BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Halo: Contact Harvest (Halo Series)

Average Rating 4.5
( 182 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(118)

4 Star

(39)

3 Star

(14)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Excellent!

This was a very good read. I too had the dread of this different author destroying the book but it was very well written. It had good detail in the action scenes and he put a neat spin on the conversation between the AI's. All & all a great read, I, like so many others,...
This was a very good read. I too had the dread of this different author destroying the book but it was very well written. It had good detail in the action scenes and he put a neat spin on the conversation between the AI's. All & all a great read, I, like so many others, can't wait for more Halo books to emerge.

posted by Anonymous on December 3, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

Sorry south saintz

Go halo

posted by 10801781 on January 9, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 39 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2012

    Ok

    A good read and nice background information on seargent johnson and the begining of the covenant war an excellent prequel to the fall of reach but there are better halo books out there

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2011

    awsome

    Beastly

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 11, 2013

    Good read.

    Needed a replacement copy for my paperback.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2013

    I think that battlefeild 3 is a lot better than halo i dare you to play battlefeild 3

    D

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 28, 2012

    Loved it

    I cried like a baby after reading the prologue. :*(

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 12, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A good strong read

    This book was pretty exciting from the start. I enjoyed the Development of the main and supporting characters. Having read other Halo books before this I found it very interesting to go back and see how everything began. Not only did I get to learn the story of harvest and first contact but I received a good glimpse into the inner workings of the interspecies conglomeration that is the Covenant. All in all a good strong reading experience and I would definitely recommend this book rather your new to the Halo series or just looking for a good book to continue the saga.
    Thanks for reading this review and I hope it helped. Remember reading is a privilege so take advantage of it.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 22, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Exciting Start to the Halo Universe

    It was great to finally get to see how the humans and the covenant met. And why there is an extermination notice on the humans. The book was good, and set way before Master Chief's time, but the main character is still very good at kicking ass!

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2008

    A very great book, but not written very well.

    I really love this book. It tells about one of the greatest charactors in the Halo universe, Sgt. Johnson. I really enjoyed the story of this novel how it told the background story of Johnson and pvt. Jenkins, from Halo Combat Evolved. I really like how he almost killed Tartarus. I really loved how Johnson was the first one in history to encounter the Covenant. The only problem is that the book wasn't written very well, it has a great story, but just how it was written was so amateur. It's not discriptive enough and just isn't as creative. I thought the scene at the end really ruined it. But still overall, it's a great book. I am one of the many Halo fans that believe Johnson to be a Spartan I. Not a Spartan II like the chief, but one a Spartan I, the first Spartan project. The graphic novel specifically says Johnson was a part of many ONI projects, one known as the Spartan I project.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2007

    Weird...but good.

    I think Joe's writing is every bit as awesome as Eric's. Excellent character development and description. The beginning was cool. Gave insight into rebel forces now known as the Insurrection. However, I feel that the action pacing was a bit lacking. Most of the book was about training a bunch of farm boys to become security guards. *yawn*. Action sequences were too brief and too far apart. When they did fight, is was either agaisnt three jackals, or two brutes, or a pack of grunts. Also, what happened to the first generation of SPARTANS? The complete lack of SPARTANS made this title seem a bit empty. Just one other thing. Obviously the Engineers, Brutes and Drones were encountered on Harvest and surely would have been documented by ONI officer al-Cygni. But if that is so, then how come the Spartan-II's arent briefed on them 30 years later? Only the Grunts, Jackals and Hunters are shown in the bestiary with the Elites and Prophets only speculated. Strange that ONI would withhold intel, or unless the survivors of Harvest did--but why? I would have also liked to have read about the battle of the Argo with the Covenant fleet and the ensuing Battle of Harvest. All in all good, but not great like Nylund's titles even though Joe is just as capable. But I forgive him only because this is his first entry into the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 39 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2