Customer Reviews for

Half-Blood (Covenant Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 452 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(320)

4 Star

(70)

3 Star

(24)

2 Star

(10)

1 Star

(28)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

18 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

I'm in LOVE with this book!

This book is AMAZING. There are no dull moments in here people. None. It's intense from the very beginning. I love Alex. Despite all the horrible things she's been through, she can still laugh and be snarky. She's strong and courageous. She doesn't back down from a figh...
This book is AMAZING. There are no dull moments in here people. None. It's intense from the very beginning. I love Alex. Despite all the horrible things she's been through, she can still laugh and be snarky. She's strong and courageous. She doesn't back down from a fight (even when she should). She doesn't understand the decisions of those around her or what they're keeping from her. Alex has been away from the Covenant for 3 years. When she returns, Aiden (swoon!) is in charge of her training. Aiden is different from the other pures. He's kind, patient, and he doesn't look down on her like the others. Only problem is, he's forbidden. And who doesn't want what they can't have?! This world of pures, halfs, and daimons will suck you in and hold you.

posted by MsMelis on September 25, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

16 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

Umm... familiar? Right?

This book is very similar to that of Rachelle Mead's Vampire Academy... Its similar concept-wise right from th begining (the whole pures/halfs/diamons versus Mead's moroi/dhampirs/strigoi, not to mention the elemental connections and super cool boarding schools where th...
This book is very similar to that of Rachelle Mead's Vampire Academy... Its similar concept-wise right from th begining (the whole pures/halfs/diamons versus Mead's moroi/dhampirs/strigoi, not to mention the elemental connections and super cool boarding schools where they are trained to kill). It gets just plain insulting though once you get to the part in the office... god you could almost literally substitue the words mentioned from the book with strigoi, rose and dimitri and you would have Vampire Academy. Its otherwise well written and interesting but it looses a ton of points in my book for being a stolen idea. I mean, come on. Thats just pathetic. If this book interests you, trust me, go buy Meads series, its much better written as well in my opinion.

If youre looking for a cheaper version and a stolen idea this is the book for you. Im wishing I wouldn't have bought this now if only out of loyalty.

posted by 7739858 on December 25, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2014

    Identical to Rachel Mead - Vampire Academy.

    From the begining of the book their was one thing that came to my mind as I read this book. Vampire Academy. Ithe book is good but it rips off Meads work down to the exact lines. Alexs mother gets turned evil and Alex goes after her. In Mead's rose's boyfriend gets turned evil and she goes after him. Don't get me stared on the office sense. Everyone ignores Alex. In Meads everyone ignore Rose. I liked half blood but it reminds me too much of vampire academy. Also Alex atitude is horrible and childish and just annoying. I read the second book in the series and its ok but Alex just gets on my nerves. She needs to not be so angry and childish and love struck over Adaen. I gave this two and a half really because it's a good read if you haven't read Meads books and if you can stand Alex atitude.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2014

    Jean

    Hey im new here nd i already posted my bio. Um... what around here to do for fun?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2014

    Alex bio

    5'6", 13yrs, son of Ares, longidh blonde hair, green eyes, light skin.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 24, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Rating 3.5 / 5 stars I have heard many good things about Jen

    Rating 3.5 / 5 stars




    I have heard many good things about Jennifer's writing and her other series (Lux series). 




    I like that it opens with some pronunciations. Sometimes I read a word and have no clue how to read let alone pronounce it. Half-Blood picks up right where Daimon ends. The scene and feeling has been set for the book perfectly. 
    The beginning of this book feels very similar to vampire academy., (And I am not the only blogger to comment on this) This aspect disappointed me initially but when the book started taking it's own turns I was a bit more relieved. Although some of the twists were a little predictable, it was not necessarily a bad aspect of the book. 




    Characters: 4/5
    Lexie - Lexie is a likable character from the start. She is a bit stubborn and her arrogance annoyed me a little bit - Its her biggest weakness. Otherwise her wittiness and wilder side is great in the book. I was happy that she didn't always behave recklessly. Sometimes she followed the advice given to her and considered others and how they would be affected by her actions. 




    Aiden - Aiden initially comes across as guarded. I was so happy when he did slip up and some of his fun side came out with out with Lexie. She brings out a great side of him and I can see them breaking all the rules if their relationship ever develops further in the books. He is a great sweet and awesome character




    Caleb - Caleb is Lexie's best friend. He is friendly, accepting and supportive. Someone Lexie can completely trust and the type of friend that will be there through thick and thin. He really brings a great aspect to the story. I hope he sticks around for a while. 




    Seth/Apollyon - Straight up Seth is my favourite character in this series! Jennifer only introduces him about half way through the book. He has a brilliant sense of humor and come backs when bantering with Lexie. He definitely has a strong presence. I think he and Lexie would be an awesome explosive couple. Seth probably made the book for me and it's the reason I will keep on with this series. 




    Seth & Aiden are great characters and Lexie would be great with both but I am totally #TeamSeth. I am hoping some big things come from their bond. Aiden is awesome and sweet and a great character, but my heart belongs to Seth. 




    Plot, Pace, Writing style: 3/5
    Jennifer has a great writing style. Although the plot was initially a bit the same as VA, she picks up the pace and makes it her own about half way through the book. 




    Cover talk: 5/5 
    I love the cover of this book! I actually love all the covers... no contest here, simplicity can sometimes take the cake. 




    Final Thoughts:  A good read and I will be continuing with this series. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2013

    To all

    Hello? I may not be on until tonight... but please move the camp! -Erline.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2012

    Help!

    Is this as good as the other book series(lux series) by armentrout? Becase i loved those books and im looking another book like that. Any other book suggestions?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 13, 2012

    With all the hype surrounding this book, I expected to be blown

    With all the hype surrounding this book, I expected to be blown away; after finishing Jennifer Armentrout's Half-Blood I only felt one emotion: underwhelmed.

    Alex is a half-blood whose sole reason for living is to protect and serve. After the unexpected death of her mother, Alexandria returns to the Convenant to continue her training to become a Sentinel. As if fighting demons night and day wasn't stressful enough, she's falling in love with a Pure blood, the most taboo of all taboos.

    Half-Blood grabbed my attention instantly. The first chapter opens to Alex realizing that daimons are breaking into her home. It was exciting and and Alex was a badass heroine. I'll say one thing about the pacing, this book moves at turbo speed. Just as soon as Alex is getting bad guy ass, Sentitel Aiden comes to drag her back to the Convenant. After Alex arrives to the Convenant, I was just bored. Alex picks up where she left off at school with close friends, old enemies and danger hiding around every corner. It's all pretty forumalic if you have read any novel about schools honed to sharpen paranormal skills. There was a slight twist during the "Final Battle" which actually made it book a bit more enjoyable and interesting.

    Like I mentioned, Alex's day-to-day life at the Convenant was putting me to sleep, but the scenes between Aiden and Alex had me on the edge of my seat. I didn't like Aiden as a character, he was the sterotypical, older and wiser boy who seems to be out of the main character's league. Alex also annoyed me, she was too stubborn and too sarcastic. But when Aiden and Alex were together....it was hot. The chemistry between the two was obvious and the sexual tension kept me coming back for more. I've always been a fan of forbidden love and I loved the idea of a Half and a Pure Blood testing the waters and saying "damn what the others say." The chemistry between Aiden and Alex actually has me contemplating picking up the sequel novel, I just want to see them together!

    The novel is written from Alex's point of view, and if you aren't a fan of overly sarcastic and stubborn girls...you may be annoyed fairly quickly. I felt Alex was too informal and too sarcastic, I did not enjoy hearing her side comments, hell I didn't even enjoy being in her head.

    Half-Blood is the first installment of a Alex's adventures and struggles to keep her love. While I could not get into the overall story, I finished the novel just for the Alex and Aiden scenes.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2012

    Talah

    Sits in a tree farthest fro yone. Thinking.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 9, 2012

    Decent

    At first this book was hard to get into. This is not my normal type of read but I am trying to read out side the box. It was well written but sometimes the story line is just unbelievable.
    this is a series book and I will mostlikely try the others. If you your looking for a sweet and nice book this is it. harly any intimate moments

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 7, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    So I am only a fourteen year old girl-so some older people wi

    So I am only a fourteen year old girl-so some older people will probably think "Oh, what does this girl know?" but I'm pretty mature. I read the Hunger Games in 5th grade. Last school year, I read 120 books....we had to keep track. I am a personal library for my friends. So, it's safe to say I am addicted to books. One of my favorite series id Vampire Academy, by Rachelle Mead. Half-Blood was entertaining, but replace the greek gods with vampires and you have a shorter, not as well written, copy of Vampire Academy.
    When I read this book, I was pretty disappointed. I'd read countless good reviews, but from the first page I couldn't help compare Half-Blood to Vampire Academy. Similarities start from the first chapter: *minor spoilers*

    1. It starts with the protagonist fending for herself and then being caught by the society she ran away from
    2. The guy who captures her becomes her trainer, and she is attracted to him (he is also ridiculously tall, and they can't be together)
    3. Protagonists' personalities are similar
    4. One good friend is similar (Mason/Caleb)**spoiler** mason dies and it seems like caleb will too
    5. Oh yeah, the main setting is a school
    6. The social society and standing of the two prominent races of VA and HB are...the same...
    7. The villains of the books are very similar - Daemons and Strigoi...they both even bite

    Vampire Academy was published first and is longer and better written. Read it instead!
    And then you can read this. The small differences were refreshing ;) One thing I liked was that Alex (pro.) seemed real, and not like a 30 year old trapped in a 17 yr olds body overanalyzing every decision)
    In fact, I told my best friend who also loves VA the similarities and she so turned off by this book. So overall, an okay book, but give me a pen, a different set of gods and Vampire Academy and I could have written it myself.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2012

    Leah Summers

    The book is ok it started out slow and boring.Then it got better. I'm not going to buy the 2nd book.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 25, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    First half was a snooze, but the last half was very good.

    First off, let me remind you that I am a big fan of Richelle Mead and the Vampire Academy series. Secondly, may I remind you that I am no mindless fangirl. I skimmed reviews before I read Half-Blood, so I was warned about the overwhelming similarities between the two, and it did not piss me off like it would a mindless fangirl.

    That being said, the similarities between Half-Blood and Vampire Academy were annoying. And annoyingly abundant. I did appreciate that that tapered off in the second half of the book. But they’re very hard to ignore in the first half. Even for someone who read Vampire Academy way back in 2007. I won’t bore you with those annoyances though. Just be warned that it’s very prevalent. I was a little worried that not only would the book have very similar characters and a very similar world to Vampire Academy, but also a similar plot.

    This worry went away over time, with the introduction of the “big bad” of the book and the concept of the Apollyon. I thought that especially was really unique and different, that the pures have the magic ability and look down on all the halfs but there is this super-half out there that has ALL THE MAGICKS. Plus Seth is like my favorite character of the whole book. I have a sneaking feeling that in the next book, Aiden is going to get all distancey and since she’s going to start training with Seth too, that they’re going to get closer and a love triangle will then develop though. As long as it’s well written it won’t bother me too much. I think I’m just burned out on love triangles right now.

    Anyway, for all of the seeming unoriginality of the first half of the book, I felt like the last half (or maybe third) helped the first book of the Covenant series gain its own footing. So I will definitely be reading Pure when it comes out in a few months. (Though I do have to admit at least 50% of this is for Seth’s snark and bluntness that amuses me so)

    *As far as the rating goes, to be completely fair I would have to divide the book into two parts. The first half of the book would get 2.5 stars. The second half of the book would get 3.5 stars. Therefore,3 stars.
    This review also posted on goodreads and my blog; Books and Bites

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2012

    Good...but wrong age range

    I thought the book was interesting. It had a new twist on Greek myths and twists and turns along the way. But I found some content to be inappropriate for my age, even though i'm within the age range. So, for older teens, this book is fine, but for teens in their younger years, i would recommend waiting to read this.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2012

    Give it time

    In the beginning i struggled to get through it. But after awhile the mythology and the plotline really hooked me. It was worth the effort.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 15, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2