Customer Reviews for

Halloween

Average Rating 3.5
( 24 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(11)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2013

    ?

    For some reason it gave me to rule in amber

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 13, 2010

    Awesome!

    Enjoyable for kids and adults. My kids just love this book and so do I....the illustrations are great!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2009

    Hated the way the story read with Seinfeld's voice narrating, laughter in the back was suppose to simulate his stand up routine not good for the story.

    I don't recommend this books especially not for primary aged children.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 13, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Irritating. Really, really bad.

    I don't know what I was expecting, but what I ended up with was the same whiney, annoying, self-centered kid that Jerry Seinfeld undoubtedly was. I wanted to give him the benefit of the doubt, but this book just plain sucked. I never bothered to read it to my kids for fear that they might pick up the idea that that crap might be okay to emulate.

    Horrible.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 15, 2009

    Halloween is a FUN book for adults to remember!

    I am an elementary school teacher, and I purchased this book because I thought it would be a fun read aloud for my class. When it arrived, I realized that my husband and I got more of a kick out of if than my students would. This story reminded us of what Halloween was like when we were little, wearing your snowsuit under your plastic costume... A plastic mask with an elastic band and slits for the eyes and mouth... I kept this book at home as a "decoration" to pull out each year to share with our friends. Not as kid-friendly as adult-friendly. A fun way to remember being a kid at Halloween.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2006

    Great book!!

    This book is very funny and brings back memories of my childhood Halloween's. Can't wait to read it to my son!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 10, 2005

    Halloween memories emerge!

    I don't have kids, but when I saw that Jerry Seinfeld had written this book, I had to have it. I make a point of reading it at least once every October, to remind myself of the great times I had trick-or-treating as a kid! Although I am (ahem!) a little younger than Jerry, I was amazed at his accurate references to the halloween mask rubber band breaking, the peanuts that no one wanted. This book is perfect for anyone who has ever watched an episode of Seinfeld or has seen Jerry perform on stage!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 4, 2003

    Hilarious!

    Hilarious!! Kids love it! It is a great book to use when teaching voice in writing. Since I bought this book last year, it has been read every day in school by someone. Any book that can get a reluctant reader to read is a 5 star in my book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 4, 2003

    Not appropriate for the recommended age group

    This book was recommended for the 5-8 age group, but I would not recommend it at all for kids that young. I'm a big fan of Jerry, but this book I thought was too obnoxious and uses the word 'stupid' too much in the story line. I truly regretted buying this for my 5 year old son. You should revise the recommended age group for this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2003

    Awesome

    This book is great. Not only does it pertain to young children, but it can also get some great laughs out of adults.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2002

    In Regards to those who thought Jerry Can write childrens books

    This book is awesome just so you know it is a segments of stand-up comedy directly from his stand up cd. This was not meant as a children's book. It is very very funny though. I once did this stand-up in a talent show and won.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 16, 2002

    Celebrity Children's Books

    The trend of children's books written by celebrities is not new. Sometimes the books are well written (Jamie Lee Curtis or Fred Gwynne) and sometimes the books are drivel (Katie Couric or Maria Shriver). The celebrity can be a "non-author" like John Lithgow (good) or Sara Ferguson (bad). Or they can be an "adult author" trying their hand at children's lit - John Updike (good) Danielle Steele (bad). Jerry Seinfeld's book is an example of one that happened with no extra effort on the part of the author. The material has long since been written and someone gets the bright idea that it'll make a good children's book. There are a few times that this has worked. The most recent example (but not the best example) is a nice version of "Say A Little Prayer for You." Years ago Paul Simon's song about the zoo (what was that called...?) became a children's book. It didn't work. Jerry doesn't really need to go to school to learn how to write children's books unless he himself wants to really write some children's books. This particular book meets the criteria nicely for celebrity kiddy lit: adults like the author; adults like the story; the illustrations are outstanding(usually the only thing that saves celebrity kids books). Will this book last? Probably not. But it serves its purpose for now and isn't a completely unpleasant experience. Worth buying if you're a Seinfeld fan or you really feel nostalgic about Halloween. As it's been said many times, you'll enjoy this one more than the kids will.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2002

    Halloween

    James Bennett's artwork, represents some of the best in the field. It is colourful, lively and carries that humanistic touch that delights both children and adults. On the other hand Jerry Seinfeld's writing is by comparison limp and lacks any real direction. The list on this book published by Little, Brown, & Company is fair enough. The illustrations are worth it. Jerry Seinfeld should spent part of his time taking a children's writing course. Writing a book, particularly a children's book, must be very careful in developing its modus operanti and sense of purpose.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2002

    It's Funny 'Cause It's True

    I read this in the bookstore and within seconds was laughing out loud! I then purchased it under the excuse that it was "for my son" (he's 10 months old). The humor is classic Seinfeld and the illustrations are great. Anyone who has been Trick-Or-Treating can certainly relate. A great book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2002

    dang......!

    wow there isn't a book better! I just wanted to get the message out that I love a guy named Steve Rogers. I love you Steve!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 19, 2002

    Absolutely Hilarious Halloween Memories

    HALLOWEEN by Jerry Seinfeld recalls ANYONE'S experience of trick-or-treating who grew up during the 50's and 60's. The wearing of costumes with cheap masks and the going door-to-door for the NAME CANDY ONLY put me right on the pages of his first children's book. My Halloween memories were brought alive by his narration of the book. The awesome illustrations of James Bennett make you SEE yourself trick-or-treating throughout the old neighborhood. My 5th Grade Class of 10-and 11-year-olds roared with the kind of genuine laughter only kids can laugh as they listened to the accompanying CD! There has GOT to be another illustrated children's book presented by Jerry! MMmmmmmm........Christmas is coming!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2002

    Absolutely Hilarious Halloween Memories

    HALLOWEEN by Jerry Seinfeld recalls ANYONE'S experience of trick-or-treating who grew up during the 50's and 60's. The wearing of costumes with cheap masks and the going door-to-door for the NAME CANDY ONLY put me right on the pages of his first children's book. My Halloween memories were brought alive by his narration of the book. The awesome illustrations of James Bennett make you SEE yourself trick-or-treating throughout the old neighborhood. My 5th Grade Class of 10-and 11-year-olds roared with the kind of genuine laughter only kids can laugh as they listened to the accompanying CD! There has GOT to be another illustrated children's book presented by Jerry! MMmmmmmm........Christmas is coming!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2002

    A Fun Halloween Book For All Ages!!

    HALLOWEEN is a fun read for every age. From my mom in her 60's, adult men and women at work, and my 3 children ages 9, 10 and 11 they have all laughed thru every page. The trick or treat experience is pretty much same. Though the costume box is gone and candy is now checked (as mine in the 70's was too). By the time you are 8 you get that Halloween is a rush to get to every house and the most candy. Jerry Seinfeld hits the mark on crummy candy vs. good candy. Put the CD in and read along. Just enjoy!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 10, 2002

    Halloween

    Obviously I realize and according to your rules, it is totally at your discretion what you choose to print in terms of readers comments et al. But really to print two similar reviews that were submitted after mine is a bit tacky. As I said, the illustrations are great and to be honest, save the book. Jerry Seinfeld's writing skills as a children's storybook teller are just not that well developed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 1, 2002

    Wow!

    I absolutely adored this book! Jerry Seinfeld has always had a way of identifying with his fans and putting real life situations into his "acts". This delightful Halloween story is no different. In this book, we see Jerry Seinfeld as a child, reliving his trick or treating days and mishaps. Although the language and humor is definitely suitable for a child, I think this is a story that adults and older children will relate to best. The illustrations are amazing!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2