Customer Reviews for

Halfway Hexed

Average Rating 4.5
( 62 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(33)

4 Star

(23)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Must Read

Though a relatively new witch twenty something Tammy Jo Trask is a veteran of war having battled an assortment of predatory paranormal and insane humans (see Barely Bewitched and Would-Be Witched), but this battle is different. The Duval, Texas townsfolk led by Bryn Ly...
Though a relatively new witch twenty something Tammy Jo Trask is a veteran of war having battled an assortment of predatory paranormal and insane humans (see Barely Bewitched and Would-Be Witched), but this battle is different. The Duval, Texas townsfolk led by Bryn Lyons' former girlfriend want to sweep away all the witches.

Tammy Jo is caught in the middle as she must decide what to do about Bryn. She knows what he wants to know. Tammy Jo has concealed what happened to his mother ages ago. However, Tammy Jo hesitates revealing what she knows to her beloved as she considers her family warning her to have nothing to do with Bryn. If each risks trusting the other's love, their combined magical power turns stratospheric.

The latest Southern Witch Texas fantasy is faster than the speed of light and loaded with an incredible amount of action that the audience has no chance to breathe and read at the same. The story line moves forward on the romantic subplot while a Texas two step witch hunt is done in earnest.

Harriet Klausner

posted by harstan on January 1, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

More fun with the Southern Witches series!

The third installment in the Southern Witches series brings us back to Duvall, Texas with Tammy Jo Trask, pastry chef and late-blooming witch. Still recovering from battling the fairies and werewolves, she is trying to focus on her 'normal' life and her career while avo...
The third installment in the Southern Witches series brings us back to Duvall, Texas with Tammy Jo Trask, pastry chef and late-blooming witch. Still recovering from battling the fairies and werewolves, she is trying to focus on her 'normal' life and her career while avoiding the oh-so-sexy Bryn Lyons. Of course, ever since her magic started emerging, things rarely turn out like Tammy Jo plans.

Things in Duvall are a bit crazy. It seems that some of the townspeople that Tammy Jo helped during the battle are on a crusade to rid the town of witchcraft. On top of that, WAM is coming to investigate and dole out punishment to both Tammy Jo and Bryn. And, she finally hears of her mother & Aunt Mel: her mother is in fairy and Aunt Mel is trapped in England without her powers. So, who else can she turn to besides the incredibly handsome Bryn?

In Halfway Hexed (A Southern Witch Novel), Frost brings us deeper into Tammy Jo's relationship with Bryn. Tammy Jo really starts to acknowledge the depths of her feelings for Bryn--despite the family prophecy meant to keep them apart. With no one else she can depend on, she really begins to wonder just how bad can the prophecy be?

I enjoyed this installment, although the ending left me wondering if there will be another. While some things are resolved to a point where the story could end, there are still other things left unresolved. Nothing on Kimberly Frost's website gives the indication of future books. None the less, I have enjoyed reading the Southern Witches series and would recommend it to fans of paranormal fiction.

posted by reader_barbara on March 13, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 62 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted January 1, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Must Read

    Though a relatively new witch twenty something Tammy Jo Trask is a veteran of war having battled an assortment of predatory paranormal and insane humans (see Barely Bewitched and Would-Be Witched), but this battle is different. The Duval, Texas townsfolk led by Bryn Lyons' former girlfriend want to sweep away all the witches.

    Tammy Jo is caught in the middle as she must decide what to do about Bryn. She knows what he wants to know. Tammy Jo has concealed what happened to his mother ages ago. However, Tammy Jo hesitates revealing what she knows to her beloved as she considers her family warning her to have nothing to do with Bryn. If each risks trusting the other's love, their combined magical power turns stratospheric.

    The latest Southern Witch Texas fantasy is faster than the speed of light and loaded with an incredible amount of action that the audience has no chance to breathe and read at the same. The story line moves forward on the romantic subplot while a Texas two step witch hunt is done in earnest.

    Harriet Klausner

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 13, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    More fun with the Southern Witches series!

    The third installment in the Southern Witches series brings us back to Duvall, Texas with Tammy Jo Trask, pastry chef and late-blooming witch. Still recovering from battling the fairies and werewolves, she is trying to focus on her 'normal' life and her career while avoiding the oh-so-sexy Bryn Lyons. Of course, ever since her magic started emerging, things rarely turn out like Tammy Jo plans.

    Things in Duvall are a bit crazy. It seems that some of the townspeople that Tammy Jo helped during the battle are on a crusade to rid the town of witchcraft. On top of that, WAM is coming to investigate and dole out punishment to both Tammy Jo and Bryn. And, she finally hears of her mother & Aunt Mel: her mother is in fairy and Aunt Mel is trapped in England without her powers. So, who else can she turn to besides the incredibly handsome Bryn?

    In Halfway Hexed (A Southern Witch Novel), Frost brings us deeper into Tammy Jo's relationship with Bryn. Tammy Jo really starts to acknowledge the depths of her feelings for Bryn--despite the family prophecy meant to keep them apart. With no one else she can depend on, she really begins to wonder just how bad can the prophecy be?

    I enjoyed this installment, although the ending left me wondering if there will be another. While some things are resolved to a point where the story could end, there are still other things left unresolved. Nothing on Kimberly Frost's website gives the indication of future books. None the less, I have enjoyed reading the Southern Witches series and would recommend it to fans of paranormal fiction.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 10, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Spunky Witch

    I really enjoyed this three book series! Combine a southern town, spunky chef/witch,and one hot warlock and you get the Southern Witch Series. I think my favorite part was the hero's devotion to Tammy Jo even though she fought him the entire way. I'll be reading these books again in the future.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2014

    CAMPFIRE

    Where we have partys

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2014

    Rayn

    Im gtb. Bye XD

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2014

    Tallia

    Walks in holding her todlers

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2014

    Jak

    Im here

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2014

    Jiselle

    Walks in quietly

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2014

    LAKE

    For roys training.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 6, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    This is the third book in the Souther Witch Series. It's total h

    This is the third book in the Souther Witch Series. It's total hokey and somewhat reminiscent of the early Sookie Stakehouse books where weird is just plain normal in this small Souther town of Duval Texas. It's a fun read where Tammy Jo Trask gets in all kinds of trouble with her witch powers that sometimes work and sometimes don't, not to mention a love triangle between Tammy's super cute ex husband who happens to be the town sheriff and Bryn Lyons the sexy, dark warlock who is on the list of Tammy's magical family's 'off limits' list. Well, you know what they say, when someone says you can't have something, you want it all the more.
    In this third book, Tammy is up to her old tricks, trying to save the town from the wizard conclave who wants to destroy it and keeping Bryn Lyons at arms reach while trying not to get kidnapped by the towns religious group of women who think she is a satanist. It's quirky, funny, sexy and very well written. The first two books are called Would Be Witch and Barely Bewitched. I highly recommend this series to anyone who likes these quirky fun books with lots of witches, warlocks and other supernatural creatures.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2012

    Okay

    While i did enjoy the characters, after a while the constant trouble becomes unbelievable.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2012

    Great series.

    I love this author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2012

    A MUST READ

    THis is another great book in the Southern Witch series, it was loads of fun and the excitement hardly ever quites, it will keep you guessing till the end!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 19, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    I LOVE THE "SOUTHERN WITCH SERIES"!!!!!!!!!!

    THIS IS AN FANTASTIC SERIES!!! I LOVE PARANORMAL FANTASY, ROMANCE & COMEDY AND THE SOUTHERN WITCH SERIES IS ALL OF THE ABOVE, WHICH PUTS IT AT THE TOP OF MY LIST. TAMMY JO IS HILARIOUS AND SHE CAN'T SEEM TO STAY OUT OF TROUBLE. I ABSOLUTELY LOVE ALL THREE BOOKS IN THE SOUTHERN WITCH SERIES AND I WOULD DEFINITELY RECOMMEND TO ALL WHO ENJOY MAGIC AND ROMANCE WITH A SIDE OF COMEDY. I CAN'T WAIT FOR THE NEXT ONE!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 21, 2011

    This is a great series!

    I could not put the first 2 books down until I was done and was not at all disappointed with this one. The characters are easy to fall in love with and I will for sure read again if I need a good laugh with just the right amount of romance. The only downside I had, and maybe my Ebook just got messed up when downloading, is half way through the book I started getting question marks at the beginning of hundereds of sentences(it was a little disctracting, especially since I paid full price for the book) Still it is a must read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 11, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Witches and Romance with sexy, southern charm

    Tammy Jo Trask has gotten herself into trouble again. It's not really her fault that she and the darkly handsome wizard Bryn Lyons had to whip up some magic between them recently to save her hometown of Duvall, Texas. Unfortunately, Bryn is forbidden to mix his magic with hers until she's properly trained. So leaders of WAM, the World Association of Magic, are on their way to investigate the two. ....... Bryn works with her on evasion tactics to dodge WAM's questions, but he's a slick attorney. She's just a small-town pastry chef, with magical powers that are a bit out of kilter and that sometimes go awry. She finds her best defense is honesty........In the mean time, a few over-zealous locals think Tammy's magic must come from Satan. That's just silly, of course, but they intervene, thinking to drive the Bad Guy from her. Their shenanigans are a constant source of irritation when Tammy's got better things to tend to........On top of everything else, someone - she doesn't know who - mailed her a strange piece of jewelry. She's got some connection to it though, because visions from it haunt her. There's a young woman Tammy must save from. well, she's not sure what, but definitely something........So there's plenty going on in her life by the time the three top-level representatives of WAM show up. The entourage consists of its powerful president Barrett, the impressive and deadly operative Winterhawk, and the perfectly coifed and manicured Gwen. Hmph. Who better to interrogate Bryn than his lovely ex-girlfriend?.......But as usual in Tammy Jo's world, things get out of hand. Before you know it, some really strange and unnatural disasters ensue. Her best friend Mercutio, who's a good-sized ocelot kitty, tries to keep her out of trouble, but it's no small task. Thank goodness, Bryn's around to help. The problem is that a long-time family taboo between the two witch families makes Bryn a no-no for Tammy. But a girl has to ask herself the all-important question-when do a man's actions cross that fine line between manipulation to bind her to him, and a willingness to sacrifice all for the woman he loves?.......This story is action-packed with twists and turns guaranteed to have readers on the edge until they've turned the last satisfying page. Kimberly Frost has once again whipped up a tale filled with action, surprises, and an excellent romance. Enjoy!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 62 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4