Customer Reviews for

Hairspray (Original Broadway Cast Recording)

Average Rating 4.5
( 27 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(20)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 27 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A blast to listen to

    This like many of my musicals was a random pick up at Barnes and Noble. I fell in love with it, and actually have downloaded two of the ringtones from this cd. Thoroughly enjoyable, alot of fun 50's type music a must have.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Hey Mama welcome to the 60's!

    Hairspray is an award winning musical with tracks that reflect on all of what seems to be the American Bandstand days of the 1960's. Just bright colorful music on most of the tracks with a little bit of a do-wop feel that all the couples would come around and slow dance to. With songs such as "Mama, I'm a Big Girl Now" and "Hairspray" it adds more of a comedic twist than just the speaking dialog like in the musical, "The Fully Monty" but this is not as serious with songs and the musical instrumentals/backgrounds such as "Les Miserables." It's a fun, upbeat, showy soundtrack.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    You Cannot Stop This Beat!!

    Hairspary deserves all the acclaim its received. The music is absolutely amazing. The cast is wonderful. The same can be said for the story and dancing. Harvey Fierstein steals the show in this one. A must for any Broadway maniac. Worth all 8 2003 Tonys!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Amazing!

    Hairspray is such a fabulous musical! The album is nonstop energy and enthusiasm and can get you dancing immediately. The songs in the show and on the album are fun and easy to sing along with as well as very humorous. The actors in the show have amazing talent and their voices take you back to the ‘60s era in the opening song, “Good Morning Baltimore.” The music can appeal to all audiences from “Big, Blonde, and Beautiful” to “You Can’t Stop the Beat.” My personal favorite is “Mama I’m a Big Girl Now” with its catchy lyrics and upbeat tempo. If you love Broadway musicals, this is definitely one to add to your collection. I highly recommend it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    AMAZING!!

    I love this Cd! The singers are amazing and the music has an amazing beat! Very fun to sing along to and dance too! Must be apart of every theatre collectors collection!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Wow!

    Keey Butler is the best but the others were talented too.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    BRILLIANT!

    No other musical can touch in a such a way that it can suck you right into the story be "rooting" the characters at the end. This album is amazing! There is none like it. The score is one of the best that I have heard. If all Broadway shows had a score like this, Broadway would be a much better place. Highlights are definitely "You Can't Stop The Beat," "Welcome to the 60's," "Big, Blonde, and Beautiful," and "Without Love." This is a neccesity for any Broadway fan.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Overrated!

    The story is fluff, the music is so-so, and the voices are annoyingly squeeky. Generally entertaining, but you'd think that for an award-winning production that that there would be more attention paid to the quality of the show and even this technically inferior recording. The other nominees in the Grammy category for musical cast album are much, much better!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Overrated!

    Bad singing (annoying, very squeaky voices, flat notes), script with no substance. Take away all the dancing and one'll find it's all fluff. Fun but definitely NOT deserving of ANY of the awards it received. Get another CD instead!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Overrated!

    Goodness! Is the the supposed topnotch musical that won awards on Broadway? There's nothing impressive at all! It's fun -- the music has a nice beat and the dance numbers are upbeat, but the story has totally no substance! And the actors leave much to be desired singing-wise (what singing???) and acting-wise. The voices are so squeaky that one has to cover his or her ears to prevent the eardrums from breaking! It's worse when you just buy the recording: the "fun" which is the only thing this musical can legitimately claim it can deliver, does not cross-over to the album. All you'll hear is squeak, squeak, and more squeaks! Don't waste your money on this CD. There are MANY other musical theater albums out there that are worth your attention.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    karry Butler is the best!

    What can I say she is just Penny. Kerry Butler a Penny was the best part of the CD. She was great in the last song YOU CAN'T STOP THE BEAT. She really stands out in that song. She is also rally Hot!!!!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    YOU CAN'T STOP THE BEAT!

    HAIRSPRAY is in my oppinion, possibly the best musical comedy ever to hit Broadway!!! The songs are soo fun and catchy and will have you singing and dancing in minutes!!!! I am now a hardcore hairspray fan and have seen it in theatre's twice, listened to the CD COUNTLESS times and I still am just as in love with this show as I was the first time! I couldn't possibly pick my favorite song because they are all out of this world! I swear to you, that this will soon become your favorite CD and you won't be able to put it down!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Best Ever!!!

    I just saw "Hairspray" on Broadway last night through Broadway In Chicago, and I LOVED it!!!! The musical scores were so amazing...it was so good that I had to go buy the cd last night after the performance at a near by Barnes and Noble. The cd is amazing and I can't stop listening to it. Whenever I listen to it, I just want to get up and dance!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    And the greatness of broadway continues...

    I heard about Hairspray through the Caroline Rhea show. She was a huge fan and mentioned it ever time she could. When the CD came out, I wanted to see what the fuss was all about. After listening to it for awhile I had to get it. I fell in love with the songs. Thanks to my mom, I love the oldies, and this CD was full of 60 like songs. I'm glad I took Caroline Rhea's advice about picking up the CD.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    BY THIS CD, I GARUNTE IT"S THE BEST!

    This was such an awsome cd, I listen to it all the time. I had to buy THREE copies, one for my car, home, and headset! This is a wonderfull example of the magic that happens when you mix broadway and pop. It is wonderfull for almost any age. It's got a fabulous cast with amazing voices and the songs make me want to get up and dance everytime I hear them. If You are looking for a wonderfull cd, don't hesitate to buy Hairspray!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Overrated!

    Annoying, squeeky voices singing fluff songs. Not deserving of the Grammy, and certainly not desrving of the Tonys.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A Review After Seeing It On Broadway

    I bought the "Hairspray" CD when it came out in August and I listened to it a few times. I finally went and saw "Hairspray" on Broadway yesterday with the original cast still intact. What an absolute joy. I sat in the front row of the theatre and the energy from the cast, the singing and the dancing was amazing. Listening to it on CD has helped me to relive the tremendous experience I had yesterday and I am ready to go back and see it again. If you haven't listened to it yet, do yourself a favor and buy the CD, then go out and buy a ticket and go see it on Broadway. It will have you tapping your feet and bouncing your body ... in the theatre and in your home.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Singin' and Dancin' Out The Doors

    As I was getting ready to see ''Hairspray,'' the matinee audience was just leaving the theatre. People were actually dancing down Seattle's 5th Avenue-- singing. I saw ''Hairspray'' that evening. A few weeks later, the music brought me back. I love this music. You leave the theatre singing and dancing. I can't wait to get my copy of the CD. I would have purchased it at the theatre if it had been available!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Next best thing to being there...

    In its recent pre-Broadway run out here in Seattle, 'Hairspray' proved to be a witty, nostalgic, skewering romp with an insanely talented cast and surprisingly clever sets. It took the great characters and storyline from the movie and let you be in a room with them - the energy level was just tremendous. If you can't see the real thing in person, and you're a John Waters fan, buy this - it will only add to an already great cult classic storyline.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    BUY THIS CD NOW!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!1

    This is hands down the most rocking Original Broadway Cast recording in years. In it's incredible simplicity...it accomplishes astonishing results. Here's what it has to offer: 1. A score full of melodies so infectious that they are, as once put, ''simply irresistible.'' 2. Before the show has opened on Broadway, New York Magazine has called it, ''the year's hottest show.'' Jesse Green of The New York Times called Marc Shaiman¿s music ¿the best pop Broadway score¿ since pop and Broadway parted company some 30 years ago.¿ Entertainment Weekly declares, ''Cross 'Grease' with 'Little Shop of Horrors' and you have an inkling of the giddy joy this disc imparts.'' 3. The following blessing from the ''Hairspray'' creator, John Waters: ''Listening to the feel-good numbers about rats, flashers, hickies, ratted hair and 'checkerboard chicks' turns me into a happy Walt Disney on hallucinogenics, hoping whole busloads of twisted Broadway tourists go to the theatre, abandon their diets and feel sexy about it.'' So...what's wrong with you?!?! If you can get to New York...buy your tickets now...If you can't...buy this CD yesterday. You'll want to be up and dancing but will be collapsed on the floor laughing and crying from the sheer jolt of joy this show has to offer. As a fortunate soul who saw the show in it's Seattle pre-Broadway run...I sleep better knowing that Broadway theatre is about to take one giant step closer to healing it's wounds and celebrating ''Divine''-ly inspired musical theatre at it's apex.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 27 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2