Customer Reviews for

Halfway to the Grave (Night Huntress Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 1720 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(1252)

4 Star

(309)

3 Star

(94)

2 Star

(25)

1 Star

(40)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

33 out of 34 people found this review helpful.

I WAS SO skeptical..... I'm GLAD I tried this series!!

I'm so glad I gave in and read this! I consider myself very picky about my paranormal romance books. Examples of my favorites are, "Twilight" series (OF COURSE), JR. Ward's "Black Dagger Brotherhood" and "The Sookie Stackhouse" series. That should give you an idea about...
I'm so glad I gave in and read this! I consider myself very picky about my paranormal romance books. Examples of my favorites are, "Twilight" series (OF COURSE), JR. Ward's "Black Dagger Brotherhood" and "The Sookie Stackhouse" series. That should give you an idea about my taste in books. I've "started" approximately 3 other paranormal romance series only to lose interest for one reason or another. I'm on book #2 in this series and so far I love it! I gotta say, for the readers that are too shy to ask, there aren't as many sex scenes (erotica is a guilty pleasure of mine! Hence the lack of that fifth star) & they aren't as explicit as, for example, Lora Leigh's Breed series, but the connection/attraction/romance between Cat and Bones is enough to give me butterflies at times. Definitely touching enough to keep me reading!! I'm VERY happy with this series & I hope beyond hope that Jeaniene Frost keeps up the wonderful pace and relationship with Cat and Bones. I'm a sucker for a happy ending. This series in ongoing too, so that's a plus!! Books to look forward to. :~) P.S To be 100% FAIR, if I wasn't such a pervert (LOL!!) I would give this book 5 stars!!

posted by want-me-a-vampire on October 7, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

HALFWAY TO THE GRAVE

I ENJOYED READING THIS BUT NOT QUITE AS GOOD AS KIM HARRISON

posted by 253267 on February 16, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 1252 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 63
  • Posted September 30, 2010

    I thought I was over Vampire Novels.. Until I read this incredible Book!!

    There are no Spoilers in this review**

    I thought I was over Vampire Novels, I receently read Dark Lover by J.R. Ward- and I must say, I felt it didn't really impress me. So, I ventured into this little gem of a book-and now I am hooked :) The book has two amazing main characters! They are the kind of characters that you can see when you are reading, and can undoubtfuly relate to. Cat is a strong female character, she is a half-vampire and is 22 years old. Bones the male character and he is a vampire, who has an awesome accent! This book is funny and sexy and the more provocative scenes are so tastefully done. The action scenes are incredible. The author writes them, and when you read it, you feel like your right there with them in the middle of the battle. I reccomend this book highly to anyone who is a fan of great writing and a action packed plot!! Happy Reading!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 10, 2010

    Loved It!

    So I had already read all of the Sookie Stackhouse books, the BDB books, some Meredith gentry, and I was getting burned out on the vampires at this point. I came across this book after having already searched B&N a million times for another good series! I read the excerpt and thought I'd give it a try. At first it started off a little slow and I thought I might have wasted my money but it just all of a sudden picked up nicely! Loved the half-dead/vicious-female concept, romance was great, action and humor were great! I rushed to get the second one as soon as the bookstore opened! Must read!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 14, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    One of my Favorite Series of All Time

    I absolutely love this series by Jeanine Frost. I would recommend each and every book in the series and I absolutely love the characters she creates and the strong, various personalites they have. I love the plot and just when you think things can't get any hotter between the 2 main characters, she always surprises you and things absolutely get hotter! Anyone interested in vampire romance novels will enjoy this series. Once you start the first book you will be hooked!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    A good Bite!

    Loved this book as well as rest series. Jeaniene's style of writing is easy to follow and her plot flows effortlessly. Cat and Bones are awesome. The tension between them changes as their relationship evolves. Storyline is different than other vamp books as well.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 8, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Great Read

    I wasn't sure what to expect when I saw the cover of the book but I read the first chapter online and was captivated. I bought all 4 books at once and read them in about a week. I couldn't put them down. I cannot wait until the next book!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 30, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Awesome series!!! A must read for anyone that loves paranormal/romance

    "Half-vampire Catherine Crawfield is going after the undead with a vengeance, hoping that one of these deadbeats is her father - the one responsible for ruining her mother's life. Then she's captured by Bones, a vampire bounty hunter, and is forced into an unlikely partnership.

    In exchange for help finding her father, Cat agrees to train with the sexy night stalker until her battle reflexes are as sharp as his fangs. She's amazed she doesn't end up as his dinner - are there actually good vampires? Pretty soon Bones will have her convinced that being half-dead doesn't have to be all bad. But before she can enjoy her status as kick-ass demon hunter, Cat and Bones are pursued by a group of killers. Now Cat will have to choose a side . and Bones is turning out to be as tempting as any man with a heartbeat"

    this series is awesome it only gets better and better as you go...as soon as i was done with this one i had to buy the next book till i read all for of them! each book gets better and better. GREAT SERIES!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 16, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    AMAZING!!!

    i wasn't sure how much i'd like this book since i've heard it has a lot of similarities to Buffy. well, it does have a few similarities, but if you ask me the origianality of this story distiguishes it from any comparisons to any other vamp series. the death scenes are very violent, though and the relationship between Bones and Cat will keep readers anxious to finish, but not willing to stop reading.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 14, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    AWSOOOOOMMMMEEEEE!!!!!!!!

    I fell inlove with this book from the beginning!! it was instant love at first sight kind of thing. I havnt felt this intruiged by a book since i dont even know. this was an escape to romantic hot erotic sex land! (pun intended) and the characters!! i soo loved Bones. and Cat gave me this tough girl thing kind of Like Anita Blake, but i like Cat better, or as Bones calls her "kitten" the rest of the series is excellent, i like the fact that they dont leave you with clif hangers at the end. and the end is summed up and leaves you wanting more, yet satisfied and not wanting to haunt the author for more info of the next book!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 26, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Loved it!

    I love this book and it is the perfect entrance to a great series. I Love Cat and Bones and can't get enough. I would recommend this book to anyone who likes to read about the supernatural world added with a little romance.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2009

    AMAZING!

    I absolutely love this series! I was hooked immediately, so much so that halfway through the first book I went out and bought the next three and read them all in three days. I could not put them down even though I didn't do much sleeping! Cat rocks and Bones is every womans dream man! I recommend this series to anyone who likes a REALLY good vampire romance with plenty of action. You will not be disappointed!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2009

    If you don't read it, you are missing out

    I picked up this book last Friday and have since finished the entire series. I was instantly drawn into this little world and couldn't put the books down. Highly, highly recommeneded! Jeaniene makes you feel like you are right there in the action and the characters are wonderful. Bones is incredibly yummy and will leave you wanting more and more......

    My only regret is that I read the series too quickly. I can't wait for the next book in the series and more work from Jeaniene. I am a true fan!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 28, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Awsome book! Better series!!!

    This book was sooo good! Bones and Cat are written to be so real! I could'nt get enough of them and went out and bought the next one and then the next one and can't wait for the 4th book to come out!

    Those who have enjoyed Charlaine Harris, Kim Harrison, and Kelley Armstrong will love this series!! There is romance, action, and such a vivid world! What others have said is true, that things are explained with dialog so it is better than just being told what is happening! Great series! Definately one of my favs! Can't believe it took me so long to find this author, but I am so glad I did!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 2, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Wow! Captivating from the 1st page......

    I couldn't put down this book. And now I'm addicted to the series. It was so refreshing to pick up a book with adult situations and real juicy love scenes. The characters are strong and appealing. I had a real good time reading this and only wish there was more, more, more....Cat is a great strong female lead. And Bones is just HOT! Not for the innocent minded. If you are looking for from sauce, this is your tobasco baby. Nice and spicy.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 27, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Vampire thriller/romance

    I read this book in 2 days. It was hard to put down. I kept my eyes glued to the pages. It gave enough detail to actually visualize everyone and everything going on. Great sex scene without being raunchy or mushy. Definetly an adult book!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    Must read!!!!

    This book was absolutely amazing! I read it faster than I had any other book (except maybe Twilight). It was a page turner and the characters were hilarious. It is definitely a book to reread again and again. Can't wait to read the second one, and definitely can't wait for the third one to come out! Jeaniene Frost is a fantastic writer and knows how to captivate readers with her feisty characters. Way to go!!! Everyone must read the Night Huntress series!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 10, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Loved It!

    This is a GREAT book! I fell in love with this book during the first few chapters! It is a quick read and you'll be as sorry to see the last page, as I was. I think Jeaniene Frost broke out of the "paranormal box" so to speak buy writing a book that has an original concept, and her characters will give you everything your looking for in a good book. Along with the action and romance her character Catherine Crawfield will have you laughing hysterically. Well Done!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 2, 2014

    Half vampire with a death wish?  Check.  Full vampire psychopath

    Half vampire with a death wish?  Check.  Full vampire psychopath? Check.  Lots of steamy sex?  Check!  Lots of fun and madness and mayhem?  Check!  This book has it all!  From beginning to end, excitement.  Couldn't put it down until I was done.  Absolutely loved the characters and couldn't wait to grab the next book and keep reading!  I very much recommend this book and the rest of the series!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 26, 2014

    I absolutely loved this book. I felt almost compelled to keep re

    I absolutely loved this book. I felt almost compelled to keep reading it and I even woke up early before a 6am shift at work to read. I absolutely loved Cat and Bones, and I loved how their characters developed throughout the book. I was very thankful for Cat really thinking about her feelings and not having insta-love like so many books have, it was refreshing. I absolutely cannot believe how this book ends. It hurt so bad and I had the worst book hangover afterwards, but it was so worth it. I will definitely be continuing on with this series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2014

    Urm

    Ya

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2014

    Skylars Bio

    Gender: Female

    Age: 15
    Parents: Apollo and/or Demeter
    Weapon: sometimes bow and sometimes two knives/ daggers
    Hight and weight: 5'8 and 76 pounds is super skinny
    Personality: adveturous, out going, feirce and friendly and
    super pretty and luvs nature and being in he woods fast flexible and stelth and sneaky
    Power: shape shift into animals
    Looks: golden hair with a small braid at side of head and into a high pony tail, feirce blue eyes little freckles
    Clohing: denim shorts, black leggings and white tank top w. sometimes a black hoddie. And light brown combat boots( when she is in woods she has white tight elbow sleeved shirt and denim skinny jeans and flower anklet is barefoot
    Crush:has a crush n soomebody but i ant tellen
    Realationship: Single but looking
    Other of missing anythn plz tell me any questions plz fell free to ask away anything
    ~Skylar

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 1252 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 63