Customer Reviews for

Half-Blood (Covenant Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 451 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(319)

4 Star

(70)

3 Star

(24)

2 Star

(10)

1 Star

(28)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

18 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

I'm in LOVE with this book!

This book is AMAZING. There are no dull moments in here people. None. It's intense from the very beginning. I love Alex. Despite all the horrible things she's been through, she can still laugh and be snarky. She's strong and courageous. She doesn't back down from a figh...
This book is AMAZING. There are no dull moments in here people. None. It's intense from the very beginning. I love Alex. Despite all the horrible things she's been through, she can still laugh and be snarky. She's strong and courageous. She doesn't back down from a fight (even when she should). She doesn't understand the decisions of those around her or what they're keeping from her. Alex has been away from the Covenant for 3 years. When she returns, Aiden (swoon!) is in charge of her training. Aiden is different from the other pures. He's kind, patient, and he doesn't look down on her like the others. Only problem is, he's forbidden. And who doesn't want what they can't have?! This world of pures, halfs, and daimons will suck you in and hold you.

posted by MsMelis on September 25, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

15 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

Umm... familiar? Right?

This book is very similar to that of Rachelle Mead's Vampire Academy... Its similar concept-wise right from th begining (the whole pures/halfs/diamons versus Mead's moroi/dhampirs/strigoi, not to mention the elemental connections and super cool boarding schools where th...
This book is very similar to that of Rachelle Mead's Vampire Academy... Its similar concept-wise right from th begining (the whole pures/halfs/diamons versus Mead's moroi/dhampirs/strigoi, not to mention the elemental connections and super cool boarding schools where they are trained to kill). It gets just plain insulting though once you get to the part in the office... god you could almost literally substitue the words mentioned from the book with strigoi, rose and dimitri and you would have Vampire Academy. Its otherwise well written and interesting but it looses a ton of points in my book for being a stolen idea. I mean, come on. Thats just pathetic. If this book interests you, trust me, go buy Meads series, its much better written as well in my opinion.

If youre looking for a cheaper version and a stolen idea this is the book for you. Im wishing I wouldn't have bought this now if only out of loyalty.

posted by 7739858 on December 25, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 70 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted October 10, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Sexy, Kick-ass & Entertaining!

    HALF-BLOOD, reminiscent of one of my all time favorite YA series, THE VAMPIRE ACADEMY, lured me into its world filled with compelling characters. I'd like to say that this book would have blown me away, except that I kept having so many flash backs of characters, scenes, and plots from THE VAMPIRE ACADEMY SERIES. I can't say that this book was original because there were too many things that were similar to VAMPIRE ACADEMY. I did like the half-blood & pure aspect of this species which included gods instead of vampires. I guess when it comes down to it, if you are a fan of the VAMPIRE ACADEMY SERIES, then you will most likely enjoy this book.

    I highly enjoyed the cast in this book. Alex is so like Rose in some ways, she's strong, she has a bit of a temper or let's say her actions and mouth tend to get her into trouble. She's special in ways that the other half-bloods are not. I loved the whole concept behind the Greek mythology and how it was tied into this world. Aiden, a pure blood, who's also reminiscent of Dimitri, is one sexy and fierce fighter. Then there's Seth, the unknown. He's powerful and he's about to make life miserable for Alex. I really enjoyed his laid back character. He's cocky, yet he cares about what happens to Alex. I know I can't wait to see where this goes. The whole prophecy/oracle aspect of what will happen with Alex and her future did provide a bit of mystery as to what would happen next. So, I'm glad that where some differences in HALF-BLOOD's world that kept me entertained throughout.

    Overall, I wasn't too impressed with the originality of this book, but Armentrout's writing and characters kept me entertained and thrilled about the world that she has created. A lot of things have changed in Alex's world and the consequences will have a life or death impact on her kind. This book is sexy, kick-ass, and entertaining. I enjoyed it!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2011

    Fun quick read!

    This book kept my attention. I enjoyed it, and look forward to the next in the series!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 26, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Excellent start to a series!

    Alex returns to the Covenant – a special school for those training to become Sentinels – after a three year absence. She has to learn to adjust from being out among humans, reacquaint herself with old friends, fight off her attraction to her trainer, Aiden, and brave the pit of vipers that is the politics of these beings.

    Without giving away too much else, I’ll simply have to say that Alex is a rash girl who does things I would have dreamed of doing, but never would have, and the forbidden attraction to Aiden makes things interesting. However, it is a little hard to figure out exactly what the man is thinking a lot of the time, but that is part of his charm. The world JLArmentrout created is detailed as well and she creates such intricate character personalities. It always leaves you guessing as to what exactly is going on. Great read! 4.5 stars!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 4, 2014

    There¿s so much to love about Half-Blood. First, there¿s Alex. S

    There’s so much to love about Half-Blood. First, there’s Alex. She’s a feisty, irreverent, half-blood who’s never met a rule she’s not willing to break. And when the biggest rule of all means the boy of her dreams is totally off limits, you know there’s going to be trouble. The world Jennifer L. Armentrout has created is part Percy Jackson, part Vampire Academy, with a dash of Harry Potter. After Alex’s mother is killed, she returns to the Covenant where she was born to train to be a  Sentinel. When Aiden, the boy she’s crushing on hard, agrees to train her, sparks fly and all hell breaks loose.

    Plot
    I know there are a lot of similarities to other books, and I’ve heard a lot of people complain, but as the saying goes, there are only seven original plots. The rest is execution and the author delivers a story that stands apart from the others and as a result, is unpredictable. Sure, we know something’s going to happen between Aiden and Alex because it’s forbidden, but this is a young adult romance after all. But what we don’t know is how the rest of the story is going to play out and how the intense attraction between the two of them is not only going to affect their lives, but the lives of everyone around them.

    Characters
    I like Alex. She’s mouthy, stubborn, and impulsive, which makes her unlikeable to some, but it’s probably what I like most about her. I get tired of female heroes who never do anything wrong. Sure, Alex does everything wrong, but it so fits her personality that I get her. Aiden is my book boyfriend. He’s perfect in every way. In fact, he’s the anti-Alex. Far from being a drawback, though, his perfection only makes him more endearing, because he tries to keep Alex in line. But, I think my favorite character is Caleb. As Alex’s best friend, he has some of the best lines and their relationship is sweet and helps humanize Alex a bit.

    Bottom Line
    Half-Blood is a thrilling young adult adventure with a strong romantic component and both the romance and the adventure will leave you breathless.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 27, 2014

    Over the past few months, I¿ve heard quite a bit of praise for t

    Over the past few months, I’ve heard quite a bit of praise for the Covenant series, and I have to agree, Half-Blood was an amazing book. However, I didn’t find it nearly as captivating as Jennifer L. Armentrout’s Obsidian of the Lux series. Half-Blood moved at a much slower pace. The characters didn’t ask as many questions I would have liked at the beginning, plus things I found odd were sometimes ignored by the main characters until later in the novel. I kind of found that a little frustrating at time.

    As for the main character, Alex was definitely an interesting character to follow, but she didn’t capture me like Katy from Obsidian had. I didn’t feel one with her thoughts nor could I really fit into her shoes. I did feel for her, though. All the stuff she had to face. All the tragedy. Yet she was strong in character, a bit of a big mouth, and a little kickass—all of which I enjoyed.

    I did love Aiden. He was a cool guy. I liked how he was all tough and hard on the outside, soft and sweet on the inside. But I didn’t find him as swoon worthy as Daemon in Obsidian. I missed the playful taunts, the verbal duals. Oh, and Seth! Ugh! In my opinion, he was just a plan jerk in Half-Blood. No playfulness or being a tease. I didn’t like his attitude at all.

    Yet despite Seth and the few other things I didn’t like, as a whole the plotline was captivating. I was drawn into this world of demi-gods and diamons, wanting to learn more about the pures and half-bloods. I wanted to know what each of their lives was like with all the rules about forbidden love. I was even curious what it’s like for the diamons. What they feel. What they think. What were they plotting? And though Seth, presently, is not on my good side, I’m fascinated by the situation he and Alex found themselves in. With the role Alex has to play, I’m curious how she’s going to handle all the pressure and feeling in future novels.

    All in all, it wasn’t the Lux series—it didn’t steal my heart, or take my breath away—but it is a storyline that I’m addicted to. I had that one taste of aether, and now, I can’t stop until I consume the last book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2014

    Batman

    I dont have time look at "Viking Tales" result seven

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2014

    Slasher

    Gtgts bbl

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2014

    TO EVRYONE

    Theres a hunger games role play go to hypher res 2 to get indstrutions

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 9, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Similar but still good!

    This book reminded me a bit of Richelle Mead's Vampire Academy series, only with gods or demigods or Hematoi or whatever they are instead of vampires. I really enjoyed this story and the idea of the Apollyon.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2013

    Amazing

    Seriously addicted!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2013

    Main camp- camp halfblood

    A big clearing full of volleyball courts, fighting "arenas",and shooting targets surrounded by eleveb cabins in a semicircle-each cabin for one of the gods.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 8, 2013

    If you like YA Action Romance with Greek mythology - must read

    4.5 stars. As some scenes were rather predictable and the story line (not just the basics) were very familiar to me. It seemed a lot like Vampire Academy only Gods instead of vampires. There were many places here that I felt the same deja vu. I LOVE Aiden! He's outstanding and I hope he stays that way. He's tough, reckless, caring, gentle, courageous, intelligent, and handsome to boot. :) Alexandria, I don't know exactly how I feel about her. She's an interesting character. She tries her best, but is also headstrong and doesn't quite think things completely through before acting. I hope this changes and she grows over the books. Especially considering where her character is going. There are a few times when she is almost completely clueless and the reader is able to "connect the dots" while she can not. That is bothersome. Why have your character read something then not have the information stick so that she discovers for herself what is happening to her. (Sorry to be cryptic, trying for no spoilers.) Seth...well, now he is a conundrum. I like him, but have reservations about him. I don't know if that is because we only get to see him through Alex's eyes or not. I must say this is the first time when a current actor has immediately taken on my personal mental picture of a character I am reading. A very interesting development. I fear for Caleb. Adult character naming needs to get more creative. Marcus and Lucien, really? Those names ever evoke other characters to me. Marcus will always remind me of Twilight and Lucien Harry Potter (even though I am quite aware his name was Lucius) thus transferring previous and unrelated characteristics onto the personalities of characters in this book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2013

    Hmmm

    I enjoyed this book and am about to start book 2 but the one negative i have to say is that i felt like i was reading the vampire academy books. Dont get me wrong the book was great but it was pretty darn close to the storyline for those. So i guess if you enjoyed those books dony hesitate to read this

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2013

    Good

    Its like vampire academy meets mythos academy. Very good book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 27, 2012

    Another Great Read!!

    I have to say that I really enjoyed Half-Blood. For me, the idea of gods and mortals is really enticing, and I love reading about special powers within specialty schools, and good versus evil. Of course, after having read Daimon, I was completely in love with this story before I even began, and Armentrout doesn’t disappoint in this first full book of the series.

    I still love Alex dearly. Sure, she makes some really stupid mistakes, but don’t we all at her age? She’s recently: watched her mother die a terrible death, been hunted down by daimons, saved by the sexy Aiden, forced back to the Covenant still not knowing why her mother forced her to run from it in the first place… and now she “stands trial” for things she never had control over in the first place. Not only does she have to prove herself to the elders, worst of all her stepdad, but also to Aiden, her new trainer. Seriously, if I were in her shoes, I’d probably be a bungling idiot in hysterics. But Alex takes it all in stride. She’s seen a lot in her few short years, and it’s only made her stronger. And yet, she does have a softer side. She’s never been in love, and with Aiden, her first crush, of course things are going to go awry. While her “I don’t need anyone” attitude does grate the nerves a bit after a while, watching her begin to grow as an individual was really nice. Alex’s close friends were a riot, too, and I think they really helped make the story come together in a way that many readers will love. There is much kinship, even though Alex has been MIA for three years, and I loved watching her get reacquainted and work herself to the bone to remain a part of the Covenant.

    Aiden, as sexy as he is, definitely stole my heart, and I truly enjoyed every scene he was in (which is most). He’s kind and compassionate, yet steadfast and hardcore. One of the highest ranked Sentinel’s, he’s got a keen sense for danger and protecting those around him, which makes him the perfect man, in my opinion. Hence, I can’t wait to dive into the sequel, Pure, and see what awaits him and Alex in their next endeavor.

    Aside from the main characters, though, I really enjoyed the plot. I wasn’t expecting the many twists and turns and I highly enjoyed being along for the ride. The revelations brought to the forefront were also really entertaining and, like I said, I can’t wait to read the sequel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 16, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    First we have Alexandria (with whom I share my real name! Well,

    First we have Alexandria (with whom I share my real name! Well, almost, hahaha) that is already kicking-*ss in the first page. With her mother already dead by the daimons she keeps fighting with only one hope: to go back to the Covenant alive.
    But she finds herself surrounded and when hope had left her body a voice, one she quickly remembers, tells her to duck. And she does it like a pro.
    Her savior, Aiden, will soon become her personal trainer in a race against time that is going to decide if she becomes a Sentinel -and fight daimons in order to protect the pure bloods and her race- or become a servant (more likely slave) to a pure's house. Which, for a girl like her so strong and free, would be worst than hell.

    But there's a secret about her and a prophecy (involving her mother's death) that might change her life completely. Or kill her in the process, the probabilities are very similar.

    To complicate things even more Alex is attracted to Aiden but he is a pure blood and a relationship between them is strictly forbidden...
    And then Seth appears in the picture... a very mysterious guy that will surely make the decision to choose between him and Aiden very difficult.

    Personal Opinion:
    Everything related to Greek gods is immediately added to my TBR. Of course Half-Blood was no exception. Before beginning the book I had read a lot of amazing things regarding this book and, to be honest, I was a little bit scared that my expectations were too high.

    Thank goodness Jennifer did an AMAZING job.

    Characters like Aiden, a swoon worthy hero, will make you melt from the very beginning. Not only because he is sexy, strong and a total fighter but because he believes in Alex and her potential to become one of the best Sentinels.
    Did I mention he is hot? Those grey eyes and perfect abs deserve another mention.

    And Alex... oh, what an amazing heroine. She has the potential, yes, but she also has a very human side that let us connect with her very easily. Despite all the struggles like her mother's death, the prophecy that made them leave the Covenant in the first place and the constant threat of her becoming a servant Alex fights to overcome them all as best as she cans.

    But as much as I liked them all my heart goes to Alex's best friend, Caleb. He is another half-blood training to become a Sentinel that is not only funny, caring and intelligent but also loyal. And I appreciate loyalty above all. He won't hesitate to put his life on the line for Alex, and the guy is not even in love with her which gives him a lot of points.

    As for the plot I won't say it's very original but what I can say is that it won't disappoint you at all, I'm sure you will find yourself turning page after page and by the end of the book I hope you have Pure already in your TBR pile 'cause you are going to need it very badly!

    I would recommend Half-Blood to people who like strong female characters, lots of fights and a story not too centered in romance. The dialogues are clever, the plot intriguing and well developed and the characters are believable which only improves the chances of you loving the series so don't hesitate and read it too :]

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2012

    Same as below

    I too have read vampire acadamy and couldnt help but notice the intense similarities. Great storyline but no original

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 28, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    fast paced, with fantastic world-building and unique characters

    The tale begins with our protagonist sixteen year, half-blood, Alexandria. She is held up in an abandon building somewhere in Georgia and is being pursued by daimons. These are horrible vampire like creatures who can suck the life from a pure and change them into a daimon. A half-blood cannot be changed and are often sent into battle. Alexandria mother who was a pure was killed and Alex has been making her way to the safety of Covenant. She manages to kills two daimon before she is overwhelmed. Two of the daimons have ganged up on her. Thankful swoon-worthy, Aiden *faints* and some of the sentinels show up and rescue her. They take her back to the covenant and the tale that unfolds is fast-paced, filled with forbidden love, epic battles and a startling revelation. The story kept me completely enthralled. The characters Armentrout created are well fleshed out and my emotions ranged from despise to adore. Our protagonist Alex is snarky, hot tempered, fiercely loyal and stubborn. At times I wanted to just slap her and tell her to grow up and the next minute I wanted to hug her. I kept trying to remind myself how old she is, what she has been through and what she will become. Alex is determined to become a Sentinel and seek revenge for her mother’s death. Her step-father and Uncle seem to detest her. Aiden is pure and also a Sentinel. He has a tremendous amount of pressure, trying to raise his younger brother, and prove himself worthy. He is very serious about everything he does. It becomes completely apparent from the beginning that he harbors feels for Alex, but because he is a pure, Alex thinks the attraction she feels is all her. She has crushed on Aiden since her days in the academy; before her mother took her and fled the coven. Then there is Seth who is very unique and gifted half-blood. He’s opinionate, a stalker, arrogant and uber hot. He seems almost infatuated with Alex. He keeps asking her what she is. The romance between Aiden and Alex is bittersweet. It's filled with stolen moments that could totally get Alex killed. Thankfully the tale was free of insta-love, but I fear a love triangle is in our future. Other characters add to the tale, giving it believability and depth. Armentrout’s world-building truly makes this character driven tale come to life. Living amongst us in locations all over the world is Hematoi. They descend from the union of gods and mortals. Children born of two Hematoi are called pure-bloods and have godlike powers. Those born from a Hematoi and a mortal are called half-bloods. Half-bloods have two options in life become trained hunters of daimon called Sentinels or spend a lifetime in servitude to the pure. There are complex rules and a hierarchy within the covenants. Half-bloods cannot have children, and a relationship is forbidden with a pure. A pure is mated in an arranged marriage with another pure to sustain their lifeline. Sadly, if caught a half-blood is put to death or kicked out and a pure goes virtually unpunished. Armentrout weaves a suspenseful tale, as we learn more about Alex, and key players reveal information. We learn of discontent within the younger pure and half-bloods and talks of demanding changes to some of the rules governing them. As with any society where one type is oppressed, we see prejudice, entitlement and support. I love how she took Greek mythology and made it her own. Her writing style, pacing and imagination left me wanting more. I am looking forward to divi

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2012

    Great book

    Really interesting read... When I first starting reading it I thought it sounded a lot like Richelle Mead's Vampire Academy book... As i got a little further in the book I realized it is nothing like Vampire Academy except for the romance part... Really good book if you haven't read it yet you should... If you liked Richelle Mead's Vampire Academy series you will like this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2012

    Similar in the beginning

    Im in the beginning of the book and so far I am loving it but the only thing that bugs me is that the plot is so similar to my favorite series Vampire Academy. All i'm saying is that Vampire Academy was published a few years before this series and the idea seems pretty similar at the beginning but it does seem like it is going to be a very good book. If anyone who liked this book is wanting a new series like it Vampire Academy is a pretty good one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 70 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4