Customer Reviews for

Half Brother

Average Rating 4.5
( 39 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(27)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Best

I just finished reading this book this morning. This has to be the best book i've read. Its very heartwarming between zan and ben. I highly recommend this book. The ending really fits the book. I wouldn't want to ruin it so i'm just going to say this is a great book...
I just finished reading this book this morning. This has to be the best book i've read. Its very heartwarming between zan and ben. I highly recommend this book. The ending really fits the book. I wouldn't want to ruin it so i'm just going to say this is a great book for any age to read. Love it!

posted by 10437254 on March 4, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

The misfits

I like his book so far

posted by 11149858 on April 1, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 39 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2012

    Best

    I just finished reading this book this morning. This has to be the best book i've read. Its very heartwarming between zan and ben. I highly recommend this book. The ending really fits the book. I wouldn't want to ruin it so i'm just going to say this is a great book for any age to read. Love it!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2014

    Good book!

    I liked how the book showed the changing of Ben and Zan's relationship and some of the troubles that Ben had because he loved and wanted to protect Zan.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 11, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Sally Kruger aka "Readingjunky" for TeensReadToo.com

    Ben can't believe he is being forced into becoming part of his father's latest science experiment. Being the only son of a college professor/research scientist hasn't really bothered Ben, but things have suddenly changed. First of all, the family has moved clear across Canada, so he will be getting used to a new home, new school, and a whole new group of friends. The other big change is that he is about to become a brother. Well, sort of... Dr. Tomlin is beginning a research experiment to prove that chimpanzees can learn to communicate with humans. He and his wife will be working together to raise a baby chimp as part of their family and attempt to teach the chimp to communicate using ASL - American Sign Language. As part of the family, their son, Ben, will be expected to treat the chimp as a younger sibling and help in the teaching process. Ben thinks the idea is crazy. Yes, the chimp is cute and cuddly, but it's a chimp, not a human. Why does he have to participate in this wild experiment? Much to his surprise, it doesn't take long for him to bond with the chimp and become just as excited as his parents when the little guy begins to catch on to the whole communication experience. The chimp is christened Zan, and he quickly becomes part of the family. Ben's life starts changing at a fairly rapid pace. As news of Zan begins to spread, Ben's popularity at his new school soars. Everyone is interested in watching Zan and hearing about his crazy antics. Ben and his parents are busy night and day helping the chimp assimilate to his new surroundings. So busy, in fact, that Ben's father hires multiple graduate students to help care for Zan and record the endless videos and written notes necessary to chart the chimp's progress. Ben's life is a whirlwind of activity. HALF BROTHER by author Kenneth Oppel is set in 1973, at a time when chimpanzee experiments dominated the science world. He deftly combines the fascinating results of animal studies with the daily life of a teenage boy. As the chimp grows and learns to interact with humans, so does Ben as he finds his place in new surroundings and as a maturing teenager. The complexities of the research study and the growing emotional attachment of raising Zan make HALF BROTHER a novel that will have readers laughing and cheering one minute and gasping in horror the next. Prepare to be entertained but also touched by emotion and regret.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2012

    The misfits

    I like his book so far

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2015

    Touching

    I give this five stars. It is one of the best books ive ever read and ive read a lot. Its really touching and makes you cry laugh and gasp.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2014

    ERO'S CABIN

    Here

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2014

    Lydia

    Kk

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2014

    Summer

    I felt alone and i could do this she shuts her eyes and fire come from her hands

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2014

    Lloyed

    Slowly and drematicly lraves cabin for woods

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2014

    Elise

    E.e leaves and went to the forest

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2014

    Emma to star

    Res 35. Halfback attack

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 22, 2013

    Best book ive ever read

    Id have to say that this is one of the greatest books ive ever read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 9, 2013

    Kat

    Hey i think u got locked out go to the next result

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2013

    Ehhh

    The book was interesting for themost part. I enjoyed it but I felt like zan acted like a spoiled brat and I didn't actually like his character. Ben on the other hand I thought really had an interesting point of view

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2013

    Inlighting

    This book is awsome with its form of human compassion that is truely rare.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2013

    Great

    I loved it. It was full of heartwarming truth and a powerful bond between two speices that could not speak directly to each other. There was intense moments when the language made me raise my eyebrows, but overall....it was awesome.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 25, 2012

    The book I read was Half Brother by Kenneth Oppel. It is about

    The book I read was Half Brother by Kenneth Oppel. It is about a family which includes a father which is a scientist who works in the university, a mother who writes theses based on science, and a boy named Ben Tomlin. On Ben’s birthday, his mom comes home with a baby chimp. Ben’s father had a new experiment which was to teach a chimp American Sign Language in order for the chimp to communicate with human beings. The chimp which is named Zan, is treated just like a baby human. As he grows up, he learns ASL. Ben began to have a very strong bond with Zan, and treated him like his little brother. On day though, his father decides to shut down the experiment, which means they have to bring Zan back to the Chimp Center in Nevada. Ben doesn’t like this, being the fact that he treats Zan like his brother. Ben decides to go on a mission to the Chimp Center to get his little brother back to where he belongs, which is with Ben.
    I don’t recommend this book for various reasons. In the book, Ben happens to fall in love with a bunch of girls such as Shannon and Jen. There are very disgusting scenes in this book that are off topic. To get on to the actual point of the story, you would have to skip a couple of parts that were not important or relevant to the story. Also this book is not a happy book. It is more on the miserable side and leaves you heart broken. The saddest part was when Ben had to leave Zan in the Chimp Center and Zan didn’t know it would be a long time until he would see his older brother Ben again. Just because Zan wasn’t needed for the experiment, he was still Ben’s little brother.
    I give this book one chimp, because it was very sad. I thought as Zan being my younger brother who is three, and I wouldn’t want my little brother being taken away from me. It hurt to think in that connection. Also, this book went off track a lot and talked about things not related to the main focus of the book which is Zan. The author really thought forth of putting this story together and it was a complex story that not even I could think of so that’s why I give it one chimp.


    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2012

    Good

    Book

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2012

    This is a great book

    I feel lile i can relate to it at rimes. I lovethis book!!!!!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 8, 2012

    Great Book!

    This is a really good book! I love how Ben does so much for the chimp he wanted nothing to do with when first brought home. Ben really develops as a character. It's a story you HAVEN'T read before. Very original concept and the author carries it through well.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 39 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2