Customer Reviews for

Hail, Holy Queen: The Mother of God in the Word of God

Average Rating 4.5
( 31 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(24)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 31 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2005

    One of the Best Marian Books of Recent Times

    Dr. Scott Hahn, a Professor from Franciscan University in Steubenville and a noted convert from the Presbyterian Church, has written a valuable books on the Blessed Mother and how sacred scripture supports Catholic/Eastern Orthodox views on her role in humanity's salvation. He gives many examples in the Old Testament that foreshadow her role in slavation history (These are called 'Types'; like how passsages from the Book of Psalms foreshadow the crucifixion of Crhist). For example, one of Mary's titles is Ark of the Covenant, which is an Old Testament type. She is also compared to such Biblical women as Sarah (who had a miraculous birth when she was very old), Hannah, and Esther. Dr. Hahn also gives many personal anecdotes on his journey to Catholicism and clears up Protestant misconceptions on Catholic/Orthodox (and even Anglican) venertation of the greatest saint of all time. He himself use to believe it was all Mary worship. The book ends with an appropriate discussion on the Rosary, one of Catholicism's favorite devotions for the 'Theotokos' or God Bearer. A must for all Marian devotees and as well as our Protestant brothers who may not understand Catholic devotion to Our Mother, who the Lord gave to his disciples. Enjoy and God Bless!

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2007

    Highly Recommended

    As a recent convert to Catholicism, I would highly suggest this book to Catholics and non-Catholics alike. The down-to-earth, easy to read language used in this book can be enjoyed by people of all ages.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2003

    HAIL HOLY QUEEN, MY MOTHER

    Dr. Hahn has truely captured the wonderful gift that Our Heavenly Father has given us in Our Blessed Mother. The way Kings of the Old Testament had their mother as their Queen is exactly the way Jesus, Our King, has His own Mother, our Mother, as Queen of Heaven and earth. Whether she is acknowleged or not she does care for us and loves us very, very much. Our Lord has blessed Dr. Hahn and his family for their conversion to Catholicism and toward Our Blessed Mother. A must read for those who've know Her all their lives, for those who long to know Her, and for all the rest of Her children too. She loves all of us!!!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2003

    The New Testament Is Concealed In The Old Testament.

    Scott Hahn reminds us early in HAIL, HOLY QUEEN that according to the Second Vatican Council both Christ and Scripture were given to us by God for the sake of salvation. The author also agrees with Saint Augustine that the New Testament is concealed in the Old Testament which is in turn revealed in the New Testament. For instance there are many parallels which can be drawn between Genesis and the Gospel of John. Hahn shows us one way to look at Scripture is as the story of God's preparation for and completion of His self-revelation in Jesus Christ. Mary's role is an integral part of this story. Jesus Christ is the New Adam and Mary is the New Eve. Hahn's books are much easier to appreciate if we are already familiar with the Bible as a whole in addition to the separate readings we absorb as part of the Mass. The book ends with a concise history of the rosary and an explanation of its enduring value in the prayer lives of Catholics.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2005

    Highly recommended

    Scholarship pairs beautifully with acessiblilty. This book will persuade those inclined to love Mary as the Mother of God, but may have some hesitations based upon misinfomation about proper devotion due to Mary as Mother of Jesus and Mother of us as well. Dr. Hahn's glee in rediscovering the joy of finding Mary as mother is kept just below the surface, permitting clear and logical exposition based upon historical context and theological Tradition.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2002

    See WHY Mary is truly 'blest among women'

    If you ever wondered why Mary said 'all generations shall call her blessed' and why the angel addressed her as 'full of grace', then you will enjoy this book. You will see why Catholics call Mary their 'spiritual' Mother. Dr Hahn explains how Mary's queenship is directly related and dependent upon Jesus' kingship. I recommend this book for Catholics and non-Catholics alike.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2001

    Simple, elegant, and faithful

    I highly recommend this splendid work of Scott Hahn. I believe that so many people will find 'Hail, Holy Queen' very helpful in discovering and rediscovering Mary. The book's style is simple and elegant. It's message, in fidelity to Vatican II, is crystal-clear in concentrating our attention on Mary, the Mother of God, in her relationship to Christ and His Church.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2012

    Best book on the subject I've ever read.

    Raised in a Protestant church Mary was not spoken of much. Probably because our ministers did not want to sound Catholic and to them Catholic reverence for Mary bordered on idolatry. After reading Scott Hahn's book I see how unfortunate that was. This is an absolute must read Christians, Protestants and Catholics alike. I highly recommend this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2010

    Excellence as usual from Scott Hahn!

    This man may very well be the next Dr. of the Church! My husband & I love how he explains things so beautifully so that a novice can understand even the most complicated of concepts. His research is complete and he delivers a fantastic understanding of Mary. I heartily recommend this book to Christians of all denominations, especially Catholics who long to know Our Lady and understand why we honor (not worship) her.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2014

    Excellent for Protestants and Catholics Searching for Answers

    Excellent and easy read for Protestants and Catholics searching for answers to the Marian question. Hahn, being a Catholic convert from evangelical Protestantism understands and explains the topic of Mary: who she is, what she means to the church, biblical defense for Mary, and why she is important to our lives.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2014

    Hail, Holy Queen: A Summary With perspicuous language and poet

    Hail, Holy Queen: A Summary

    With perspicuous language and poetic rhythm, Scoot Hahn delivers a beautiful portrayal of our Queen Mother, Mary. Scott’s educational insight illuminates the darkness of Marian fallacy, and he defines how to be truly devoted to Mary’s ever magnificent glorification through Christ. This book is the beginner’s preeminent study of Marian apologetics, with personal anecdotes, that brings definition to who Mary truly is and how we, an ecumenical body, need to venerate Mary and never be reticent in our love for her.
    My favorite quote from the book is a description of God that enlightens the voice of transcendence: “Though He is eternal and He is creator, He is not the eternal creator. Creation is something that takes place in time, and God transcends time. So, though creation is something God does, it does not define who He is.” The reason I personally favor this quote begins with rational discourse. Our human language can never describe the irrationally ineffable, however, because God rationally incarnated himself, through the ever Virgin Mary, Jesus became a way for humanity to describe the Trinitarian God; Jesus described God as Father, Son, and Holy Spirit. Therefore, although our language may bloviate and verbosely ramble on, we may conclude that Scott’s quote defines a reality in such a linguistically unsubordinated way. God the Father, Son, and Holy Spirit raises the level of superiority to impossibility, however, because one women acquiesced to God we can therefore proclaim our Trinitarian God as King, and Mary as Queen, of Heaven.
    The ultimate declaration is given to the fact that this book examines Mary, the Mother of God, the great Theotokos, and the mediatrix, and Gods greatest creation. Moreover, after reading this book you will grasp the meaning of Immaculate Conception. I highly recommend reading Scott Hahn’s material.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2013

    Shiverpaw

    "You want to leave?"she said, confused.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2013

    Silverfire

    He pads in quietly.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2013

    Enderkit

    Moonmist yay

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2012

    Goldpae

    Mosstar can i talk to you alone?

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2013

    Nightwind

    Sit down

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2013

    Mosstar

    Cries in a good way. Moonmist! Moonmist!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 25, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Explaines how Mary is venerated by Catholics.

    Explaines how Mary is venerated by Catholics.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2012

    Excellent

    Well written and thorough with a good emphasis on Mary not liking to see her children fighting over her.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 31 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2