Customer Reviews for

Halo: The Thursday War

Average Rating 4.5
( 107 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(85)

4 Star

(10)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

9 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

May be one of the best halo books to date!

I am a big fan of the halo series, and i quite avidly play the games and read the books, ive read all the novels so far and i do believe that karen travis created one of the most finely sculpted books to date, book 1, Halo:Grasslands, i cant wait to read this one ;)

posted by 17101152 on October 9, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

Not very good

Not very good at all. The first book was borderline and this one is complete s@#$. Jesus where's Nyland when you need him?

posted by Anonymous on October 9, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 85 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 9, 2012

    May be one of the best halo books to date!

    I am a big fan of the halo series, and i quite avidly play the games and read the books, ive read all the novels so far and i do believe that karen travis created one of the most finely sculpted books to date, book 1, Halo:Grasslands, i cant wait to read this one ;)

    9 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 20, 2012

    Solidly good scifi!

    Eric Nylund and Karen Traviss contribute to the Halo mythos beautifully. This book is no exception.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 30, 2012

    Sounds intersting

    Sounds intersting

    3 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 22, 2012

    Blackheart

    Wistera?

    3 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2013

    An Excellent Sequel

    Continuing where the story left off in Glasslands, this book provides further backstory in the run up to Halo 4. As the story progressed, I really began to feel an attachment to the ONI crew, and enjoyed their individual views and personality quirks.

    Any Halo fan should read both this novel and the previous; you certainly won't be wasting your time.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2013

    Halo

    This book was amazing it was really informative and really well scriptied can't wait forthe next one karen keep em comin as soon as possible

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2012

    Amazingly interesting for a story of a video game.

    At first I wasn't sure if I would like it. I am not a gamer but my friend saiI should get it so I did. Now I have Halo 4 after reading it.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 2, 2012

    Highly recommended! A MUST buy for any Halo fan

    This was shipped to my door very quickly and I got free shipping because of my membership. I suggest you snag this while it's cheap. I got the hardcover edition for 18 dollars! ¿¿

    2 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2012

    Amazing book from an amazing author.

    After I finished Glasslands I couldn't wait to get my hands on this one. All the complaints about canon errors are unwarranted and totally explainable. Any true fan of Halo or science fiction in general will enjoy this book. If there is anything negative I would say about it is sometimes Karen got carried away with the word "hindge head". She sometimes uses it 5 or 6 time on a single page! Buy this book and do yourself a favor.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2013

    Great Read!

    It's a really good book describing the events between Halo 3 and 4. You have to read Glasslands first, though. I'm just hoping for the 3rd installment in the series.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2013

    Youd better read it or else

    Its Amazing!!!!! Glasslands is also incredible so youd better read that one too

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2013

    People

    I wonder what pie in halo is like

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2013

    D

    Halo 4 is epic.

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2013

    Miranda to nick

    Oh..well was it worth it

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2013

    Halo is aaaawwwwwssssooommmmmmmmme!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!$

    Great book it really gets you going..

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2013

    Great book. And no Jun did die...

    Juns been dead for a while. That why they named th dyson sphere after him. The book mentioned that they named it after the spartan died defending it.

    No average halo fan is going to be able to genuinely appreciate these books unless you've read all of them and played all of the games. Many small children probably expected this book to be about the master chief and probably think this book is trash and feel robbed of the expeience and not understand a single thing here.

    This book is a genuine experience and details the stroy behind halo 4 and is actually well written. Only die hard fans of the series will get any enjoyment from this.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2013

    --l-,

    Screw you who hate halo. Look up its a sign.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2013

    Halo rules

    Read it,it rocks

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2013

    Question?

    Is there much gun fighting in this book?

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2013

    Halo rocks

    I love halo

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 85 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5