Customer Reviews for

Halo: Glasslands

Average Rating 4.5
( 207 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(138)

4 Star

(36)

3 Star

(11)

2 Star

(10)

1 Star

(12)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Great

This book, although filled with a multitude if plot holes relating to Ghosts of Onyx, was still a good read. And for those asking where the Chief is, you'll have to wait until they release Halo 4 this coming holiday season.

posted by 6937935 on January 6, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

12 out of 31 people found this review helpful.

Halo fans: avoid this book

First off, let me say that the ending is a terrible attempt at a cliffhanger, and attempts to leave room for a sequel. Anyway, throughout the book, the auther harasses you about how horrible the spartan program was, without giving any kind of reasoning beyond "god, they...
First off, let me say that the ending is a terrible attempt at a cliffhanger, and attempts to leave room for a sequel. Anyway, throughout the book, the auther harasses you about how horrible the spartan program was, without giving any kind of reasoning beyond "god, they took children!..." and makes every character in the book revolted by the spartan program. The Arbiter becomes the bad guy, people who supported the spartans the whole way suddenly want to court-marshall halsey, and the spartans hate halsey, whom they love as a mother. I seriously doubt the auther has played any of the halo games and read more than a sparknotes of maybe one book. The bok apears to have been written for the purpose of creating a morally correct name for the auther, but really just shows her to be a self-rightous bigot. If you will not accept the halo universe for what it is, get out of it.
I highly doubt any auther who considers themselves to be a halo fan will include any part of this storyline in their book. It would be a further disgrace to halo.

posted by 8040464 on February 22, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 138 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 7
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2012

    Nice

    Good book gl on new 1

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 7, 2011

    Should be a must read for any Halo fan.

    Read some of the previous Halo books. Can't wait for this to arrive soon.

    3 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2012

    Good book

    Very well written. It does a good job of showing what happened after halo 3. I look forward to the next book.

    2 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2012

    Really good

    Excellent book, great continuation to the main storyline

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2011

    Well worth the wait

    While this story does not give away what happened to the Master Chief, it does folllow up on several of the other events in the halo universe that left us with questions unanswered. However, the most important thing that this story does is setup the state that the halo universe will be in when the Chief resumes his adventures. This is a must read for any halo fan and the story it tells has been beautifully written. My only complaint is that I cant wait for the next one!

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2013

    The Flood

    Question for all: which is better to fight, zombies or flood? I loke the flood, cause im not a dismemberd zombie kindof guy. Plus they carry guns, which makes it more dangerous. P.s flood with bazzoka equal bad.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2013

    Great read

    I gotta say eric nylund is one of my favorite authors in the halo universe.... but at this rate i might have to hand the crown over to karen traviss

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2013

    Rebirth, Reinvention, and Continuation

    As a longtime fan of the complex storyline of the Halo universe, I was skeptical in beginning this novel. I had a view of this universe as it was painted before the end of Bungie's reign, and was worried the new era stewarded by 343 would see the downfall of that established familiarity.

    I am pleased to say those concerns were improperly held.

    Traviss paints a wonderfully descriptive picture if the world around the reader, and is quite the accomplished storyteller. This book, and its successor, will provode the reader with a lot of backstory in the run up to Halo 4. I highly suggest reading through both, regardless of whether you have already played Halo 4, and especially if you have not yet done so.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2013

    This book is amazing

    This book is one of my favorit from karen travis

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 9, 2013

    a great book with a great story truly a good book for all halo f

    a great book with a great story truly a good book for all halo fans

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2013

    I Think this book was great! I don't know what these other peopl

    I Think this book was great! I don't know what these other people are going on about saying its bad for a die hard halo fan? I LOVE halo and  I still think it was great! it really shows the point of views from groups who aren't as prominent in the games, hence why "Thel is the bad guy" and "the spartan program is awful". this book is fantastic, especially for someone like me who loves to learn the perspectives of everyone involved! Especially what you learn about the Huragok and how Relied on they became. Anyway, all in all an amazing book!!    

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2012

    Omg look at the one above mine

    This book makes sense if you read the others AND your actually smart enough to comprehend them.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 5, 2012

    Enjoyed the book

    This was a good read, no issues. I must have missed the part where humans knew that they were once at war with the foreunners though. It was mentioned several times that the didact hated humans but nobody questioned why he would have known about them. Can't wait to read more expansion on the last book where the find the very old AI that is explaining their history.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 3, 2012

    People

    It is easy to no what there trying to say

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 16, 2012

    Awesome

    Ive read all the halo books and this is by far my favorite. Author knows how to write amazing book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 15, 2012

    Good reaad Good read

    Nice plots and interesting characters

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2012

    P

    Requires a deep understanding but is awesome

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2012

    Greeat

    Ive read the entire series and this on e was by far the best.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2012

    A w e s o m e

    Ive read a ton of halo books and this is the best

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2012

    Amazing Read and Tie-In

    In addition to having a great story (which never failed to hold my attention,even on my third read through) this book also manages to offer some insight into the story and events of the upcoming game, Halo 4.
    The book introduced a key concept for Halo 4- the Forerunner Sheild World. Most of 4 takes place on a similar sheild world-- one which is inhabited.
    The multiplayer aspect of 4 also gets an introduction here. All of the multiplayer takes place on the UNSC Infinity, which is mentioned in several correspondances between Vice Admiral Parangosky and Captain Osman; the latter goes over some of the specs later. The Infinity is also the home base for the exciting new game mode, Spartan Ops.
    This is a well written book which i would reccomend to anyone interested in Sci Fi (oops- SyFy. Curse you, corporate media!) in general, not just Halo fans.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 138 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 7