BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Hades' Daughter (Troy Game Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 28 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(15)

4 Star

(10)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 28 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted December 15, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    This was the second attempt at this book - the first being when

    This was the second attempt at this book - the first being when I was a teenager and I just couldn't get through it.  This time was totally different.  A very complex and compelling story taking us back to the days of the ancient Greek gods.  With the fall of the ancient Labyrinth, evil is unleashed on the Greek world and civilization quickly crumbles.  Far away on the coast of what will one day be England, one small outpost thrives with the Mistress of the Labyrinth as it's leader.  Calling out to her partner, the Kingman, she sets in motion a devastating series of events that will either lead the world into the light, or destroy it forever.




    While at times the complex storyline made the book drag a little - every sentence had a reason for being there, you just might not realize it yet.  Definitely not a book for those wanting a quick run through a fantasy land, this book requires a bit of concentration - but it's well worth the effort.  About half way through things just started falling into place and I had a hard time putting it down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2012

    GODDESS GIRL SEROES ROX

    If you like Hades, then try some fantasy about him and Persephone. If you have a nook, go to shop and search "Goddess Girl" i SWEAR it is the best series EVER! Or you could check out the series in the library!
    The books are:
    Athena the brain
    Persephone the phony (she meets Hades)
    Aphroditie the beauty
    Artemis the brave
    Athena the wise
    Medusa the mean
    Artemis the loyal
    Aphrodite the divine
    Coming soon is:
    Call on Persephone
    Pandora the curious
    Pheme the gossip
    Super special is
    The Girl Games

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Good Book

    The idea behind the 4 book series is extremely original. This first book is kind of a downer when it comes to one of the main characters, but the book is still really good. I recommend reading it, as long as you are going to read all 4 books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2006

    Good but not Great

    I picked up this book because I had read the WayFarer Redemption series and loved it. The fact that this book centured around a Greek Myth made me even more interested, but once I read the book, I felt rather... Scared? Not scared as you would feel with a horror story, but scared as in 'wow, this might not end up the way I thought'. The book gives the feel that everything will turn out badly, though you must read it to continue with the series and it is well-written.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2006

    great

    ive enjoyed everything ive read by her. (threshold wasnt on the same level as her other work though)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2005

    I Submit to you a Challenge...

    Brutus, Cornelia, Genvissa, Loth, Coel, Og, Mag...WOW! They have been chosen to participate in this intricate and glorious dance of intrigue and power and to rebuild the ancient city of Troy and the Labyrinth that lies within, but are drawn into an endless eternity of rebirth and betrayal. Sara Douglass brings together the components of good fantasy and the mythology of the Greeks themselves to create a story worthy of the highest honors! I submit to you a challenge: enter the world of the Labyrinth and see what truly lies at its center...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2005

    Great book...but a lil porno

    Hades Daughter was/is a great book, plot twists, idk what people say, but its good. LAthough i love that Brutus really is a softie and Cornelia does truly love him but may i just sayt that Sara Douglass must have had a lot of experience in the whole sex department...VIVID writing! all of which was not needed.....while the book is good it is basically a medieval porno....but dont get me wrong it is/was a great book

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2005

    Legends Fan!

    I initially ordered 12 books online and luckily for me Hades' Daughter was the first one to arrive. As soon as I opened the book I was pulled right into the story. I finished the book a couple of days later and the first thing I did was run to Barnes and Noble, which lucky for me is right down the street from my house, and I bought God's Concubine (which is the sequel)and I am in the process of reading it now. I hope you enjoy the trilogy as much I am!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2003

    Heavy Doings in Olde, Olde, OLDE England

    I'm not usually a fan of fantasy novels, but this one worked for me because it was grounded in ancient Greek culture and the earth religions of prehistoric Britain, where most of the story takes place. Ms. Douglass has crafted a plot involving the highly-prized control of something called The Game, whose purpose is somewhat murky but which involves the labyrinth most often associated with the Theseus legend. The story moves right along and is compelling, though occasionally it descends to bodice-ripper level (including the time-honored Young Attractive Married Couple Who Hate Each Other from the Start, not to mention the Throbbing Body Part here and there). It is hard to like most of the characters - Brutus is an arrogant lunkhead, Cornelia weeps through most of the book, and Genvissa is just plain one mean woman. Some of the minor characters may fare better with most readers. In spite of its shortcomings, this book is a page-turner; I confess to anticipating (with guilty pleasure) Part Two of the trilogy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2003

    Et Tu, Brutus

    Hades' Daughter by Sara Douglass is the first of the four book series: The Troy Game. The story takes place in the Late Bronze Age, about 1100 BC. There are quick flashes to 1939 in London, where the Game will come to its conclusion. The main characters in this story are: Genvissa (sixth daughter-heir of Ariadne and the MagaLlan of Llangarlia), Brutus (leader of the Trojans), Membricus (Brutus' former lover and now his adviser), Asterion (the murdered Minotaur, half-brother to Ariadne), Cornelia, (Brutus' wife, and the central character of the entire series), Corineus (Brutus' captain), Coel (a Llangarlian mystic and warrior), Loth (a strange, enigmatic Llangarlian man), Aerne (Gormagog of Llangarlia), and Mag (Mother Goddess of Llangarlia). Having absolutely loved Sara Douglass' previous series, The Wayfarer Redemption, I was excited to start reading this book. Unlike her previous books which were pure fantasy, this book mixes fantasy with historical persons and occurrences. The story revolves around the volatile relationship between Brutus and his sixteen year old wife, Cornelia, and his obsession not only with rebuilding the Trojan Empire in what will become England, but with the black witch Genvissa. Hades' Daughter has a plethora of interesting characters and the storyline is intriguing. Sara Douglass weaves a magical tale of deception, longing, disappointment, and magic that brings this story to life. In the beginning of the story, I had a hard time figuring out who I was supposed to like, in other words, the hero, and who I wasn't supposed to like, the villain. At first I thought Brutus was supposed to be the hero. That didn't last long. Cornelia, on the other hand, was a spoiled princess who soon hated Brutus and everything he does to her. Later in the story, she falls in love with him even though he has spurned her. At this point, I no longer liked the weak-willed Cornelia. So, I was again at a loss of who I was supposed to be cheering for. Maybe all of this will help Cornelia be a stronger person so she can later defeat Genivissa. This was the only issue issue I had with the story. Overall, Hades' Daughter by Sara Douglass is a good read and I found the historical references quite stimulating. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    delightful historical fantasy

    Approximately in 1000 BC, Athens annually sends tributes to Crete to include sacrifices to Asterion the Minotaur. This year¿s tribute includes Thesus, the son of the Athenian King, but he plans to beat the Labyrinth¿s monster. He gains the love of Ariadne, daughter of the Crete monarch and the Mistress of the Labyrinth. She betrays her heritage to abet her lover who defeats Asterion. Later, he deserts his pregnant wife leaving her abandoned on an island to birth a daughter while Thesus takes up with Ariadne¿s sister. Outraged, a proud Ariadne seeks revenge by destroying the fabric of the Game, the divine magic that holds the world together. One hundred years later, Brutus, former ruler of fallen Troy, seeks a different throne. He seemingly triumphs aided by the Goddess Artemis, a survivor of Ariadne¿s opening gamut of a century ago. However, Ariadne, calling herself Genvissa, sees Brutus as a useful lackey because the avaricious brute is too cocky to see beyond his own superego. Through him, she sets in motion act two of her Troy Game vengeance. Though at times wordy and one subplot (occurs in 1939) does not tie back to the ancient theme (clarity in future novels?), readers will appreciate the scope and characterization of the opening saga in Sara Douglass¿ vast historical fantasy. The key two elements to this delightful epic tale are the flawed and contemptible lead characters and the two prime ancient eras vividly alive due to rich texturing interwoven into the plot. Fans will definitely want to read HADES¿ DAUGHTER and the sequels as Ms. Douglass clearly has game. Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 15, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 23, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 3, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 28 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2