Customer Reviews for

Half Magic

Average Rating 4.5
( 84 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(58)

4 Star

(16)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

16 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

My #1 Favorite Book!

This book is my all-time favorite! This novel is about 4 siblings (Jane, Mark, Katherine, and Martha) who have immersed themselves during their summer vacation in the magical books written by E. Nesbit and begin yearning to go on their own magical adventures. That's ...
This book is my all-time favorite! This novel is about 4 siblings (Jane, Mark, Katherine, and Martha) who have immersed themselves during their summer vacation in the magical books written by E. Nesbit and begin yearning to go on their own magical adventures. That's when they find a strange coin that grants wishes: only that you have to wish for one thing twice. For example, if you want a pen, you must wish for 2. If you say, 'I want 1 pen' you will have 1/2 a pen. The coin leads the 4 kids on an adventure that even gains them an extended family. I liked this book because it made me think, 'Am I glad I have 2 terrific parents!' because the 4 children have a single mother. If you're a fan of fantasy and adventure books, I recommend Half Magic!

posted by Anonymous on March 31, 2005

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Wow.

There is no other word to descibe this book, it is thrilling for children of all ages. A great read.

posted by Anonymous on February 17, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 16 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted April 28, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    A Yearning to Read Review

    Jane, Mark, Katherine, and Martha are bored. It's summer and they have nothing to do, except sit at home and clean while their nanny, Miss Bick, tells them what to do. Their father died years ago and their mother cannot stay at home with them. So, the four children think hard about what they can do to make their summer not so boring...and that's when they find a small little nickel on the ground. It looks like an ordinary nickel from afar, but when held up close, you can see the strange runes carved onto it.


    Before they know it - and without them knowing it! - the four children are sucked into a great and terrible adventure, full of halves and doubles and gray houses and knights and jousts and being half-there and half-not. It is full of lessons and love and learning what it means to become a happy family.




    For an advanced reader, the first chapter isn't amazing. Nothing really happens and Edward Eager's writing is very simple. When the charm (the nickel) comes into play, however, and begins working its magic, the story picks up. It was a laugh! There were so many funny one-liners that made me giggle out loud. Puns, ironies...it was all there. The children are all well-developed: Jane is the sensible one, Mark is the smartest (because he's the boy), Katherine is the romantic, and Martha is the most outspoken. Their mother and Mr. Smith were great additions to a great story with a great, lovable ending. The story had twists and turns that led you right where Eager wanted you...where you want to be, too. Happy. All in all, this was one great read and I highly recommend it to children of all ages - and adults too! - who want to laugh and smile with a lighthearted story that will always be loved.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2007

    Half Magic is an amazing book!

    I think that Half Magic was a very interesting and exciting book. Even though it is already full of action I wouldn't be able to rate this book a perfect 5 out of 5. I think it could have been written (just in some parts) so it's more exciting for the readers. Other than that I recommend this book to anybody between ages 10 - 13 who love fictional books!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2005

    Very Recommended

    This book shows the importance of staying together with your brthers and sisters, overall four stars (it could have been longer though)

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2005

    good

    this was a good book about magic and stuff, but it was soooooo short! i finished it in like, half an hour!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2013

    Its pretty good

    I liked it but it was sooo old fashioned so thats why i only gave it 4 stars

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2013

    Half magic

    I thought that this book was good and great for grades 4 -6 this book is good for reads that you need to get to the end because it is so good this book will keep you on the edge of your seat the whole time kt.kokkm

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2003

    Interesting.

    This book was okay. I sort of wished it was longer though. Overall it was pretty good.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2003

    Kid from Plano

    This is a non stop adventure novel. I could never put it down. Origonally a christmas present for my brother I took it in attemps to see if it was good. It turns out to be a can't put down novel. I love the momin this story and the ending is perfect.So read this awseom novel that is humoris, and suspencful all together. :)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2014

    Summe

    Ok

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2014

    Matt

    Makes a pistle out of celetial bronse and louds it and getts extra ammo the walks out

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2013

    Half magic

    Half magic is great sometimes it may be confuzing

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2002

    Great!

    I thought this book was really good and I liked it a lot. I really liked the plot and how each chapter is a different point of view. If I had that coin, I would wish for world peace twice!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2002

    Wishing

    Half Magic is a great book if you like wishing.Any age would like the book.It is a perfect storie to read before bed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 9, 2002

    IT'S GREAT!

    It's an awesome book. If you're not into fantasys you won't really like it. The good thing is it's about children and kids can relate.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 16 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1