BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Hallowed (Unearthly Series #2)

Average Rating 4.5
( 284 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(207)

4 Star

(55)

3 Star

(17)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

15 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

BookWhisperer Reviews Hallowed by Cynthia Hand

Hallowed is a splendid continuation of the Unearthly series. Clara and her family continue on this magical and powerful journey that still leaves the future unclear. Overall Hallowed is an emotionally charged book that will wrap up loose end from Clara's failed purpose,...
Hallowed is a splendid continuation of the Unearthly series. Clara and her family continue on this magical and powerful journey that still leaves the future unclear. Overall Hallowed is an emotionally charged book that will wrap up loose end from Clara's failed purpose, and open the door to what the future holds for this young girl. Tucker and Christian will continue to be a huge obstacle in this second book. As the relationship between Clara and Tucker grows; Clara finds herself facing the most difficult decision yet. Meanawhile, Christian has been a distraction in the background, but this book steps up his character. Christian is faced with the decision to allow life to pass him by, or reach out and hang on to what fate destined as his. The emotional rollercoaster that entails is eventful and intense to say the least. Although, with a divided fan base of Team Christian's or Team Tucker's mixed emotions will result from this drastic conclusion. This series is rated 8-10 grade, and I concur that this is would be a wonderful read for the younger paranormal lovers; it is clean, innocent, and addictive. With that said I must also point out that I am not of the younger generations, and this is one of my favorite series, so it is one that all ages can love. This is a BookWhisperer Recommendation!!!!!

posted by Book_WhispererJO on October 18, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Lovely Follow Up Story

This follow up to Unearthly was just as lovely as the first. As much of this book has to do with Clara being torn in both directions of the love triangle, it can seem like it would be any other YA novel out there. The difference here, both of the guys involved are reall...
This follow up to Unearthly was just as lovely as the first. As much of this book has to do with Clara being torn in both directions of the love triangle, it can seem like it would be any other YA novel out there. The difference here, both of the guys involved are really, really great in so many ways that it becomes heart wrenching. It’s easy to see why Clara is having trouble deciding what to do and who to open herself up to. Adding in the fact that she knows that someone she loves is going to die soon and it complicates her world even more.

Revelations are made that change everything and the future Clara is working towards. While there are many things that seem to be destined, there are other things that just throw a wrench in her world. The story is intriguing and often touching, it is certainly one of the best angel centered YA stories I’ve read.

Reviewed by Jessica for Book Sake.

posted by BookSakeBlogspot on January 20, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 285 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 15
  • Posted October 18, 2011

    BookWhisperer Reviews Hallowed by Cynthia Hand

    Hallowed is a splendid continuation of the Unearthly series. Clara and her family continue on this magical and powerful journey that still leaves the future unclear. Overall Hallowed is an emotionally charged book that will wrap up loose end from Clara's failed purpose, and open the door to what the future holds for this young girl. Tucker and Christian will continue to be a huge obstacle in this second book. As the relationship between Clara and Tucker grows; Clara finds herself facing the most difficult decision yet. Meanawhile, Christian has been a distraction in the background, but this book steps up his character. Christian is faced with the decision to allow life to pass him by, or reach out and hang on to what fate destined as his. The emotional rollercoaster that entails is eventful and intense to say the least. Although, with a divided fan base of Team Christian's or Team Tucker's mixed emotions will result from this drastic conclusion. This series is rated 8-10 grade, and I concur that this is would be a wonderful read for the younger paranormal lovers; it is clean, innocent, and addictive. With that said I must also point out that I am not of the younger generations, and this is one of my favorite series, so it is one that all ages can love. This is a BookWhisperer Recommendation!!!!!

    15 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 21, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    Hallowed

    Awesome Weekend Read. Loved it from beginning to end

    12 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2011

    OMG!!!!!

    This book was like freakin amazing! At first I thought it was going to be one of those books who practically have the same plot, but this one was totally different. I felt like I was actually in the book feeling exactly what the chatacters felt. I couldn't put the book down. Cynthia Hand is an author who twisted the whole plot in a way I never imagined, I was speechless! If you really love books I strongly recommend you pick this one, trust me it turns non readers into readers

    10 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 23, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    a wonderful character driven paranormal romance

    Hallowed book two in the Unearthly trilogy, took me on an emotional ride and left me wanting more. This novel picks up a few months after Unearthly ends. Hand’s writing style is unique and her character driven series is well on its way to becoming one of my favorites. As the middle novel we do not see a lot of movement but we learn more about angels, black wings and Clara’s lineage. Clara struggles with a new vision and what it might mean. She realizes that someone close to her is going to die and with Christian's help she slowly puts the pieces together. The answer devastates her and she looks for a way to change the outcome. Her raw emotions had me reaching for the tissues. She is still concerned about her purpose and confused by her feelings for Tucker and Christian. The love triangle continues, but Hand has managed to make it difficult to really hate either guy. In this novel, Clara gets to know Christian more and we see her try to come to terms with her feelings for him. He is significant and she feels a strong bond and perhaps she even loves him. She is so in love with Tucker and doesn't want to give him up. Yet at the same time she begins to worry about their differences and the danger she puts him in. Can’t the three of them live happily ever after? Maybe Christian could patiently wait till Tucker’s life ends? (Tucker’s human after all.) We do see character growth in Clara as she deals with loss, and a realization that sometimes; loving someone isn't enough. Jeffrey struggles with issues and is much darker in this novel. He distances himself from Clara and her Mom. It isn't until the end, that we begin to understand his struggle. We meet other half-bloods and new characters that I found delightful. Angela forms an Angel club and the four of them share information. While we get to know Angela a little better, I still have many questions. I also want to know more about her mystery man. I am also very curious about the black wing. Hand shares some of his back story and I am so intrigued. I am anxious to see how his role develops in the plot. Hand’s wonderful prose and her first person narrative sent me on an emotional roller coaster and I frequently had to pause and savor her words. She allows things to unfold realistically and for me; it made it all the more poignant. While I have never been a fan of love triangles, I think Hand may have just written the most beautiful one. The Unearthly trilogy is very character driven, and to me they are absolutely beautiful. I applaud Hand and her ability to capture my emotions and hold them hostage. I became Clara in Hallowed; I felt her emotions, her fear, her love and her heartache. I highly recommend this novel to fans of paranormal romances.

    7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2011

    A.M.A.Z.I.N.G.

    I was hesitant about this book at first but once I got into it I couldn't stop. I had about 200 pages left when I went to bed and finished Unearthly at 2:00AM

    5 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2012

    Angel roller coaster ride, with some to-die-for romance and steamy developmnts

    So, this book is seriously the great. In the beginning, I was a little bit worried that it would not live up to its original novel. The first quarter was a teensy bit...I hate to say it...cheesy; jut rather cliched and unoriginal. I was consterned particularly because of the absense of Tucker.
    Then it got good. The romance between Tuck and Clara was indubitable and extremely... hot, for lack of a better word. The emerging romance between Christian and Clara left me thinking.
    The ending tore my heart out. When she cried out to Billy in desperation after It occurred ( trying not to divulge plot here, people), I pictured myself doing it. The way it ended with C and Tuck reminded me why I fell in love with Tucks character originally. But then, in my heart of hearts, i knew she and Christian belonged together.
    P.S. you're in for an angel roller coaster ride. Don't know about you fellow fans of Unearthly; but i'm switching my loyalties from Tuck to Christian!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2011

    Ughh

    I can't wait until this book comes out, but I guess I have too:(. I fell in love with Unearthly. At first I was kind of skeptical about it but it didn't take long for me get into the story. I have high expectations for this book. I don't think I'm going to be disappointed.

    3 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2011

    Omg!!!

    I had no idea there wld b anothr!!!!! Hurry up n up n come out!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    3 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2012

    BEST BOOK EVER

    This was a truly amazing book. If there was any book that I could make into a movie so I could watch it everyday, it would be this one. Hallowed was not like your typical boring, not so interesting sequel. If anything, it was better than the first.

    Clara Gardner is an angel-blood. An angel-blood with secrets to keep and secrets to share. But most importantly, secrets to unfold. Her mother has been keeping secrets from her. But she is not the only one. These dyays, it feels like everybody she knows is keeping something from her. Even her brother.

    And do not think Samyeeza has disappeared from Clara's life. There is a lot more to him then meets the eye. This book really tied up many ends, but also left me hanging and wanting to know more.

    Angela keeps discovering things and keeps sharing. This book brought information from diverse, but real sources and fit it all together.

    Tucker. Oh Tucker. You cannot but feel bad for him. He is head over heals for Clara, but still can never fully understand her life.

    And now Christian. He is so beautiful in his own ways. He is kind and true to himself. He gives himself less credit than he deserves. And he loves Clara. But Clara is with Tucker and Tucker is jealous of Christian because Christian loves Clara and Clara is confused. This book is extremely gripping and I could not put it down for a second.

    This book had everything a story needs and more. It was quality work. It had romance (a love-triangle that kept me intrigued), action, emotion, mystery and something I cannot describe with one word. It was something to do with feeling everything the book wanted you to feel: joy, sadness, pity, fear, laughter. And it does not end at that. This book was fantastic. Nothing is like it. Purely original. Purely amazing. I cannot wait for the third book to come out! Read this book. It is definetly worth it.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 6, 2012

    Wonderful!!

    I loved this book. To me it was better than book one. This book was much more heartbreaking and serious. You may even switch teams if you had picked one of the guys from Unearthly. It will be a long wait for book 3! Recommend these to everyone!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2012

    Perfect second book, can't wait for book three?

    A real and honest look into the emotions of Claire the teenage angle-blood. This book made me cry. I really wanted to root for team Tucker, but found myself wrapped up in the possibility of Christain! I hope there's a book three I'm dying to know what happens in college. Go team Christain !

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 6, 2012

    Yes!

    Very thought provoking book focused on the ways our choices impact not only ourselves but all those around us. Awesome for a discussion starter with your teens. The characters in this trilogy grip you quickly and tend to stay on your mind long after you close the book. I can't wait for book three!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 3, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    It's hard to express and put into words how I feel after reading

    It's hard to express and put into words how I feel after reading this book. With Unearthly being an intriguing and captivating start to this series, Hallowed has definitely kicked it up a notch and taken me along on an emotional journey I won't soon forget. That's not always the case when you have such an amazing start to a series like that. Sometimes when you start off that high you can't help but worry that the only place left to go next is down. Well, I hope you're not afraid of heights...

    You know how it is in most "love triangle" types of series, how there always seems to be a real cut and dry for everyone. It's either Team BookBoyA or Team BookBoyB and you can usually find some really good solid arguments and evidence to back you up against the opposing guy. I can't do that with Christian and Tucker. They are both agonizingly good guys. I can't say a single negative thing about either of them they are book boyfriend perfection. Both! I mean for once I can actually understand what it's like for someone like Clara to be so torn about her feelings. I get it. I'm not screaming at the book trying to tell her what I think she should do. Or throwing my hands in the air and scoffing in disgust if something even the slightest bit romantic should happen with the guy who's team I'm not backing. Because by the end of the book, our minds are in sync. We both know who she needs to choose. You can't help but love the characters in this book. All of them, even the new ones. Even through all the twists and turns that this book brings. As you learn more about everyone and secrets are revealed. Things get darker for some and others surprise you. There's still a love there for them.

    I probably went through about half a box of tissues with this book. I'm so not joking. I was a total wreck. I love these types of book so much though. I love being so involved and swept away by a story that it can evoke that kind of emotion from me whether it be joy and excitement or even sadness and heartache. These are the kinds of stories that I can read again and again, and I can guarantee you that it will produce the same results from me each time. Hallowed has erased any doubt that these last two books in the series won't be able to hold up to Unearthly. It has me excited to crack open Boundless and see where Cynthia Hand leads me on this journey's end. I'll be sad to see it go, but happier than I was before it began.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 30, 2012

    Loved it!

    I absolutely loved this book. I couldn't put it down.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 17, 2012

    I'm glad I chose this book for my first audiobook because if it

    I'm glad I chose this book for my first audiobook because if it had been something boring, I may have tuned out a bit. But, as it stands, that was not the case with Hallowed.

    From the very beginning I was enraptured with the story. Clara was a bit different in Hallowed than she was in Unearthly. I see a lot more growth in her in this book, especially at the end.

    Clara goes through SO much in this story and I felt horrible for her. But, there were some redeeming moments, as well. Those made me feel like the was a light at the end of, poor, Clara's maudlin tunnel.

    One of the other differences in Hallowed was that there was a lot less Tucker and a lot more Christian. And, while, being--initially--Team Tucker, this bothered me a bit, by the end I felt the "Team" lines blurring. And, sadly, it wasn't really Tucker's fault. We just get to know Christian a little bit better. And, honestly, I love that Ms. Hand did this. I feel like with most love-triangles that both pursuers don't get their fair-share of time. It's usually pretty much stacked in one's favor from the beginning.

    But, because of all this, I now find myself extrememly anxious for the next book in this series. In fact, I may go crazy waiting.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2012

    Really good

    I loved it!!!! One of my favorite books ever!! Cant wait for the third one!!

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2012

    Awesomeee

    I can't wait for the third book! It's sopposed to come out in the beginning of next year! I love this series so much! GO TUCK!!!!

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2012

    TEAM TUCKER ALL THE WAY!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Omigod so everyone whoread this book said tat it was crazy good. I read the first book and loved it a lot. And I haven't gotten the chance to read the second AND I just fugured out there is going to be another book after this one.
    After how things went in the first book I am totally team Tuck but some other people are saying that this book made them switch teams. I don't want to switch teams. I love tucker and will never switch to the darkside!!!!!

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2012

    Awesome

    This book and the first was superb! Plzzz ms. Hand if ure reading this make another book to add to the series. It was too good to end!!!!!!!!

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 24, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Mesmerizing!

    Mesmerizing right down to the very last page, HALLOWED will leave you begging for more. UNEARTHLY was one of my favorite reads in 2011 and I was eagerly awaiting the next installment to uncover all the mysteries surrounding Clara and her purpose. This book did not disappoint!

    In this installment we get bits and pieces of the significance of Clara's purpose while also discovering more about her kind. This book just so happened to be a tear jerker for me which was so unexpected. I had no idea how wrapped up I was with these characters and their lives. Cynthia Hand out did herself in this installment. I can't get enough of these characters!

    Some things unfolded as I expected and some not so much. Let's just say I was particularly surprised with some of the revealed secrets throughout this book. The ending of this book wrapped things up nicely but leaves readers excited about what's to come in the next chapter in this series. I can't wait to delve back into their world!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 285 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 15