Customer Reviews for

Hades (Halo Trilogy #2)

Average Rating 4.5
( 274 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(180)

4 Star

(52)

3 Star

(24)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(11)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

12 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

I AM SO EXCITED.

I can't wait. I fell in love with the first book, Halo. & I know this book is just gonna be so good. =]

posted by yasmxoxo on May 9, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

26 out of 40 people found this review helpful.

Doubtful to read another

The first one left me a little miffed. In general, there are three broad kind of ways a female protagonist can be portrayed. Either as a strong character, a weak character, or someone who is in the middle and at the end of the story may fall to either side of the spectr...
The first one left me a little miffed. In general, there are three broad kind of ways a female protagonist can be portrayed. Either as a strong character, a weak character, or someone who is in the middle and at the end of the story may fall to either side of the spectrum. I admit that I have a preference for the strong character who are often witty or sarcastic, middle character's are always easy to either love or hate depending on how they end up in the end, and I have felt also that not all weak characters are to be looked at with disgust. But there are very few authors that can portray a weak character and not piss the reader off with their indecisiveness and often unrealistic views. The setting and plot are generally what helps shape whether the character's personality will be well received, and the readers preference for personality's within a certain context. So within the context of angels and heaven mixing with high school dramas, I can't find Bethany's weak personality endearing. If anything, her impulsiveness and lack of foresight make me dread reading the next book in the series without immense positive reassurance that Bethany won't continue to taint my idea of angels and isn't the snipe of a self-centered individual that I have unfortunately interpreted her as. The summary given of Hades, furthermore makes me more doubtful that it will suit my tastes.

posted by Arctic_Fox on March 27, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 275 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 14
  • Posted March 27, 2011

    Doubtful to read another

    The first one left me a little miffed. In general, there are three broad kind of ways a female protagonist can be portrayed. Either as a strong character, a weak character, or someone who is in the middle and at the end of the story may fall to either side of the spectrum. I admit that I have a preference for the strong character who are often witty or sarcastic, middle character's are always easy to either love or hate depending on how they end up in the end, and I have felt also that not all weak characters are to be looked at with disgust. But there are very few authors that can portray a weak character and not piss the reader off with their indecisiveness and often unrealistic views. The setting and plot are generally what helps shape whether the character's personality will be well received, and the readers preference for personality's within a certain context. So within the context of angels and heaven mixing with high school dramas, I can't find Bethany's weak personality endearing. If anything, her impulsiveness and lack of foresight make me dread reading the next book in the series without immense positive reassurance that Bethany won't continue to taint my idea of angels and isn't the snipe of a self-centered individual that I have unfortunately interpreted her as. The summary given of Hades, furthermore makes me more doubtful that it will suit my tastes.

    26 out of 40 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 9, 2011

    I AM SO EXCITED.

    I can't wait. I fell in love with the first book, Halo. & I know this book is just gonna be so good. =]

    12 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2011

    ~Awesome~

    I cannot believe there isnt more reviews. The first book Halo was amazing. I love the characters and the plot! The romance is wonderful and nothing like our "usual" works of teen fiction. I dont usually write reviews but honestly, I am going to read this book since the first one was also excellent.

    11 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2011

    Amazing!!

    I enjoyed reading this book. Very hard to put down. I read this book in 2 days! Can't wait to read Heaven.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2011

    CAN'T WAIT TILL AUGUST!!!!!!!

    my freinds and i loved halo and when we found out there was going to be a series we all freaked. i love how this author portrays the bad guy the good guys and of course the love.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 29, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Chapter by Chapter's review of Hades

    Hi again guys! I’m assuming that if you are reading this review that you have finished author Alexandra Adornetto’s novel Halo and if you haven’t then please turn back now! (And maybe check out our review of Halo HERE?). Now, you know how Halo came to a halt with the demon Jake Thorn wanting Bethany more than anything in all of the worlds and with Bethany and Xavier together (yay!). Well, I’m also assuming that you’ve read the synopsis of the novel and if you haven’t then be prepared for a total bombshell—Bethany ends up in hell and it is Jake who has dragged her all the way down there.

    I hadn’t even known that Hades had been released when it had been, in fact I kind of forgot about the Halo series altogether (oh no!) what with all the novels that had been needing reading. But when I was on Amazon and saw that *dramatic gasp* Hades was out I had jumped out of my seat and screamed: “OMG! I NEED THIS! NOW!” Or something along those lines.

    Personally, I thought that as a character, Bethany has managed to grow a lot more than she did in Halo. In Halo, Bethany seemed like the naïve character that needed a lot of babysitting to get along in the story—however in Hades Bethany now has to put up the fight for her life. Not only is Jake trying to seduce her into being his and wants her to be his wife, but the Devil himself wants the only angel to ever become trapped in hell to become dead very much like everything trapped inside of Hades. The one thing that I found interesting (besides the cover. P.S. look how pretty it is!) Was the way Adornetto described the one level of hell that Jake ruled over. It seemed the most pleasant of the bunch, especially since she described it as a type of dark city with hundreds of literally damned nightclubs (where obviously the Damned are damned to dance for eternity).

    All through the novel I had been biting my nails, gasping and wide eyed as events took place where I would constantly be going: Oh my god! Oh no! No way! And other things of that variety. Not only did Hades hold many unseen twists and turns, but I noticed just how strong the relationship between Beth, her siblings and of course Xavier really was. Both Ivy and Gabriel end up going to lengths of the extreme and all the while it leaves the reader thinking: Please! Please! Let Xavier save her!

    I would recommend this (obviously) to fans of the first Halo novel and to the angel genre (which I now dub it’s title). But also to fans of supernatural romance and a novel that is unique in almost every single way. And who will it hurt if I tell you that Hades ends with you begging for more…

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 2, 2011

    I guess...

    I kinda liked the first book not like i loved other books. I just didn't like how it ended and i'm giving a chance to grab me this time. I really wish that this will be way better than the last one, Halo.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2012

    AWOSOME!!!!!!!! Great read, very thrilling! kept me on the edge

    AWOSOME!!!!!!!! Great read, very thrilling! kept me on the edge of my seat!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2012

    Awesome book

    I couldnt put the book down i am so satisfide DONT STOP WRITING SUCH GOOD BOOKS ALEXANDRA THANK YOU SO MUCH FOR THE BOOK IT MEANS A LOT TO ME AND IT REALLY BRING THE FEELING AND EMOTIONS OUT OF ME SOME ADVICE PUT SOME LOVE IN THE BOOKS AND FEELINGS TO GET YOUR BOOKS GOING YOUR MY FAVORITE AUTHOR LOVE U

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2012

    Hades

    Luvd this series. Its a must read!!!!!!!!!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2012

    Hades

    I read the first book in this series, Halo and i loved it. This one is just as good. If u like page turning books this is for u. The next in the series comes ot in August

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2012

    Hades-loved it!!!!

    This book is so amazing i love the whole seires i couldnt put the book down it was too good i recomend it is amazing

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2011

    Cant wait!!!

    How the book ended was a bit of a cliff hanger. But a cant wait till the third one comes out. Does anybody know when the third book comes out??

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 12, 2011

    Hades

    I read this book in 2 days! I didn't put it down it's so amazing! I love these books, and I hope Heaven ends up being as good as Halo and Hades! Definitely 5 stars for this book! Good for you readers out there who love romance and suspense!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 11, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Incredible

    I enjoyed reading this book. very hard to put down. can't wait to read more.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 4, 2011

    Well

    I liked the first better then this one

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 22, 2012

    This is great sequel to Halo! I fell in love with the first bo

    This is great sequel to Halo! I fell in love with the first book but Hades had my heart racing from the time I started the book up until the ending. It took my 5 hous to read it because I was so into the book I could not put it down!!!! This is definitely a book I would recommend to anyone!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2012

    Dani's dream

    *shes running in the woods away from someone and trips* Dani: Dont come near me....im a daughter of hades and athena.........*points her shadow sword at who ever is there* Abel: Sister.... Dani: What are you doing here murderer?! Abel: I have somthing from our dad.....*he pulls out a black battle helmet* Dani: *gasps* The cloak of darknes...... Abel: Theres something for you too. *pulls out a dark blue stone* Throw it at anyone and they will be gone for a few minuties...and the stone will come back to you and you only. Dani: Thats great....*smirks and aims rock at abel* Abel: NO. Dani: *throws it at abel, he disappears, and the rock comes back to her and she walks off*

    2 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2012

    Amazing!

    This book is fantastic! Heaven (book 3) needs to hurry up and come to the Nook Store!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2012

    Outstanding

    This book is jaw droppingly clever. And to think an 18 year old wrotr it......All I can say is wow

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 275 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 14