short story...

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 2, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Short, interesting read

    The story was short and to the point. I thought it had an interesting angle, but ended with a rather inrealistic happliy ever after. It would have been much more interesting if it had been fleshed out into an actual novel rather than a short little blurb. The book seemed to be written in the period vernacular, but I found it to be tedious and boring at times, which is sad since the story was so short. (for those of you who think this story involves sexual malpractice, I encourage you to search Wikipedia for their "female hysteria" article. This was an actual "catch-all" condition for sick and "difficult" women, and sexual stimulation was used a treatment for it - it is actually why vibrators were invented!)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2011

    ehhh could live without

    weirdest book i have ever read...very erotic but weird.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2011

    Jumped over too much plot

    Even for free, this story wasn't worth the read. About halfway through, it takes a major leap to a forward part of the storyline, which should have been fleshed out rather than explained away. By the time I got to the end, I had no attachment to the characters or the conclusion of the story. While it could have been a good novel, the story currently seems rushed and needs more work.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 226 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 12