Customer Reviews for

Half-Blood Blues

Average Rating 4.5
( 46 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(37)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Beautifully written -- don't miss this one.

How long since I have loved a book as much for the use of language as for the content of it plot or characters? Not since the Bard I think. It's all in the language. The changing meter ebbs and flows to match the dynamic of the drama. In a story based on music the la...
How long since I have loved a book as much for the use of language as for the content of it plot or characters? Not since the Bard I think. It's all in the language. The changing meter ebbs and flows to match the dynamic of the drama. In a story based on music the language is the rhythm. You can almost see the broad smile, the whites of Satchmo's eyes welcoming you between the words. Bird's stacatto bursts and the languid baritones of Teagarden drip like honey when the tempo stretches. Sentences grab you and pull you along like a melody, sometimes a gliss, a riff, the pause exciting as the note. It is a nocturne, not just from Harlem but jazzed and mixed with Germany and Austria and a different time and place. But always truth ... jazz truth. Don't miss this if you love poetry made from music, or vice-versa. A rare treat. She will have to go a long way to equal it I think.

posted by joe11144 on April 11, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Beach.

posted by 15387505 on September 16, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 37 of 37 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2013

    Summer

    Name- Summer Young
    Parents- Ben Young and Athena
    Age-16
    Status-single
    Crush- why should i tell u?!? But maybe...
    Gender- Girl
    Apperance- Im '5.7' with long brown and blonde streaked hair that in the summer time it turns a golden blond mixed with amber streaks. Dont ask me why it just does. Im tan have a cute southern accent that i tend to hide so people think im not weird. My eyes are a stormy grey blue. And two tattoos. One on my wrist and the other on my lower back.
    Weapons- two daggers both gold with bronze tips and one says 'Survival' and the other has no words.
    Personality- smart (but wont do other peoppes work! Lol, but true.), sweet, loves water (i take to it naturally as if i am a daughter of posideon but im not), and poliet.
    Other-love of water, two tattoos, blessed by aphrodite (long story...), and i suspect i may be blessed by posideon.
    Past- secret, dont be nosy! But i dont tend to tell people.
    ~Summer Young

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2013

    Leon (bio)

    Name: Leon ; parent: hephestus; personality: funny,ADHD, joker; looks: black hair, 5'4", brown eyes; weapons:i'll just make them; abilities: can summon fire, also has magic toolbelt; pet: small bronze robot dragon named Fang(can fold up into a ipod touch)

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2013

    Kathrine

    Kathrine 17 is a goddess and her parents are posiden and athena befor they hated each other. Looks brown hair but dyed blonde with green streaks in them green blue eyes that change depending on her mood. Hour glass figure usually where blue and green tank tops and shorts or pants with a bikkini at the bottom with boots weapons: sword at hip bow and arrow two knifes one in her boot and other depends on what she waers status single

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2013

    Luna

    Name: Luna Nocturn-Gender: Female-Age: 15-Status: Single-Heritage: A daughter of Artemis, her father is unknown/nonexistant.-Weapon: A silver sword called Moonbeam-Specialty: Hand to hand combat and sword fighting-Powers: Healing powers limited to other people (can't use them on herself), the ability to speak with nocturnal animals, slight control over the tides-Looks: Long silvery hair and eyes of the same color, extremely pale skin, high cheekbones and a slim, muscular build-Clothes: A silvery t-shirt, balck skinny jeans, silver combat boots with steel toes-Personality: Calm and easy going, intellegent, slightly isolated, tends to become violent if prevoked-Past: Was delievered to camp with a prophecy "The first, the last, the only. The moon goddess' sole blood child. Hair of silver, fingers of ice, Artemis's daughter shall tame the wild" this prophecy is branded into her right shoulder. Nothing else of her past is known.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2013

    Lightning

    Lightning Farrow/20/posiden and unknown/5'11 sholder length pinkish white hair white skin/a purple sweater and cape a white overcoat black arm warmers that go to her elbows blue gloves short shorts and purse that is tyed to her waist also sholder protecters a black sword sheath for Gladus and hang on her leg/l'cie can summon an edion controls ice not water/Odin her edion Gladus her sword and a platinum bow and arrows/Odin and a wolf named Link/very active/Serah Farrow/single/swimming fighting and talking/Snow, Hope, Fang, Vanille, and Sazh are her friends.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2013

    To question

    No idea. But we should make one.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2013

    Caleb

    Hi

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2013

    Percy

    Parent:Poesidon-Powers:is a l'ice and can wield water to hi will, can breathe underwater ad talk to seacreatures-Status:dating Arya-Extra:is waiting for his Eidolon to show itself

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2013

    Jenna

    Name: jenna. Age: why would i tell you that? Parentage: lets just say unknown for now...... Gender: female, any idiothead coukd guess that. Weapons: staff, twin swords, shield, and... others.... Magical items: all weapons listed abov and most of my clothes. Im not gonn tell you what they do, but i am gonna warn you not to try to attack me. Description: a girl with long pure white hair and multicolored eyes tht change colors. I usually wear skinny jeans an a lime green sweatshirt, even in the middle of summer.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2013

    Justin

    Name:justin mercer|parent:ares|age:15|looks:dark brown hair rainbow eyes 6'0|relationship status:dating chelsea|pets:max and emmy two dogs

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2013

    Chelsea

    Name: Chelsea Lee Drew •• Age: 15 •• Parents: Stephen Drew and Aphrodite •• Looks: Long bleach blonde hair, sea green eyes, two dimples, around 5'6 with slightly pointed ears hidden behind her hair and always wears the blue necklace Justin gave her :) •• Relationship Status: I think i'm dating Justin. x) •• Weapons: Dagger, Magic, Sword, throwing knive and her knee x) •• Powers: Controls trees and can make them thrive, Magical powers and can change people into animals x) •• Pets: Hellhound named Guppie, Puppy named Sheila, and an invisable dinosuar named Coco. ~•|•Chelsea•|•~

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2013

    Annabeth

    Parents are Nemisis and Evan Nakamura. Brother is warrior Ethan Nakamura. Blond with pink and blue streaks. Age 16.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2013

    Kelly

    NAME: Kelly •~• GENDER: Female •~• AGE: 14 •~• PARENT: Hades •~• BLESSINGS: Blessed by Ares and Poseidon •~• LOOKS: Dirty blonde hair to her shoulders, the ends are dip dyed purple for her roman boyfriend, she has dark green eyes. She is 5'7 and she is pale with freckles. Always is wearing the color black (may it be a braclet or a shirt). Usally wears black skinny jeans with a dark green or black shirt. •~• CRUSH: Logan! •~• STATUS: Dating Logan :) •~• POWERS: Can "shadow travel", doesnt need to breathe under water, increased strength at certain times, can summon skeleton warriors, make things burts into flames, still discovering more •~• WEAPONS: Six daggers (a three match set) three pure black daggers and three blood red daggers, an imperial gold short sword, her powers •~• I believe that is all!

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 15, 2012

    Kyilla

    " Mike! Are you here?" Kyilla called, her face pale with worry for her younger and unexperianced sister, astara. Astara had been looking for her for years, and she felt bad for not being there.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2012

    Pyro

    I SO belong here. XD lol

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 9, 2012

    Haley to sabariam

    Lol im using my phone as a flashlight

    0 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2013

    Logan

    Name: Logan Age: 14 Gender: Male. Looks: Tall with ashy blond hair and grey eyes. Wears a purple shirt and black jeans, with his earbuds hanging out of his pocket. Weapons: A full black bow with black arrows, except for a splash of purple on the tip. Its a poison that changes to the best type during the situation. Also carries a 2 foot imperial gold dagger witha purple stone at the ends. Given to him by neptune. Status: Dating Kelly. Godly parents: Neptune and Venus. Other: I am blessed by jupiter. Yes I am roman, deal with it.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 37 of 37 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 2