Customer Reviews for

Halo: Cole Protocol

Average Rating 4
( 170 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(94)

4 Star

(33)

3 Star

(27)

2 Star

(9)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

The Insurrectionists side of the story.

"Halo: The Cole Protocol" centers around an Insurrectionist 'home world' known as the Rubble (which is a collection of asteroids connected by tunnels). After learning that the Rubble has navigation data to Earth, the UNSC (United Nations Space Command) goes there to ena...
"Halo: The Cole Protocol" centers around an Insurrectionist 'home world' known as the Rubble (which is a collection of asteroids connected by tunnels). After learning that the Rubble has navigation data to Earth, the UNSC (United Nations Space Command) goes there to enact the Cole Protocol and destroy it, while the Covenant search for a heresy of Kig-Yar that are working with the humans that had settled there. It soon becomes an all out war for the Nav-Data, leaving Ignacio Delgado, who was in charge of guarding the Data, in the middle of the fight. He 'befriends' the Spartan Gray Team, who help him out from some untrustworthy Insurrectionists.

It was a great read for those who are a fan of the Halo series, and those who want a well put together book. The Halo series has been used to convey a sense of unity towards a common enemy. The Cole Protocol shows that the phrase "The enemy of my enemy is my friend" doesn't always apply.

I like this book because it tells why the people of the Rubble don't despise the Insurrectionists or the UNSC, and it told of the life of Thel 'Vadamee before he became the Arbiter in Halo 2. Although the book doesn't state when it takes place, the readers have to infer when it in the Halo Universe.

To fully understand what is being told in the story, I recommend reading both Contact Harvest and The Fall of Reach before reading this book. And if you like this book then all the other Halo books are a good choice and the games only provide one small part of the story.

Overall I give it 5 stars out of 5.

posted by LightningNinja on November 23, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Right book, wrong author

I am a big fan of all Halo novels, I was disapointed with this one. While I know there is a huge market to continue writing Halo novels, this author is not the one for the job. Without giving anything away I will just say that; the Spartans portrayal was the exact oppos...
I am a big fan of all Halo novels, I was disapointed with this one. While I know there is a huge market to continue writing Halo novels, this author is not the one for the job. Without giving anything away I will just say that; the Spartans portrayal was the exact opposite as every other book. Very slack, disobeying orders, calling by first name, little things that can drive a die hard fan nuts. Also, this author must have spent his last vacation in Spain or Mexico because everyone and everything was some form of Spanish (in the naming of characters). All and all a very interesting story, and I think I would enjoy this author in original books, but he should definitely not touch another Halo novel again.

posted by Ryanxia on December 18, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 170 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 9
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    The Insurrectionists side of the story.

    "Halo: The Cole Protocol" centers around an Insurrectionist 'home world' known as the Rubble (which is a collection of asteroids connected by tunnels). After learning that the Rubble has navigation data to Earth, the UNSC (United Nations Space Command) goes there to enact the Cole Protocol and destroy it, while the Covenant search for a heresy of Kig-Yar that are working with the humans that had settled there. It soon becomes an all out war for the Nav-Data, leaving Ignacio Delgado, who was in charge of guarding the Data, in the middle of the fight. He 'befriends' the Spartan Gray Team, who help him out from some untrustworthy Insurrectionists.

    It was a great read for those who are a fan of the Halo series, and those who want a well put together book. The Halo series has been used to convey a sense of unity towards a common enemy. The Cole Protocol shows that the phrase "The enemy of my enemy is my friend" doesn't always apply.

    I like this book because it tells why the people of the Rubble don't despise the Insurrectionists or the UNSC, and it told of the life of Thel 'Vadamee before he became the Arbiter in Halo 2. Although the book doesn't state when it takes place, the readers have to infer when it in the Halo Universe.

    To fully understand what is being told in the story, I recommend reading both Contact Harvest and The Fall of Reach before reading this book. And if you like this book then all the other Halo books are a good choice and the games only provide one small part of the story.

    Overall I give it 5 stars out of 5.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 5, 2010

    halo the cole protocol

    the story takes place after halo the fall of reach the loss of reach started the cole protocol where if a ship is about to be captured the nav data has to be destroyed and incase of retreat the jumps have to be at random. And three spartans were deployed at a rebel city aka the rubble to makesure all of the nav data is safe and keep it out of the covenant hands

    5 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 31, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Halo: The Cole Protocol

    the book was amazing. it was action back to action. awesome for halo fans.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2008

    Cole Protocol

    It was an ok book, plot wasn't too good at first but got better. Not much action overall. Mjolinr armor suit lack shields.

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 4, 2011

    Another great halo book

    Loved it, just like the others

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2012

    Started before

    Started after fall of the reach,if you want proof read fall of the reach

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2012

    EPic

    EPIC

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2012

    ?

    Which is first cole or ghost of onyx

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2012

    Awsome

    The video i game is already awsome.This just explains more

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2012

    Awesome

    It is AWESOME. You should read it. It is definately worth the money.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2012

    Started before Reach

    The Cole Protocol was started way before Reach, when the UNSC was losing a lot of colonies due to careless ships leading the Covenant to other colonies. It was to protect the location of Earth. It was started by Admiral Cole, who was killed a few years before Reach. So it couldn't have been started at Reach.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 5, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    A great addition to the Halo universe

    The Cole Protocol is a must read for anyone interested in expanding their imaginative boundaries in regards to the universe Bungie created from Halo. Seemingly endless add-on stories have flourished since the release of Halo: Combat Evolved, and now we have the latest addition...The Cole Protocol, which follows a nearly "rogue" group of Spartans. Their adventures which meander in peril, and their constant flirting with death are all on the menu in this book. I found it all to be very enjoyable and it made me love this make-believe world of Halo just that much more.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2009

    one small problem

    i only found one problem with this book, aside from the spanish EVERYTHING, and that is that there were multiple small details the author ignored completely, such as the fact that the plasma rifle is an automatic weapon, you cannot make such accurate shots with it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 18, 2008

    Right book, wrong author

    I am a big fan of all Halo novels, I was disapointed with this one. While I know there is a huge market to continue writing Halo novels, this author is not the one for the job. Without giving anything away I will just say that; the Spartans portrayal was the exact opposite as every other book. Very slack, disobeying orders, calling by first name, little things that can drive a die hard fan nuts. Also, this author must have spent his last vacation in Spain or Mexico because everyone and everything was some form of Spanish (in the naming of characters). All and all a very interesting story, and I think I would enjoy this author in original books, but he should definitely not touch another Halo novel again.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2014

    Halo cole prottacol

    Love the series this was the last book in the sseries and of corse it was goooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooddddddsddddddddddddddd!!!!!!!!!##!!!!!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2014

    Good

    Awesome! But what is with all the latin names? That dounds like someone wasent thinking about names to me...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2014

    HALO

    !!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 11, 2013

    HALO fans must read.

    Enjoyed it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2013

    AWESOME

    LOVED IT one of y favorite action packed halos EVER.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2013

    IDK

    Is Delgoado a rebel?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 170 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 9