Customer Reviews for

Halo Graphic Novel

Be the first to write a review
( 0 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(0)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 28, 2007

    Love The Game Love The Book

    If you love the halo games you'll love this! I'm a halo pro but and I love it but if you don't even like halo you'll still at least be interested in the graphic novel. I am a bit dissapointed with the picture of the chief surrounded by infection forms in the art gallery though.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2007

    Halo Graphic Novel

    This had some good stories, but I would find this and read it in the store, because it won't take you long to read, and it gets boring after a while(unless you show it to your friends).

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2007

    Halo Manga lover!

    This was great and worth the money, if you like Halo buy this!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 8, 2006

    Great GN about a game!

    The GN is pretty good and it also helps fill in missing parts of the halo trilogy. If you love the Halo games you'll love this!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2006

    Not for everyone

    This book cost 25 dollars and was rather short. I like books with lots of words, basically not comics, which is my fault to have not realized this was pretty much a comic. Enough about that, the art is pretty good except for the Mombasa story. I think you'll enjoy it if you like comics but if you like books, like the other Halo novels, skip this one. Overall the stories are alright but this book isn't worth the $25. I recommend sitting down in a chair at the store becuase you can finish this novel rather quickly.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2006

    not worth 27 bucks

    Halo Combat Evolved was an adventure, an epic and gaming masterpiece. Halo 2 crushed that. With the storyline of a Sci-Fi Channel series reject, it simply fails completely compared to the first entry. I read my cousin's copy of The Graphic novel and it is no exception. I never approved of telling the story through the Covenant's perspective because I feel the story loses the personal, emotional human aspect. That aside, The Last Voyage of the Infinite Succor was full of inconsistencies. First, the Flood is made out to be a rip-off of John Carpenter's The Thing. Second, in one scene, the Spec Ops Leader slices a fallen Elite to keep him from being infected but instead of purple blood it is red. ? The art panels were convoluted with others making it confusing and sometimes the action was harder to follow because of the blurry action style. C- on the artwork. The end was cheap too. Armor Testing raises more questions. I thought a Spartan was smarter than to be caught in an ambush as executed by the ODST's. And I thought Spartans were more than a match for five marines (didnt John take out for when he was just 6 years old--and without a powered battle suit?) Finally, how could Maria resign and start a family? I thought none of them can have a normal life. I mean, not just because they are enhanced and probably lack the social skills to mingle with the 'mainstream' humans, but because Section Three and the rest of the UNSC simply wouldn't allow a such a valuable military asset to just quit. It's not like genetically and cybernetically enhanced super soldiers grow on trees you know? Good artwork but wasted on a boring storyline. Breaking Quarantine was superb. Sergeant Johnson is my second favorite character and I was eager to see how exactly he escaped the Flood. Excellent artwork too. Even though there was no words, each panel is worth ten thousand of them and they capture the mood perfectly. My only 2 complaints--Flood bleed green not red and the story itself was WAY TOO SHORT. I was under the impression the story would follow up to the point where he actually escapes Halo with the others and rendezvous with the Chief--but whatever. Second Sunrise over New Mombasa. *sigh* sometimes I weep for the Halo franchise and what it has become. The story was boring and the artwork was absolutely hideous. I'm talking ATROCIOUS man. The Elites barely look like themselves and dont even get me started on the cliched future earth setting. Moebius is NOT a good artist much less a 'legend' as he is described as. I have never heard of him to tell the truth. The artwork in the back? Awesome. And they are all from Bungie employees--could'nt they have just done the artwork themselves (without words) instead of hiring Marvel--which no doubt cost a pretty penny. Anyway, throughout the stories, there was no sign of the Jackals, Drones, Engineers, Brutes or Hunters (except for some Hunter blood) All in all a disappointment from beginning to finish. Bungie if you're reading this--Tartarus and the Arbiter are NOT cool.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2006

    Constant Action! Gripping Stories

    I really enjoyed the art and the storytelling in the Halo Graphic Novel. My favorite story was Moebius's New Mombasa and Ed Lee's Armor Testing---the art and plotting was awesome. The Bisley story was very involved and really gives insight into the Covenant. Those who aren't convinced by great storytelling---should take a look at the gallery art, which is totally mindblowing. Plus, I wouldn't be surprised if Bungie announces that there is a secret code somewhere in the book. Hope they do a sequel!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2006

    Halo is Awesome

    This Graphic novel looks to be amazing. 'The Last Voyage of the Infinite Succor' looks great and tells the story of the flood from the view point of a Covenant Eliteand his squad. 'Armor Testing' covers how the MJOLNIR armor is tested, something I've wanted to know for a long time. Then we have 'Breaking Quaratine', Sergeant Johnson's 'David Cooperfield' escape from the flood. Penultimately, 'Second Rise Over New Mombasa' tells how Humanity's coping with the galatic war back on the homefront. Lastly, the 27 page artist's gallery at the back of the comic are truly amazing. I think that this graphic novel will definately be worth my $25.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2006

    Finnaly

    ive been waiting for this for a long time since iheard about it new york

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2006

    thank you

    finnaly but now i have to wait til it's in stock this is the greastest to all halo lovers.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2006

    this is cool!!!!!

    i cant wait untill this comes out!!! i think its going to be cool, its gonna talk about uknown stuff

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 27, 2006

    good book for videogame fans wanting to jump into comics

    usually when i see some comic fans, they all want games out of their comics. this book is admittedly one which will bring gamers back into comics. ill admit im a halo fan, i have played and beaten halo and halo 2 and cant wait for halo3, and this game answers many questions not answered in the games. at 128 pages, this book isnt meant to be picked up by a casual reader, its meant to be picked up by a fan who knows and respects the halo universe, and possibly handed off to a friend who wants to get in comics who knows the game. next year in late 2007 marvel has revealed that there will be a halo ongoing comic book which will run in the halo universe, but not in the realm of the game. a blessing if they can execute the series the way they execute the book.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2006

    i finally got it

    i finnaly got halo graphic novel. the art is amazing, it says cool syuff like when the flood takes over your body, it still knows all the stuff u know and your past, also at the end of the book theres a gallary of pictures thAT THEY COULDNT PUT IN THE BOOK

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2006

    CALLING ALL HALO NERDS!!!!

    this book may not be what some halo fans expect if you have ever read any of the halo novels you will enjoy these tails as they give you a more indeph look at the halo universe.This is definitely a buy for big halo junkies.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2