Customer Reviews for

Half Magic

Average Rating 4.5
( 84 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(58)

4 Star

(16)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

16 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

My #1 Favorite Book!

This book is my all-time favorite! This novel is about 4 siblings (Jane, Mark, Katherine, and Martha) who have immersed themselves during their summer vacation in the magical books written by E. Nesbit and begin yearning to go on their own magical adventures. That's ...
This book is my all-time favorite! This novel is about 4 siblings (Jane, Mark, Katherine, and Martha) who have immersed themselves during their summer vacation in the magical books written by E. Nesbit and begin yearning to go on their own magical adventures. That's when they find a strange coin that grants wishes: only that you have to wish for one thing twice. For example, if you want a pen, you must wish for 2. If you say, 'I want 1 pen' you will have 1/2 a pen. The coin leads the 4 kids on an adventure that even gains them an extended family. I liked this book because it made me think, 'Am I glad I have 2 terrific parents!' because the 4 children have a single mother. If you're a fan of fantasy and adventure books, I recommend Half Magic!

posted by Anonymous on March 31, 2005

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Wow.

There is no other word to descibe this book, it is thrilling for children of all ages. A great read.

posted by Anonymous on February 17, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 58 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2005

    My #1 Favorite Book!

    This book is my all-time favorite! This novel is about 4 siblings (Jane, Mark, Katherine, and Martha) who have immersed themselves during their summer vacation in the magical books written by E. Nesbit and begin yearning to go on their own magical adventures. That's when they find a strange coin that grants wishes: only that you have to wish for one thing twice. For example, if you want a pen, you must wish for 2. If you say, 'I want 1 pen' you will have 1/2 a pen. The coin leads the 4 kids on an adventure that even gains them an extended family. I liked this book because it made me think, 'Am I glad I have 2 terrific parents!' because the 4 children have a single mother. If you're a fan of fantasy and adventure books, I recommend Half Magic!

    16 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2012

    A very good book...

    I rather enjoyed this tale. Four children from long ago discover a magic coin that grants wishes halfway. The book tells of magic in our world in a way that makes you want to believe it. It's one of those nice, clean, unromantic books that are so hard to find. I would recommend it to anyone who can read fairly well.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2012

    Childhood memories

    I am 40 now. But i still have my copies of Half magic, and Knights castle. I read them to my daughter who is 7. We both enjoy them immensely. I have not read the others (our library did not have them) so i am looking forward to reading them together. It takes me back. Fun, adventure and family....

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2013

    Your mother

    OMG! I've read thousands of books but this is one that I remember well. I love the plot, characters, magic,(well half-magic), and adventure that keeps you reading. This is a great book and one that I would reccomend to anyone! :)

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2012

    Great

    Awsome

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 21, 2009

    A great book for 9-10 year olds!

    A great book! I read this book when I was a young girl (I was about 10 years old) and loved it! A group of siblings find a magic coin and realize it will grant them 'half' of what they wish for. They end up having some very exciting adventures traveling through time. What started out as a boring summer turns out to be the best summer ever for these brothers and sisters.

    My 11 year old daughter read this book when she was nine and also loved it. It is one of her all time favorite boks. So this book continues to be a favorite from one generation to another!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 28, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Awesome

    This book got me fascinated right away. Edward Eager is a great author and I can't wait to read more of his books.I give Half Magic 5 stars, and a 10/10 rating.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2004

    caroline eager

    I LOVED THIS BOOK! it wasn't until after i read it that i found out that he was my great uncle who died before i was born......but it's my favorite book in the world!!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 22, 2003

    Adventerous

    This Book is so-o-o-o-o-o-o-o-o-o-o-o-o-o-o-o-o-o-o-o-o-o-o-o-o-o-o-o-o-o-o-o-o-o Cool!!!! If your into things that are Magical Read this book.I loved this book so much I'm on the 5th book!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2003

    Splended !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    A Very good book! This SPLENDED book is about four children who find a coin on the side walk and make a wish. They soon find out that only half of the wish comes true, so they start wishing for twice as much as they wish for so the wish will come true. Of course the majic leads to bad things but they are always getting out of it. Could their last wish come true? Find out by reding this book.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2014

    My kids loved it!!

    This is one I'd the BEST books to read outloud to kids!! It's a tongue twister and chock full of fun for kids and adults a like

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2013

    Half magic

    Great book

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2013

    Great book!!

    For thoes of you who like Harry Potter this is your nekt book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2013

    Great book

    One of the best book i have ever read

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 10, 2013

    I loved this book when I was a child, and all of my friends reco

    I loved this book when I was a child, and all of my friends recommended it to me. Eager is imaginative and creative. I'm sure that children today will love this book too.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 3, 2012

    This book is one of the best Fantasy Fiction books of the world.

    This book is one of the best Fantasy Fiction books of the world. 

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2012

    Great Book!

    I love Edward Eager!!!

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2014

    Lish

    I first read this book in a kiddie lit. course in college in the 70's and I laughed til I cried. I had to read parts out loud to my roommate. I've never forgotten this book. Years later I read it to my son, who loved it too, and cracked up over the many funny parts like I did. Now, I have a granddaughter and will certainly share it with her. This is just such a cute book.....just such a novel idea.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2014

    Jared updated biio

    Mom hecate dad hades

    Powers-shawdow travel sketiton warriors hades richs power abunch of other death stuff magic shapeshift teleport

    Weapons-3foot long sword made from all rivers in the underwod and the stix a purple bow made from magic duel daggers made of pure death

    Personality-nive friendly outgoing caring but if you hurt friends u die

    Loks-very dark brown eyes black hair purple shirt black jeans and black ad purple shoes glasees bu where contacts most of time

    Favorites- colore black,candy gummi bears,food anything sour and black,person at camp a persom....why it matter??? Animal falcon-shark-mountain lion

    If anytging else lemme know res 30

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2014

    Anna

    Name- annabela. Nickname- anna. Looks- black/vrown hair with a small water head band. Eyecolor- seagreen. god parent- Posiden. Has a locket. Clothes- black t d jeans. Always bare footed. Cruah- yes.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 58 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3