Customer Reviews for

Halo: Evolutions: Essential Tales of the Halo Universe

Average Rating 4.5
( 113 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(73)

4 Star

(22)

3 Star

(12)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

Great

Great book! It has ten short stories in it and each one has a different style and new characters. It has all out war, mystery, suspense, and sometimes comedy. It goes from alien's point of view to Spartans point of view and even to the normal soldiers view. It has a per...
Great book! It has ten short stories in it and each one has a different style and new characters. It has all out war, mystery, suspense, and sometimes comedy. It goes from alien's point of view to Spartans point of view and even to the normal soldiers view. It has a perfect clash of war, politics and strategy.

posted by Judo on January 15, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

Gift purchase

This product was purchased as a gift. No review is possible.

posted by 2874377 on January 30, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 114 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6
  • Posted January 15, 2010

    Great

    Great book! It has ten short stories in it and each one has a different style and new characters. It has all out war, mystery, suspense, and sometimes comedy. It goes from alien's point of view to Spartans point of view and even to the normal soldiers view. It has a perfect clash of war, politics and strategy.

    7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 12, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    What the?...

    Sorry...I have not read this at all, but it seems cool. This is a comment meant for the reviewer before me, on behalf of all of us reviewers on here and those looking for a good read: I don't mean to criticize you or complain dude, but I am commenting because I don't understand why in the world you would bother to give a review on something you have never even read before, just to give a review...and only to merely give it 1 star in the process...which affects the item's overall rating. That just seems pretty assinine & dumb to me. So it was a gift to someone else...good for you, but that being the case, don't waste the time & other people's time writing a review just to say that it was a gift and that no review is possible...and only giving it one star in the process. That's completely mental. From now on, how about only reviewing stuff you have actually read, and spare us all. It'd be appreciated. Thanks.

    6 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 24, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Perfect Collection of Short Stories

    This collection of short stories set in the Halo universe is perfect for every Halo fan.

    Every story progressed quickly, had a beautiful morale to it, and explored the Halo universe with a different map and compass than the previous Halo books. Each writer opened doors that I knew never existed, and I stepped into rooms already fully painted and furnished by the author. Spectacular.

    The best short story is by Halo veteran, Eric Nylund. He pens the short story "The Impossible Life and Possible Death of Preston J. Cole." The story is fantastic, even for the Halo universe, and once again explores a route that the previous Halo books could have not have traveled down.

    Although "The Mona Lisa" seems to be lacking in tempo and literature style than its fellow stories, even it was generally ok when I finished it.

    As the editor says in the foreword, enjoy each morsel, savor the taste of each story, and bon appetit!

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 17, 2010

    Great book

    Halo evolutions

    Put plain and simple, this book is well written science fiction. Since it's a collection of shorts I'll just try to skim over some of the books content.


    One of my best reads was actually the first story in the book about Soren-66, a Spartan that failed to scale through the augmentation process in one piece. I hardly remember the names of characters in most books I read, after a few days, but Soren-66 kept ringing in my ears. I connected with this guy. This is a story that will strike home at your emotions and leave you wanting to know more about what happens to Soren. Great short by B. K Evenson.


    Another story I loved very much, and surprisingly, was MIDNIGHT IN THE HEART OF MIDLOTHIAN, by Frank O' Connor. A human ship is ambushed by Covenant Black ops forces as it makes out of slip space, all its crew murdered save for Baird. Knowing Frank O' Connor as just a game writer I didn't expect much from this story but was greatly amazed at the efficiency of delivery and how graphic the writing was. Simply put that I visited every corner of the MIDLOTHIAN and was highly entertained where I did not expect to find much entertainment. And you'll just love the shipboard AI at the very end of the story.


    STOMPING ON THE HEELS OF A FUSS: by Eric Raab, was another very good read, although not packed with emotion, the author was able to flesh out almost every character in the story which is not a very easy thing to accomplish when writing fiction. Ceretus, Parabum, Facius and all the human characters were great to follow. I loved the mood, the helplessness of the humans in the hands of brutal and savage brutes in the middle of a backwater planet.


    DIRT by Tobias Buckel , I also enjoyed, although the story might have been not-so fascinating, Tobias's ability to flesh out worlds and give his readers vivid pictures of locations and events remain very entertaining and ultimately worth the read.


    And of course, Karren Travis and Eric Nylund, what would you expect from those two? They delivered. You'll read about the gravemind and cortana's mind battle on high charity and get to know all about Admiral Preston Cole.in utter detail. No I won't reveal any part of those stories to you. You need to experience them first hand.


    All in all, this is a great book and almost all the stories in it to me, are either very entertaining or averagely so. If you're a Halo reader this is a must have for you.

    5 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 8, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Totally amazing for anyone who likes Halo

    This book was really good. It's nice to just plop down and read one of the stories whenever you want to; instead of reading a series of books, you can read whichever story that you'd like to. the stories are short and to the point. the authors do a good job of describing the characters and the settings. I totally recommend this book. The stories are really original and fun to read. This is an amazing book! worth every dollar!

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 30, 2010

    Eleven Short stories that add to the Halo Universe!

    Follow the brave men and women of the UNSC as they combat internal strife while attempting to defeat the invasive Covenant. In the shadows of these dark times lurk a greater threat: the Flood.
    Eleven of Scifi's best authors contribute the expanding the Halo Universe, and wrap up some holes left in the games.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2010

    Halo short-stories

    Several very good short stories set in various locales in the "Halo universe." Best for those already into the mythology created by the Halo series of games and books, as those non-followers may not appreciate some of the situations and descriptions of events in this book. Not a "must have" by any means, but an interesting look through the eyes of several authors and characters. Definitely worth a look for those Halo fans out there!

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2013

    To comment 3

    I like halo too and to be honest with you I actualy thought you were six P.S. I am only nine and I can spell better than you.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2013

    soron lives

    I am making a seirs and soron -66 is the explsive expert

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2012

    Must read for Halo fans!

    This is a well written and captivating extension to the amazing Halo universe!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2012

    Amazing

    This book ia a have to readd halo book

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    Simply amazing.

    This is one of the most well writen books ever told in my opinion. If you are a big Halo fan like me, why don't you have this book yet. Even if you don't like Halo this book is still well crafted and amazing.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 12, 2011

    Awespome+book

    Great+if+halo+fan

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2011

    AMAZING!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Move over starwars,halo is the NEW starwars!

    1 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2011

    AMAZING!!!

    This is a great book about the Halo Universe and you will not peal your eyes off it.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 20, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Might be the best Halo book yet.

    I have to say, I really didn't think I'd enjoy this book as much as the rest of the series, because I'm not really a short story fan. But after reading it, I think it may be my favorite Halo book so far. My favorite story in the book was either Pariah or Dirt, but all were original and entertaining. And, surprisingly, it was great to finally not have to follow a 300 page book for hours, and instead read wichever story and in any order. All in all, an amazing book, for casuals and hardcores alike.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2010

    Gift purchase

    This product was purchased as a gift. No review is possible.

    1 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2010

    More Hits Than Misses

    A danger with any compilation from different contributing offers, some of the short stories contained herein are noticeably superior to others. However, as a whole, this book is an excellent read for any fan of the Halo franchise, be they casual gamer or hardcore sci-fi nut.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2013

    Cod is fun but halo is better

    Don't get me wrong, cod bo2 is pretty fun but halo is way better. Anyone who doesnt like halo, you obvously dont kno what the @#$% you're talking about.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2013

    reply to "halo quiz"

    most likely dr halsey

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 114 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6