Customer Reviews for

Half Black Soul (The Alexa Montgomery Saga)

Average Rating 4.5
( 22 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(11)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 9 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted February 12, 2013

    Half Black Soul picks up where Blood Warrior left off and catapu

    Half Black Soul picks up where Blood Warrior left off and catapults you to a whole other degree of action packed adventure. I loved the change of scenery and while disconcerting initially, the change in perspectives from Nelly to Alexa. There are more than a few surprises in this second installment of the Blood Warrior saga. It is rare when a YA paranormal novel surprises me, but Gordon did it in spades with Half Black Soul. This was such a quick, rapid and addictive read, I didn't want to put it down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 4, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    "Half Black Soul" picks up where "Redemption"

    "Half Black Soul" picks up where "Redemption" left off. Alexa finds out that her mother is not dead like she thought but in the evil king's prison. Alexia embarks on a perilous journey to rescue her mother while leaving her sister, Nelly behind in Two Rivers. Nelly is not happy that Alexia left without telling her. Nelly is determined to find out why Alexia left and what is really going on in Two Rivers. Friendships will be tested, and secrets will be revealed. Are Alexia and Nelly prepared for the task before them and will they survive?

    The author tells this story from Alexia's and Nelly's point of view. Through descriptive details, we are able to see their inner struggles and the development of each character. This story is full of twists and turns that will keep you on the edge of your seat. I can't wait to read "The Rise" to see what happens next!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 2, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    The second book in the Alexa Montgomery series picks up right wh

    The second book in the Alexa Montgomery series picks up right where the first one left off. In this book we get to see Alexa grow into her role as a Sun Warrior. It is a difficult struggle for her, though, to embrace her destiny and accept what she sees as a monster inside of her. We also got to see her grow as a person as she searches out her feelings for Kayden.

    I loved that we got Nelly's POV in this book. She is a great character and you can see, though she did not play a big role in book one, she is quickly becoming crucial to the plot of the story. I liked the fact that we got to know her a little bit better and were able to invest ourselves in her more.

    The world the author created for this book was wonderful. She has a way of painting a picture with her words that flow right off the page. This series is fast becoming a favorite for me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 25, 2012

    The ┬┐Half Black Soul┬┐ is packed with action and revelations. I l

    The “Half Black Soul” is packed with action and revelations. I love how fierce and loyal both Alexa and Nelly are to each other. They would both give their lives to save those they love. Alexa has always been strong, and able to take care of herself, but in this book, Nelly really comes into her own person. She begins to understand her true powers and what lengths she will go to keep her sister safe. I've really grown to respect Nelly as a character in this book, as she is no longer a helpless little girl relying on her sister to save her. She begins fighting back and trying to do her part in ridding Two Rivers of the evil that is lurking in the shadows. This book is jam packed with action and the ending has a major twist that leaves you begging for more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 5, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Once again I'm left at WOW. What I loved about this book: *Al

    Once again I'm left at WOW.

    What I loved about this book:

    *Alexa, her inner strength, humanness, vulnerability, intuition and ability to protect others in spite of her own safety.
    *Kayden, the silent hero who doesn't pretend to be anything other than himself. What you see is what you get and it will always be honest.
    *Nelly and her ability to trust and love Alexa unconditionally.
    *Soraya and Akira, two little girls who are about 7 and 5, who embody innocence, pure love, have this powerful ability to take on the pain of others and are wise beyond their years. These two little girls were named after the authors daughters. *Beautiful tribute to them.*
    *Action packed from the beginning and fast paced through out.
    *Mysteries are quickly revealed and the reader doesn't have to go through a thousand hoops to find out the answers to all these secrets.
    *How nicely the plot unfolded.
    *Every single twist.

    What I didn't love about this book:
    ***Can't stand "The Mom".***

    Half Black Soul kicks off exactly where Blood Warrior ends and things start to happen rather quickly. This book took on the POV's of Alexa and Nelly, each taking a turn in letting the reader know what was happening on the road with Alexa and what was happening back at Two Rivers where Nelly was left behind. I mentioned in my review of Blood Warrior that I had a hard time believing in this connection Alexa and Nelly shared because of the intro we were given. In this book, having Nelly's POV allows the reader to get her as a person/powerful being and to better understand that connection.

    I didn't mention the little girls in the last review because honestly I forgot to but they do prove to be very important to me. Alexa is having a hard time holding on to her humanity or what she feels is right and wrong. She is having a hard time dealing with who she has to be although she puts up the front that she accepts it knowing she is who she is and that's ok. These two little girls offer her a love that she is not used to because of how she was raised. They are willing to take on her pain and protect her even though Alexa is supposed to be protecting them. They don't judge her and tell her that she is good. Kids of that age, 5 and 7, are good readers of people. They will either like you or they won't and it is on a very deep level where the reasoning only makes sense to them. The interactions between Soraya/Alexa and Akira/Alexa occur when Alexa feels the most darkness within her soul and they bring along a very different light than Kayden. Through all of this Alexa as broken as she feels, is still strong, pushes forward because she has no other choice, grows as a person and as a woman, breaking down at all the appropriate moments. All of this I could appreciate.

    Honestly, there were no bad parts in this book. I think the only bad part is that we have to wait for book three and the author plans on having as many books as the characters will give. I hate to wait so long but what can you do?


    On to the next!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2012

    Kick ass series

    This has it all. Tons of action and love. I didnt like the way it ended out no where but cant wait for the next one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2012

    Loved it!!!

    I must say.... WOW!! Better tan the first one hands down! I am totally falling in love with the relationship that Lexi and Kayden are finally admitting to! The twist is the end about the prophecy was just perfect! Cant wait for book 3!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 9 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1