Customer Reviews for

Halo: Cryptum: The Forerunner Saga #1

Average Rating 4.5
( 268 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(183)

4 Star

(50)

3 Star

(20)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(8)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

24 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

Questions answered, more raised - can't wait for the next!

I really enjoyed Cryptum, a great start to a prequel trilogy. It was a technical read at times, and didn't hold my hand as much as other book/game tie-ins. The pacing was good, and I enjoyed the progression of the characters and the way that my perceptions of them cha...
I really enjoyed Cryptum, a great start to a prequel trilogy. It was a technical read at times, and didn't hold my hand as much as other book/game tie-ins. The pacing was good, and I enjoyed the progression of the characters and the way that my perceptions of them changed by the end. The book also had an epic scope that really felt appropriate for a novel on the Forerunners. As for the Forerunners, it was great to final get a gimpse of them in their element.

If I could raise any cons, I would point to the book's length, which I felt could have been longer. A few more chapters/pages could have offered room for explanations and some exploration of certain topics/characters, especially for those unfamiliar with the Halo-verse.

A brief disclosure - I am a HUGE Halo fan, with regards to both the games and the novels/lore. That aside, I always try to be objective when recommending a book. It would be dishonest to say, however, that my enjoyment of this book was not closely related to how much I love this IP and how many questions it answered for me. I recommend this book, especially to Halo fans, but also to those looking for a fresh sci-fi adventure that will hopefully lead to many more.

posted by IamNoble on January 9, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Good Read - Looking for More

I have read all of the Halo books. Overall I think this book was pretty good. I read the Halo books for entertainment and for something to do with my son, so that is the perspective my review is coming from. I do crave to learn more about the Halo universe, so anythin...
I have read all of the Halo books. Overall I think this book was pretty good. I read the Halo books for entertainment and for something to do with my son, so that is the perspective my review is coming from. I do crave to learn more about the Halo universe, so anything that fills in the missing pieces is great.

It was a challenging read (writing style) and I definitely would have liked to learn more about the Forerunner world after working my way through it. I think I learned more about humans than Forerunners. I am an educated person but I found myself utilizing the "lookup" feature on my Nook regularly. For that reason only I think this will be a difficult read for my younger son. I also think the first person writing style hindered the author's ability to provide us with many details about the Forerunner universe that an omniscient narrator would have been provide.

All that said - buy the book. Good entertainment for less than the price of a movie. If you like Halo, like I do, it is more food for your hunger.

posted by CalBookReader on January 10, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 268 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 14
  • Posted January 9, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Questions answered, more raised - can't wait for the next!

    I really enjoyed Cryptum, a great start to a prequel trilogy. It was a technical read at times, and didn't hold my hand as much as other book/game tie-ins. The pacing was good, and I enjoyed the progression of the characters and the way that my perceptions of them changed by the end. The book also had an epic scope that really felt appropriate for a novel on the Forerunners. As for the Forerunners, it was great to final get a gimpse of them in their element.

    If I could raise any cons, I would point to the book's length, which I felt could have been longer. A few more chapters/pages could have offered room for explanations and some exploration of certain topics/characters, especially for those unfamiliar with the Halo-verse.

    A brief disclosure - I am a HUGE Halo fan, with regards to both the games and the novels/lore. That aside, I always try to be objective when recommending a book. It would be dishonest to say, however, that my enjoyment of this book was not closely related to how much I love this IP and how many questions it answered for me. I recommend this book, especially to Halo fans, but also to those looking for a fresh sci-fi adventure that will hopefully lead to many more.

    24 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 10, 2011

    Good Read - Looking for More

    I have read all of the Halo books. Overall I think this book was pretty good. I read the Halo books for entertainment and for something to do with my son, so that is the perspective my review is coming from. I do crave to learn more about the Halo universe, so anything that fills in the missing pieces is great.

    It was a challenging read (writing style) and I definitely would have liked to learn more about the Forerunner world after working my way through it. I think I learned more about humans than Forerunners. I am an educated person but I found myself utilizing the "lookup" feature on my Nook regularly. For that reason only I think this will be a difficult read for my younger son. I also think the first person writing style hindered the author's ability to provide us with many details about the Forerunner universe that an omniscient narrator would have been provide.

    All that said - buy the book. Good entertainment for less than the price of a movie. If you like Halo, like I do, it is more food for your hunger.

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 23, 2012

    A Good Read, But Loose Ends and an Abrupt Ending

    This is the first book of the "Forerunner Saga" from the "Halo" series that appears to have been written by multiple authors. The conceptual basis for the story is a somewhat unique variation on a previously-used theme. The book leaves the reader with a lot of unanswered questions, which is frustrating. If this is just a partial story, however (first of a series), then the lack of answers might be understandable. The book seems to have been written for Young Adults (YA). There are loose ends that remain untied, and a rather abrupt ending that suggests that the next book in the series must be read in order to complete the story. (Book #2 has apparently been released.) Some editing errors were noted, but they were not so egregious as to seriously detract from the readability of the book. I will begin reading the second volume immediately.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 20, 2011

    best book ever same person right under me

    great eye poping book dont get the sample get the whole book you literly cant look away it is lne of the most epic gloreus book i have ever read your eyes dont move away from from the words get this book ages 7 to 66 love this book get it know doesnt mater if its on a nook or not if you are reading this you need to buy this book nothing will make you look away even if your kid just died broke a bone or sprained an ankle you will never loook away i say that this is too good for its price bless god that people made this book i should get the real think and put it in a time capsle and say read this with big letters i would say mke copys of this give one to every person in the world and tell them when they get their copy to start reading they wont look at anything else the best book in the world is right here read it read read read read read it man this how much o like this book you will love this book man you get sucked in to the book it feals like your there you will love this book once you start read nothing will make you blink nothing will make you sleep you will be reading this for 247 again best book ever i think its jest way to goooooood for its price so you are very very very very very lucky that this book is $11.00 that so much luxk my head about to blow up and break all nook in the world beacuse this book is sooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo good buy this book it will change your life toatly people you will love tis book sooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo much

    4 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 10, 2012

    GEAR

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2012

    Excellent

    This book did a great job of explaing some of the great misteries of the ancient forerunners. Can't wait to read the next onin this series, primordium.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 14, 2011

    The forunners saga

    This is a great book has little to do with master cheif but more to do with the plot of halo its self

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2011

    I am shocked but in a good way

    It seems to me that this halo book is my favorite.It goes into a large amount of detail with story and character design.Eric Nylund was my favorite halo author before however this book brings you to the origins and at the same time stays true to the stories of halo the game and the stories told by other great authors.I dare anyone to say this is not at the best of sci-fi writing.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 12, 2011

    Amazing

    Although i needed the nook dictionary to read it, it was a VERY enlightening story for the Halo universe. A must-buy.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2012

    Really good book

    The book was awsome and it was very descriptive

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 7, 2011

    Great book

    a well developed story and characters. wont put it down once you start.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2013

    Boring

    the game is so good I could play 4 a week . The books werent very good but the game is A W E S O M E !!!!!!!!

    1 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2012

    Why does halo end with with the beginig of halo 4

    I have a question why does the thursday war and every other halobook begin with the game halo 4?????it is so ANOYING

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2012

    Great fot Halo fans!

    This book was very informative about the Halo Universe, and I can't wait for the third book to be released. The book, only at certain times, can be a tiny bit technical. I also found that it was difficult to understand at certain points. Othan than thait it is a must read!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2012

    Good book

    I bought the book around christmas 2011 and started to read and i LOVE it and halo rocks!!!! O.o

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2012

    MUST READ THIS SERIES!!!!!!!

    This is such a great series!!!!This cannot be missed!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2012

    AWSOME!

    I have almost compleatly finished the book and it is epic! I've been wondoring (I am not a very good speller) what hapened to the Didact? Did the so called "Master Builder" kill him? I Hope not. He has become one of my favorite guys in the forrunner saga even thoh I have only 2 halo books. Also I have been learning a lot about the Flood and I think that's realy cool. Woo-hoo! Go bunge!








    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 31, 2012

    Great story for HALO fans!

    This first book in the trilogy is great as it gives amazing new insight to the HALO universe and the mysterious Forerunners and begins to answer why behind the HALOs creation and more!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2012

    If you Love the Halo Universe, you must read this series

    I picked this up simply because it had the words Halo, and then Forerunner saga on the cover. Greg Bear is an amazing author of sci-fi and he does the Halo universe Justice with this story.
    This is great for fans of the Halo universe because it begins to answer some of the questions posed by the games and the many other novels. but it also opens some new questions about the fate of humanity in the Halo present.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2012

    I have all the Halo games

    1 and reach are the best

    1 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 268 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 14