Customer Reviews for

Half Upon a Time

Average Rating 4.5
( 121 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(97)

4 Star

(12)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

14 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

Five and 1/2 stars!!!

I love fairy tales, and I constantly look for books that pull me into the story. This book did just that. Fairy tales are now being written only for the younger crowd. Only books about vampires and paranormal romance can be found in the teen section. I still read fairy ...
I love fairy tales, and I constantly look for books that pull me into the story. This book did just that. Fairy tales are now being written only for the younger crowd. Only books about vampires and paranormal romance can be found in the teen section. I still read fairy tales but since they are all written for a younger age group I have no challenge, and there are usually no surprises in store. This book, on the other hand, was well written and had such a suprising ending that it had me gasping. The story is still great for kids and has a true Disney spirit about it. For people who enjoyed Disney's princess masterpieces this book is sure to please. The humor adds life to the story and makes the characters more relatable. The story is very well thought out and exciting. I think that, even though girls will love this story most, boys might enjoy it because of the excitement and humor thrown in. I highly reccomend this book to any fairy tale reader! This book may become a classic right along with Disney's classic masterpieces! The only thing that parents may need to be aware of is the one misuse of God's name in vain and a bit of teen romance. I can't wait to read the second book which is coming out in September!

posted by pinkfairytale on May 16, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Very good book

I would recommend this book to girls ages 8 to 13. I think that it is a great book for girls interested in fairytales. I also think that it could be a little childish for some girls. I did not finish the book but I can not wait for the next one.

posted by 9126248 on March 15, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 122 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 7
  • Posted May 16, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Five and 1/2 stars!!!

    I love fairy tales, and I constantly look for books that pull me into the story. This book did just that. Fairy tales are now being written only for the younger crowd. Only books about vampires and paranormal romance can be found in the teen section. I still read fairy tales but since they are all written for a younger age group I have no challenge, and there are usually no surprises in store. This book, on the other hand, was well written and had such a suprising ending that it had me gasping. The story is still great for kids and has a true Disney spirit about it. For people who enjoyed Disney's princess masterpieces this book is sure to please. The humor adds life to the story and makes the characters more relatable. The story is very well thought out and exciting. I think that, even though girls will love this story most, boys might enjoy it because of the excitement and humor thrown in. I highly reccomend this book to any fairy tale reader! This book may become a classic right along with Disney's classic masterpieces! The only thing that parents may need to be aware of is the one misuse of God's name in vain and a bit of teen romance. I can't wait to read the second book which is coming out in September!

    14 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 20, 2011

    Awesome!!!

    I bought the book and when i finished it i was totally satisfied.It has suprising events and i would highly recommend it to fantasy readers

    11 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2012

    BEST BOOK EVER

    This book was one of the best books I've ever read. It's exciteing, and it feels like you're right beside them when you're reading this book.
    I recommend this book to anybody who loves adventure and fairy tale books

    10 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2012

    FANTASY POODLE

    Out of the MANY books i have read this is my favorite. Half upon a time is a whole new climb up the beanstalk. You are welcomed into a world where you see the best and the worst sides of your favorite fairy tale characters. This book shows the true meaning of all books: the journey you take through the pages.

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2012

    Kris10 Reviews

    This book... how do I put this... totally amazing with tons of twists. Plus for all those advanced readers out there ,even though this book is easy, it sure does know how to hook people. Like seriously just look at the front cover! I already bought this book and at first I thought what kind of junk did I buy? But i was sooooo wrong. Each page is like another dig just towards the treasure box. When you finish the book you have finally reached the treasure. Plus eavhage will probably make you laugh,cry,say aww,get angry or even make you smile. So just sayin... BUY THIS BOOK?
    ~Kris10 Reviews

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2012

    Very good book

    I would recommend this book to girls ages 8 to 13. I think that it is a great book for girls interested in fairytales. I also think that it could be a little childish for some girls. I did not finish the book but I can not wait for the next one.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2012

    Janurary 12, 2012 by Nicola Coca Cola!

    This book is sooooo good!!! I would recommend this book to anyone that loves books that have fairytales (espiacally books that have a bunch of fairytalesthat are mashed up together but I dont want to spoil! But i would totally recommend it!

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2012

    Fantastic

    Im only reading the sample of this book and I still am in love with this book the sample of this book is only 30 pages incase you want to know

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2012

    :) :o :D

    I love this story me and my brother loved it and when he was small he hated it so much he will do any thing just to get out of the class but now he lovez it so much i love it so much and i think my whole family lovez it i even hate the book thats at the store but its not that bad at all on here thatz weird that its better here but itz not better at the store now thatz weird so weird well u should get this book because it will get family together and know my brother is getting me mad right now so i dont think it will get family together and my brother was complaining about fixing his bed but really you should get this book because it will get family together well good luck reading it :D

    3 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2011

    CAn't wait for next one!

    Kinda epic, fairy tales aren't my thing, liked these.

    3 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2013

    Amazing!

    This series is one of my favorites. Totally suprising ( in a good way) and interesting. Great read!!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2013

    I have a little sister who is 11 and hated to read. I have alwa

    I have a little sister who is 11 and hated to read. I have always had a love for reading and wanted her to have one too, so I tried every book I could think of, but none of them sparked her interest. About a year ago, I was wandering around the store and found this book. I figured it couldn't hurt to try, especially since she likes to watch tv shows about fairy tales, like Once Upon A Time. To my surprise, she fell in love with this book series and I just ordered her Once Upon the End. I can't wait to see her face when she opens the package! I would recommend this book to anyone who has a child in their life who struggles with reading. The fast moving plots and familiar stories and characters help to keep the reader engaged. This book is also not just for kids, I am almost 19 and I love these books!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2013

    Not bad

    I bought the book and read it aloud to my kid brother. He liked it so much he stole it. I stole it back.
    Peope my family tend to do things like that.(usaly something by riordan, collins or james patterson)

    I truely enjoyed half upon a time. Jack the 11th is a conceited hillarious old man, jack the thirteenth is a reluctant, misguided, hero, punk princess is (or was) a sarcastic outsider from the land of planet Earth, prince philip is a prince(or in jack's opinion, a royal pain), and all the other characters aren't worth mentioning

    The twist at the end totally caught me off guard, o muh that i ad to put down the book and rethink what i just read. The twist... pretty gamechanging

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2012

    Jack and the beanstalk

    I love little kids books just because they tell you alot

    2 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 7, 2012

    This book was fantastick!!!!!!!

    I wish that the real world is like this book.
    I liked the part were jack snd may also phillip made a fantastick team when they were escaping the palas!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 11, 2012

    Go james riley

    I lllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllooooooooooooooooooooooooooooovvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvveeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2012

    I loved this book!

    Any one who likes fairy tale and adventure this is the book for you. Now you may look at this book and think " Oh great. Just what we need, another princess story. Yeah, yeah and they lived happily ever after, heard it all before. Fresh and funny Half Upon A Time is the perfect antidote to a sad day.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2012

    Awsome book

    This book was awsome

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2012

    Great

    I loved this book. I coud not put it down. Can not wait for 2end one!!!!!

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2012

    Three words

    Best book ever

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 122 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 7