Customer Reviews for

Habibi

Average Rating 4
( 29 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(19)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Read this please

Naomi Shihab Nye is a great frienf of mine and is an exelent writer! I really recomend this to girls from ages 10-20! Thanks for reading this and hope you found this helpful.

posted by 18592508 on May 14, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Amazing Book

Thiis book was breath taking I really liked it a lot! The sad thing was that they had to move to St.Louis. But the good thing is that she got her first kiss. I think that this is a great family book anyone can read it but i woul reccemend this book for 13-up but I hope ...
Thiis book was breath taking I really liked it a lot! The sad thing was that they had to move to St.Louis. But the good thing is that she got her first kiss. I think that this is a great family book anyone can read it but i woul reccemend this book for 13-up but I hope I inspired you to read this book becaus its worth the money. So i hope yu decide to get this book you'll thank me. :-). Your Reveiwer- ~Kate Rose Moody~

posted by Anonymous on January 23, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 19 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2013

    Read this please

    Naomi Shihab Nye is a great frienf of mine and is an exelent writer! I really recomend this to girls from ages 10-20! Thanks for reading this and hope you found this helpful.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2009

    Habibi

    Overall- Habibi was a great book, even though I wanted MORE of the ending. I had to read this book in my class, and for once, the book wasn't so bad. This book was interesting, funny at times, romantic, and also educational in a way. I didn't feel like I was forced to read this book, and read it like any other. It was a page-turner at spots, and okay at others. Overall, I recommend it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2012

    Good book

    :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2012

    Okay for a rainy day

    I read this book in 7th brade for my S.S class.Overall I would recommend this book for a rainy day when you're bored.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2012

    Really good!

    I greatly enjoyed this book, and maybe for certain people it will be boring but if you enjoy good writing i highly recommend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2008

    a reviewer

    Habibi was a soul-stirring novel that gives a reader all the sweet richness of a Mediterranean dessert! Overall, it was an awe-inspiring tale that forces you into emotions, meanings, symbols, questions and answers that you never would¿ve thought of. It conveyed the message: things aren¿t always as they seem unexpected treasures can be found anywhere and everywhere. It was everything that any person of any age would love! =) I LOVE HABIBI by Naomi Shihab Nye! You should read it! I recommend it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2008

    about 'a middle schoolers'' review..

    Ok, I read 'a middle schooler's' review and even though I didn't read the book, I disagree with him/her. First of all, you said that 'instead, it's about isreal and arab people' and yeah, of course it is. Since it's set in Jeruselem, you can't just talk about butterflies and puppy dogs. It's about Arab and Isreali people not getting along, and that girl Habiba getting over that to befriend that one guy. Second, you said its not something 10-13 year olds would want to read about. Unless you seem to know every one of those people's opinion, you have no right to state that. That also shows that you don't want to read about stuff that really happens in the world, which is a bit shallow. No, it is VERY shallow. There's no rule about a book being religious 'unless you got something against religion, but that's YOUR problem, not the authors' and i'm pretty sure you're too young to even understand what 'unneccesary content' means or you have a very vague meaning of it. It might be something YOU don't enjoy reading about, but this is LIFE. And it's happening. To people even younger than you. And the author is simply trying to inform you about it so we won't be as ignorant of the world as we are now.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2006

    HABIBI

    Although the beginning was a little bit boring, it became more interesting. I liked how Liyana had a solution to every problem in Palestine (except the war, of course). There were many lessons that she learned.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2005

    Superb

    Amazing book which leads the reader through the twists and turns of the confusing lifestyle of an average Jerusalamanian teenage girl.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2004

    ABOSOLUTLY BEAUTIFUL!!!!

    When she moves to Israel, I can jsut feel what she is feeling in the Palestinian/Israeli conflict. She is lebanese, i am lebanese. I connected with her on so many levels. Nye is a fantastic author in her imagery, culture, and diction. Awsome book, highly recommend it!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2003

    What can I say?

    This book was great! It talked about the Arab/Jewish situation, but it also emphasized everyday life and humor. It was very down-to-earth. Ms. Nye is an excellent writer. Don't think you'll like it? You're in for a surprise!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2002

    Beautiful!

    This is probably my favorite book ever. The author does a beautiful job of describing the world Liyana (the main character) lives in. I love the poetic storytelling; it's all very flowing. I totally recommend this book to anyone looking for a good read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2000

    AN EXCELLENT BOOK!!

    I think that this book was absolutly wonderful! I read it in one day! It has everything that a good book needs: suspense, romance, culture. This book is a real page-turner!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 1999

    Fantastic!

    This was a great book! I am arabic, but I was born and raised in America. I was able to empathize with Liyana and learn about the Palestinians. It was wonderful!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 27, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 19 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1