Customer Reviews for

The Halloween Tree

Average Rating 4
( 26 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(13)

4 Star

(8)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

'The Baddest Suspenseful Hororr'

This book to me was a very very interesting, spine tingling hororr and I enjoyed every bit of it!! This would be a great book to sit down and really get your eyes glued to the pages. It is absolutely a great book!!!!

posted by Anonymous on October 29, 2001

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

A reviewer

yes, this is a classic. I don't understand why but it is. What lazy writting. poor character devlopement, muddied use of discrptions, and a rushed use of senery and enviroment, I should have given this title one star. What saved it was indeed its truth to the feel and h...
yes, this is a classic. I don't understand why but it is. What lazy writting. poor character devlopement, muddied use of discrptions, and a rushed use of senery and enviroment, I should have given this title one star. What saved it was indeed its truth to the feel and history of halloweed, regardless of how canceeled those qualities are due to the mentioned above flaws. I keep it on my shelve only becuase it is an instantly recognised classic. My advice is buy it, dont buy it, but if you do pick up the paperback so you wont be set back much.

posted by Anonymous on October 28, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 26 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2008

    It's a trip. . .

    If you¿ve ever wondered what inspired our Halloween traditions, this lyrical book will provide some fascinating clues. It all starts when Tom Skelton (who masquerades as a skeleton) and his crew of friends prepare for Trick or Treat on Halloween night. Alas, they are one person short. Pipkin, boy of all boys, is unable to join them in the festivities, but he points them in the direction of a haunted mansion and Carapace Clavicle Moundshroud. While the prose is like taking a trip through the Twilight Zone with all the bizarre twists and turns and difficult plot lines to follow, it is a fascinating enough ride. This is a book that is best read aloud since the language just drips off the tongue. I recommend it for classes related to history or English.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2001

    'The Baddest Suspenseful Hororr'

    This book to me was a very very interesting, spine tingling hororr and I enjoyed every bit of it!! This would be a great book to sit down and really get your eyes glued to the pages. It is absolutely a great book!!!!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 31, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Marie Robinson for TeensReadToo.com

    Opening this book is like opening a present. Originally published in 1972, publisher Alfred A. Knopf has printed a new hardcover edition. The dust-jacket is beautifully illustrated, the book is of an unusual size. Everything about it says "special." <BR/><BR/>Inside, I was not disappointed. Bradbury swept me away with his opening scene: <BR/><BR/>"It was a small town by a small river and a small lake in a small northern part of a Midwest state. There wasn't so much wilderness around you couldn't see the town. But on the other hand there wasn't so much town you couldn't see and feel and touch and smell the wilderness. The town was full of trees. And dry grass and dead flowers now that autumn was here. And full of fences to walk on and sidewalks to skate on and a large ravine to tumble in and yell across. And the town was full of... <BR/><BR/>Boys. <BR/><BR/>And it was the afternoon of Halloween. <BR/><BR/>And all the houses shut against a cool wind. <BR/><BR/>And the town was full of cold sunlight. <BR/><BR/>But suddenly, the day was gone. <BR/><BR/>Night came out from under each tree and spread." <BR/><BR/>This scene sets the tone for the entire book. THE HALLOWEEN TREE is as classic a Halloween story as A CHRISTMAS CAROL is for Christmas. It is about a group of boys, all friends, ages 11-12, who dress up for their annual night of Halloween mischief and go trick or treating. The boys find themselves at a particularly spooky mansion in a dark ravine, with a Marley-the-ghost door knocker and a gigantic tree covered with jack-o-lanterns. As the jack-o-lanterns light up one by one, the boys realize they are in the presence of a Halloween Tree, and that something very special is about to happen. <BR/><BR/>The resident of the house, the mysterious Mr. Moundshroud, takes the boys on a fantastic journey through traditions of Halloween past. This story is part history lesson, but the history is provided in such a compelling way that your average reader won't even realize he or she is learning something. <BR/><BR/>Perhaps the only downside to this story is that it is so dominantly geared toward a male audience. All of the major characters are male. Though, being female myself, I could get lost in the spookiness of the narrative. <BR/><BR/>Bradbury uses his trademark short sentences which are short on exposition but long on crafting a mood. The story is spooky without ever being scary, and is sure to delight kids of all ages.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2008

    spooky book, very scary

    Would you risk your life to go trick-or-treating? That¿s how it is for Tom Skeleton In the book the Halloween Tree by Ray Bradbury. There is a 13 year old boy named Tom Skeleton. He is always afraid of the house neat house. There is always lightning and thunder around the haunted house. Inside the house are black walls that are so black it looks like coal. Beside the house there is a humongous tree one-thousand feet tall. The tree has more than two-hundred pumpkins on it, and has four- hundred eyes, with two-hundred smiles smiling at you. He comes up to the house and rings the doorbell. A mummy comes up to the door, Tom says trick-or-treat. What happens to Tom you will have to read this book to find and what the mummy does. I love this book because it kept me turning pages and pages. At the end of the book it gets very spooky. I would recommend this book for people that love scary books.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2007

    A reviewer

    this was a wierd book. it was so confuseing . it took me a long time to figure out what it was about. but it was a good book. it is very discriptive and interesting.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2007

    A reviewer

    yes, this is a classic. I don't understand why but it is. What lazy writting. poor character devlopement, muddied use of discrptions, and a rushed use of senery and enviroment, I should have given this title one star. What saved it was indeed its truth to the feel and history of halloweed, regardless of how canceeled those qualities are due to the mentioned above flaws. I keep it on my shelve only becuase it is an instantly recognised classic. My advice is buy it, dont buy it, but if you do pick up the paperback so you wont be set back much.

    1 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 24, 2006

    Save Pipkin!

    This book is not you're average book. It is a history lesson (but don't let that scare you away)and a fantasy. Not his best work, but over all a good read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2005

    A Feast for Fantasy Fans!

    What a great adventure this book is! This is a tale of eight small town boys who enter a scary supernatural world after they meet a spooky old fellow by the name of Mr. Moonshroud. Mr. Moonshroud has otherwordly powers and shows the boys the mysterious and terrifying Halloween Tree, a huge old tree laden with Halloween Jack 'O Lanterns that sway in the chilly night air. The boys are taken on a breathtaking journey beyond space and time where they learn the secret customs and folklore of the world. I can think of no other author who is able to evoke the wonder of childhood better than Ray Bradbury, and this story is one of his best.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 31, 2005

    Really puts you in the halloween mood

    This is the best book I have ever read about Halloween and the legends and lore behind it. It is really interesting and you learn a lot in a very entertaining way while reading it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2004

    None Better

    I read this book every fall, just to remember when Halloween was about ghosts and goblins and not Wal-Mart costumes and poisoned candy.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2003

    BEST BOOK EVER

    Its the best book i've ever read. It's full of haunts and laughs plus it's during halloween which gives it a special scary feeling

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 25, 2002

    Fantasy, Fun, and (gasp) history

    Of all the Ray Bradbury books I've read, and there's a lot, The Halloween Tree is definately one of the greatest. Ray Bradbury's prose read like poetry and engage the reader in a fantastic journey through time and space to learn of the origins of Halloween. This novel is full of laughs, frights, and suspense. What's more, is this novel is perfect for kids and adults. I've read it every year at Halloween for the last 10 years, and will continue to do so for many to come. It's that good!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2001

    Wonderous words!

    Ray Bradbury never ceases to amaze me! This book is wonderful not only for the story but how it's told. Mr. Bradbury has an incredible gift with words and descriptions! The characters are wonderful. An excellent book for all ages. Best read before a warm fire with hot cider on a chilly autumn evening

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 7, 2001

    helpful to youngers about halloween around the world

    This story is great for all ages and if you see the movie (cartoon) it's great for kids as well as parents to read and to watch.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2001

    Great Book

    I remember reading this book in Jr High back in Waukegan, IL. Ray Bradbury is a wonderful writer for young children and older. I wish I was able to buy the earlier copies back then because now it's expensive to have! This book is a must-have to pass down to your children. I don't have any yet, but I'm definitely buying this book. :)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 10, 2014

    Loved the Movie as a Kid, Enjoyed the Book as an Adult

    I was surprised to find this unique Halloween story on the shelves of my local middle school. I grew up watching the movie every year at Halloween, and this year I thoroughly enjoyed diving deeper into the story through Bradbury's book. It's got great descriptions, a fast pace, and provides a brief history lesson in a fun way. I'd definitely recommend this as a family read for households with children ages 10-13 (and seeing as I'm 22 years-old, the young at heart will also enjoy this book!).

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 26, 2013

    I really enjoyed this book. I love Halloween and even as a child

    I really enjoyed this book. I love Halloween and even as a child, I loved reading books about this holiday. This is a great story and is written so that it is not insulting to children. Moundshroud is a bit spooky and what happens to Pipkin is very interesting. It is one of those books that I could read again and enjoy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 26, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Ray Bradbury for kids.

    I love Ray Bradbury's writing. The Halloween Tree is geared toward kids, with a 4.7 reading level, but I still enjoyed it, and it seemed appropriate for early autumn. The art and illustrations complement the writing very well. I thought Bradbury used too many similes in this one, but I'm sure that was his attempt to show the young readers his vivid details, and he could've developed some of the characters better than he did. Even so, he does a nice job of explaining the history and origins of All Hallow's Eve within the context of his imaginative conflict and plot, and he always entertains me with his unique voice and writing style.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 14, 2008

    Attention children of all ages! This is for you...

    Perfect choice for an audio book...the sounds effects are outstanding and make the story so entertaining. ****FIVE STARS****

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2001

    Great Mystery and fantasy

    The Halloween Tree was one of the best books I've read. I enjoy Bradbury's writing . I especially likes the trip the the kids take with their host.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 26 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2