Customer Reviews for

Half a Life

Average Rating 3.5
( 12 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(4)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 12 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted October 15, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Unimpressive...

    Read for my face to face book club. I found the story unengaging and the main character dislikable. My fellow clubbers concurred.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 6, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Welcome to the world of religion, caste system, and social structure

    Book gives you some insight on the government rulers of India/ maharajas, religion and the caste system of india as well as the social structure abroad. It is dramatic and thrilling it touches on the topics of interaacial relationships as well as race riots. The main protagonist of the story Willie Chandron finds some peace and comfort in his writing attempting to escape the life he inherited from birth and the life he somehow stumbled into.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 23, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Half a Life Review By Megan Hein

    Half a Life is a story about a man named Willie Chandran, who is looking for himself among the chaos in his life. The story begins with background information on his family and as you read you see small parts of the beginning throughout the book. His grandfather ran away, Willie chooses to do the same when life begins to get difficult.
    Willie attends a small university and is intrigued by a different, quiet young girl who does not say much in class. Willie then makes the mistake in pursuing this girl, and in turn she becomes very dependent as well as needy. Willie was born of high stature and stoops to a new low when marrying this woman.
    Willie then decides to run away from the life he has come to hate. He decides to go and study in London where his life seems to be all the more complicated. He meets a woman who is in love with his writing as well as in love with him. She gives him the opportunity to run away once again, Willie spends 18 years in a small colony in Africa. He is trying to define himself as well as his new lifestyle, but we watch him slowly whither away.
    Overall this novel was very interesting, the characters were very memorable with all the unique characteristics. This book did not contain much action, but the story line kept the reader interested. The book started out slowly and began to pick up speed as Willie began to move from place to place. This book is a great read for anyone looking for a deep reflection on their lives. Willie gives you a new prospective on life as well as allowing you to relate to what he has to say.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2003

    Yes, emotional side is lacking

    I got excited at first but it left me with kind of cold feeling of untold emotions that one usually goes through. Towards the end he basically chronicles what happened, though literally outstanding, he barely touches upon the volcanic emotional build up( may be that's what I wanted). The only out let of that frustration of Willie's life is channeled through sex but that barely touches reality. If the purpose of the book was to show the tension of being half/half and finding identity, and how Willie got lost in the process, half of the book is enough upto the London journey after that he could have summed up by saying "Willie yielded to Ana's 'secure love' and disappeared in oblivion trying to forget who he was; what he wanted was to get far away from himself."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2002

    Half A Life -- Half A Book

    For the first 130 pages I thought that I was so lucky to stumble upon this book.The main character, Willie, at that point, decided to give up the struggle for control of his life and become a dependent. I dragged myself through the subsequent 100 pages. "Half A Life" is truly half a book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 5, 2002

    Half A Tale

    Without a doubt, Naipaul is a master of the English language, and this novel's nimbly simple prose amply proves that. I think he's the most erudite and versatile writer living today and I'd place his work among the best lessons in prose writing one can receive. He richly deserved the Nobel; he should've been given it decades back. But Half A Life is a half-told tale, an attempt that falls short of earlier Naipaullian masterpieces such as "A House for Mr. Biswas" and "A Bend In The River." The book begins interestingly enough -- with Willy Chandran's father discussing his Brahminical upbringing and his Gandhian commitment to eradicating from his mind the artificial barriers of caste, the latter an attempt at which he proves only half successful. After a promising opening set in my native India the novel begins to sputter, however. Chandran goes to London and begins his half-life, during the course of which he begins his sexual journey. Paralleling this journey of the loins is a journey of the heart, but in adequately describing the latter is where Naipaul falls short. Too much sex, too little development of the emotions and the reasons behind his actions; a number of hints and implied developments, unlike in "Biswas," where so much is said and so much is clear from what's said and left unsaid. Willy strikes up friendships with similarly half-life characters, including a West Indian immigrant whose life just peters out into nothingness, and a British lawyer/writer whose girlfriend Willy beds though the lawyer helped Willy publish his book. Willy, whose one book of short stories collects little praise but earns him an admirer, moves to his admirer's country in Africa after marrying her. She's a Portuguese African and a hybrid like Willy. Willy spends 18 years with her in the unnamed country (he mentions this fact in one sentence), during which time he never fully comprehends his surroundings or his acquaintances, just as he never fully comprehends himself, and he increases the number and intensity of his sexual adventures as though by bedding various women of various races he could somehow find himself. I loved the physical details in the smooth narrative (I admit I couldn't put the book down), but when I finished the 224-page work, I exclaimed: "That's it?" I wanted more, so much more, of the emotional side of the half-life characters, a designation that applies to almost all those who people the book. The prose was so controlled as to be inhibited, and it was as though Naipaul began writing it enthusiastically, lost enthusiasm in the middle of the book, and tried to revive it toward the end, succeeding only half-way. "Half A Life" was a sample, not a full course. A little disappointing for this Naipaul fan, for Naipaul has proven again and again that he's a master at providing rich meals that satisfy, sadden, humor and leave one in awe of a writer so at one with his work.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 2, 2002

    I Waited Too Long

    I have spent half a life avoiding the writings of V.S. Naipul. This summer I tackled Half a Life expecting something difficult or obscure. Not at all. The author moves the reader along on an odyssey encompassing three continents, opening windows which could only be opened by an outsider, but never by a mere tourist. A great read which enlightened me without producing any hint of the didactic.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2001

    V.S. Naipul Scores Big With Fans and Critics

    V.S. Naipul, the English speaking author of many books, sums up a life of unparalled creativity and innovation with his autobiographical journey, Half a Life. Mr. Naipul takes us from his homeland of Trinidad to Oxford University and then back again, leaving the reader full of wonder, joy, and a sense of discovery. Your mind simply swirls when the young Naipul gets into one wacky adventure after another on the mean streets of London. The greatest thing of all is that the man lived to tell his tale. For that, his fans and critics alike are rewarded with this rich, mind-exploding masterpiece. Read Half a Life, then see if you're not also struck with wonder and amazement.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 5, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 12 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1