Customer Reviews for

Halsey's Typhoon: The True Story of a Fighting Admiral, an Epic Storm, and an Untold Rescue

Average Rating 4
( 40 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(16)

4 Star

(12)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Halsey's Typhoon - Recommended Reading

This is a well-written book that keeps your interest throughout. Well-known sailors such as Bull Halsey and lesser-known sailors like future president of the United States, Gerald Ford are key players in this documentary. With wind speeds of 125 knots, barometric pressu...
This is a well-written book that keeps your interest throughout. Well-known sailors such as Bull Halsey and lesser-known sailors like future president of the United States, Gerald Ford are key players in this documentary. With wind speeds of 125 knots, barometric pressures as low as 26.30 and frequent knockdowns of sturdy US Navy ships, it was a true testament to the seamanship America has produced. Excellent reading.

posted by 1333087 on May 10, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

This Story Has Been Told Before

When I read that 'Halseys Typhoon' was 'an untold rescue,' I blanched. Havng read 'Halsey's Typhoons' by Hans Christan Adamsom, Co., USAF (Ret) and George Francois Kosco, Capt. USN (Ret), published i 1967, I was astonished at this claim. 'Halsey's Typhoons' (Y...
When I read that 'Halseys Typhoon' was 'an untold rescue,' I blanched. Havng read 'Halsey's Typhoons' by Hans Christan Adamsom, Co., USAF (Ret) and George Francois Kosco, Capt. USN (Ret), published i 1967, I was astonished at this claim. 'Halsey's Typhoons' (Yes, there were two of them) is a true first hand account of the rescue. Kosco was an eyewitness. Moreover, the original book contains dramatic photographs of the typhoons and their impact on the ships. Drury and Clavin in 'Halsey's Typhoon' deals with the first of the typhoons, Cobra, and not with the second, Viper. Their map of the the path of Cobra is virtualy the same as the map in the original, only slightly modified. That they have used virtually the same title is unconscionable. Moreover the hero of the rescue, Henry L. Plage is quoted at length in the orginal, so this is not an 'untold rescue' by any means. I do not think that the mere listing of 'Halsy's Typhoon' in the middle of the selected biograpy along with numerous other books, exonerates Drury and Calvin from their responsibility to disclose the extent of their reliance, including paraphrasing, on 'Halsey's Typhoon.' Their publishers should be made aware of this, if they were not aware of it from the outset. What the authors have done is irresponsible.

posted by Anonymous on December 30, 2006

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 45 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2006

    This Story Has Been Told Before

    When I read that 'Halseys Typhoon' was 'an untold rescue,' I blanched. Havng read 'Halsey's Typhoons' by Hans Christan Adamsom, Co., USAF (Ret) and George Francois Kosco, Capt. USN (Ret), published i 1967, I was astonished at this claim. 'Halsey's Typhoons' (Yes, there were two of them) is a true first hand account of the rescue. Kosco was an eyewitness. Moreover, the original book contains dramatic photographs of the typhoons and their impact on the ships. Drury and Clavin in 'Halsey's Typhoon' deals with the first of the typhoons, Cobra, and not with the second, Viper. Their map of the the path of Cobra is virtualy the same as the map in the original, only slightly modified. That they have used virtually the same title is unconscionable. Moreover the hero of the rescue, Henry L. Plage is quoted at length in the orginal, so this is not an 'untold rescue' by any means. I do not think that the mere listing of 'Halsy's Typhoon' in the middle of the selected biograpy along with numerous other books, exonerates Drury and Calvin from their responsibility to disclose the extent of their reliance, including paraphrasing, on 'Halsey's Typhoon.' Their publishers should be made aware of this, if they were not aware of it from the outset. What the authors have done is irresponsible.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2010

    Great, but Flawed

    Halsey's Typhoon is one of a few recently published WWII books. The subtitle is not accurate. The story of Typhoon Cobra has been told many times, in fact, someone WHO WAS ACTUALLY THERE wrote a book titled Halsey's Typhoons (emphasizing plural and singular). Yes, there were two typhoons.

    Other than this misleading title, there are many other errors throughout the book. The authors have overdone metaphors, as if in a competition to see who could speak the most figuratively. One of the metaphors compares Halsey's destroyers to "Mrs. O'Leary's cows". Really, what does that mean?

    The authors do not know very much about the seamanship and the navy. I have read many WWII novels and histories and have found many conflicting statements. Firstly, Admiral King was not 'Navy Chief of Staff', the position does not exist. They must have been trying to implement different word choice that distract from the meaning of the story. The authors fail to explain ballasting effectively, probably because they do not understand the process. The two authors refer to the flags flown on the ships as "battle gidurons", which are used by land forces, not the navy. Destroyers are constantly referred to as DDs, and destroyer escorts as DEs. As far as I know, this book isn't a technical manual. It is as if the authors attempted to sound like they knew what they were taking about.

    Other than the authors obvious lack of basic seamanship and understanding of the navy, the book is very entertaining. The experiences of the sailors and ensigns is quite astounding. They do a very good job at making the story imminent, and are very good at expressing emotion.

    That is why this book earns three stars. There are many other books out there that accomplish all of the above criteria. I enjoyed reading it but think that anyone with a navy hunch will find the flaws distracting. This is why I recommend Down to the Sea by Bruce Henderson or Battle of the Leyte Gulf.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 5, 2009

    Great Read!

    I was impressed with this book's readability. The story was told dramatically and with specificity, flowing seamlessly from descriptions of men, ships, winds, and sea, as if written by one rather than two historian-writers.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 6, 2009

    A great Read!

    Halsey's Typhoon was quite readable yet full of fascinating information. I appreciated the structure of the book, the quotations heading each section, and the way it handled the difficulties faced by those attempting to define the nature and power of the storm. The book takes a very balanced view of Halsey himself, letting readers make their own decisions as to his competency as a commander. I highly recommend the book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2009

    Halsey's Typhoon - Recommended Reading

    This is a well-written book that keeps your interest throughout. Well-known sailors such as Bull Halsey and lesser-known sailors like future president of the United States, Gerald Ford are key players in this documentary. With wind speeds of 125 knots, barometric pressures as low as 26.30 and frequent knockdowns of sturdy US Navy ships, it was a true testament to the seamanship America has produced. Excellent reading.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2013

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2013

    Silverheart

    Sleeps

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2013

    Honey

    She pads around looking around in the den. She gets cold and pads to res 56

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 2013

    Darkness

    Oh yeah! ;)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2013

    Bloodspill

    No. Youre grounded for a week.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2014

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2013

    Striking

    Was gone

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2013

    Elders den

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2013

    Good

    My name is halsey

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 14, 2012

    Great story of courage, skill and sacrifice from WW II - Great read!

    Halsey's Typhoon is the true story of Admiral Halsey's Third Fleet encounter with a super Pacific typhoon, 90-foot waves and 150 knot winds, while enroute to support the allied landings in the Philippines. It is a powerful well written story of courage and ship-handling skill by young naval officers in an attempt to save their ships and crews. The sacrifices made by the sailors on the small ships, destroyers and destroyer escorts, are described in vivid detail. For anyone who has been at sea, this is an absolute must read. Well researched, good character development.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 19, 2011

    an excellent book both extensive and intensive.

    The good: this book cover most of the aspects regarding 'Typhoon Cobra', including the memories of the survivors. a very well written book that conveys the feelings of desperation and fear the tin can sailors must have felt. The bad: the text os no easy read as the author willing it or not creates that very feeling of chaos the fleet was in as the story jumps from one ship to the other. ys

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 31, 2010

    Great read you won't want to put down

    For anybody interested in WWII in the pacific will want to read this. It shows how limited radar was to the pacific fleet in tracking storms and how impossibly long it took to inform the admiral that he was sailing into a disaster. A definite must read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 28, 2010

    Halsey was a legend

    The book was non-stop action. From the onset of the typhoon, to the rescues and on to the investigation, the drama never stops. The comraderie, compassion and devotion of these men to each other was remarkable. The sacrifices they made and the will to live will astound you. I developed such a connection with the characters that I actually contacted one who was in the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 7, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Thou shalt not defame Halsey

    While efforts were made to keep the book unbiased and balanced, Halsey still is held up as some kind of faultless leader. The authors tend to excuse Halesy's errors because he got bad advice. They never explain why several junior officers were able to identified the approaching typhoon from their personal observations when the Admiral relying on his weather men was not. Could it have been that the Admiral safe on his stable battleship did not have the same concern and respect for the sea that the men on smaller ships had. I am happy that I read the book and got another view of the terrible loss of ships and men. For a different slant on the incident, I recommend Bruce Henderson's "Down To The Sea".

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2008

    Good read

    Enjoyed the book. Well written. I had a problem with the character assination of the Capt of the Hull. I really didn't think it was necessary but appearently the authors of the book had a score to settle. I was thinking about the family and relatives of this man and how they must have felt reading or hearing about this book. Totally unnecessary.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 45 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3