Customer Reviews for

Halt's Peril (Ranger's Apprentice Series #9)

Average Rating 4.5
( 760 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(617)

4 Star

(88)

3 Star

(26)

2 Star

(11)

1 Star

(18)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

20 out of 27 people found this review helpful.

Cannot Wait!

I love the Ranger's Apprentice series. It's hooked me since the first page of book one, with great characters, interesting plotlines, and just wonderful writing. It's a true hero's story about a young orphan, Will, and the way his life changes when a mysterious Ranger, ...
I love the Ranger's Apprentice series. It's hooked me since the first page of book one, with great characters, interesting plotlines, and just wonderful writing. It's a true hero's story about a young orphan, Will, and the way his life changes when a mysterious Ranger, Halt, takes him as an apprentice. But the story also has a theme of friendship and trust, which I just loved. The story is put together throughout books one through eight, in a different, but effective way. (Books one through four are Will as an apprentice, books five, six, and eight are when he is full Ranger, and seven is in the middle of the two groups.) Book nine looks both exciting and great. Halt is, by far, my favorite character, and "Halt's Peril" might mean some bad news for him. (Apparently there is a funeral at the end. I'm keeping my fingers crossed!!) Anyhow, the Ranger's Apprentice series is great , and more than worth reading. I'm positive that this beautifully writing fantasy will not let you down for a moment. I can't wait!

posted by Lilith-Hawk on July 17, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

NOOK problems

The book was great, like all of the others in this series. However, the NOOK ebook is terrible. I would be reading and try to flip the page and it would flip backwards several pages without seeming to. It would get caught in a perpetual loop between about 2 to 5 page...
The book was great, like all of the others in this series. However, the NOOK ebook is terrible. I would be reading and try to flip the page and it would flip backwards several pages without seeming to. It would get caught in a perpetual loop between about 2 to 5 pages. Had to manually enter a page number FARTHER into the book than my previous one and then flip backwards to get to the correct page. Extremely irritating.

posted by Anonymous on January 11, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 771 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 39
  • Posted July 17, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Cannot Wait!

    I love the Ranger's Apprentice series. It's hooked me since the first page of book one, with great characters, interesting plotlines, and just wonderful writing. It's a true hero's story about a young orphan, Will, and the way his life changes when a mysterious Ranger, Halt, takes him as an apprentice. But the story also has a theme of friendship and trust, which I just loved. The story is put together throughout books one through eight, in a different, but effective way. (Books one through four are Will as an apprentice, books five, six, and eight are when he is full Ranger, and seven is in the middle of the two groups.) Book nine looks both exciting and great. Halt is, by far, my favorite character, and "Halt's Peril" might mean some bad news for him. (Apparently there is a funeral at the end. I'm keeping my fingers crossed!!) Anyhow, the Ranger's Apprentice series is great , and more than worth reading. I'm positive that this beautifully writing fantasy will not let you down for a moment. I can't wait!

    20 out of 27 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2012

    Great book!!!!!!!!! And i am ashamed of some of you reviewers!!!!!!!!!

    This was my favorite book yet. I loved the whole series since the beginning and my favorite character has always been Halt. Halt always makes me laugh with his humor. I was at the saddest part in the book when i was in class reading after taking a test and i almost started crying right in the middle of class! This is my favorite series. Now one of my friends is reading the series. RANGER'S APPRENTICE RULES!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Now on to the part of why i am ashamed of some of you "reviewers". You guys use these review boards as your own hang out!!!!!! It is supposed to be a place where people who have read the book can tell others how the book was,but you people use it so you can play pretend. Its annoying for people who want to know if the book is good to have to scroll by all your posts talking to each other and playing. I am done with having to practically search for actual reviews so i am gonna report everyone of you because you deserve to have your post taken down and you should be banned. You guys just do it everywhere and its annoying having to read, "This is our clans place only we can post here! Go find your own place to post!!!!!" You all know who you are and you guys dont care about anyone but yourselves. You also swear and that is not good if kids see it. Please give me your feedback, like if you agree or disaggree with my ending. Thank You!

    9 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 10, 2010

    The story continues...and gets better with every book!

    Halt may be the character featured on this book's cover and title, but never have we seen so much action from Will and Horace they work with Halt to chase after the Outsider's run for their lives. With each book in this series, we find out more and more how deep the relationship is between the two rangers and the young knight. Each member of this close knit team is incredible in their own right - but is a force to be reckoned with when working together. Tears will come to your eyes at the conclusion of this book as we find that the love between Will and his adopted family will never cease.

    I can't wait until The Emperor of Nihon-ja is released in April 2011!

    8 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2012

    Great book Great book

    I was so into this book i could not put it down i was a nervous wreck when read it great tension i am gld halt did not die READ THIS BOOK

    5 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 2, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    MMMMMUUUUUUSSSSSSSSTTTTTTTT RRRRRREEEEEEAAAAAAAADDDDDD!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    i love this series!!!!!!! once you start reading the first book you getted hooked with the series. when i found out thet the ninth book wasnt ou tyet and i finished reading the eighth book i was sad. my favorite carecters are halt and will. halt because he had the courage to ask pauline to marry his event hough she knows that he will have to leave at random times to save the kingdom.will because he also has romantic times with alyse and its verry cute how he puts it. will does most of the action but when halt gets into the action it an unbelievable turnout.

    5 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2011

    The best series ever!

    I am a teen girl and I love the series. I really don't care what anyone else says, Ranger's Apprentice rocks! This book is really good and HILARIOUS! I was laughing a ton. A must-read for fantasy and adventure lovers, boys and girls alike.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2011

    Hi

    I love the rangers apprentice series!! But in this book halt should have died. As he said himself, he is getting too old for that

    3 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 19, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    OMG

    i am so worried for halt i love him i have allways been tottaly obsessed with this amazing series and i will allways be ya know this series might be a movie oh i hope so you would be stupid to hate this series

    3 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2013

    Anonymous

    Want some icecream!? Fresh from the icecream maker. So sweet, delicious, and soooooo delicate, it would get a 1000/10 and get 10stars, just like this book and series. If you agree, please click yes. Remember, do you also agree that icecream is delicious, also click yes.:}) (} - - go icecream and this book! [} - -

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2012

    Amazing

    Highly recomended! But you need to read the first eight!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2012

    AMAZING!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Truly the best so far ive read. It is incredible. Thatsvthe only way to put it. Simply incredible.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 13, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Good book

    Good book

    2 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 4, 2012

    highly recommend

    whole series is great

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2012

    Goodd book

    This book is amazing

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2012

    I enjoyed the whole series.

    I loved this series and hopee that flannagan writes more similar stories. One of my personal favorite series.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2012

    Great book

    When i first read the title i was like nooooooo! Halt cant die! Hes halt! Little did i know, i was repeating horaces line word for word. Anyways i asked my friend whether halt dies or not but he wouldnt answer me. I now thank him for that.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2012

    Reveiwer

    This action packed book has thril on every page. READ IT.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2012

    NOOK problems

    The book was great, like all of the others in this series. However, the NOOK ebook is terrible. I would be reading and try to flip the page and it would flip backwards several pages without seeming to. It would get caught in a perpetual loop between about 2 to 5 pages. Had to manually enter a page number FARTHER into the book than my previous one and then flip backwards to get to the correct page. Extremely irritating.

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 9, 2011

    Ranger's Apprentice... In a way (Spoilers, If You Don't Read the Cover)

    Will, Halt and Horace are on the pursuit of The Outsiders after them having poisoned and killing Halt's Brother. Starting in the beginning of the book, Will faces hardships when negotiating with the pirate O'Malley, and becomes all but surprised when Halt shows how he can do it so easily. The book progresses on, as such, for it is a Ranger's Apprentice novel, and Will is the apprentice to the master, Halt, however, tables get turned when Halt is poisoned by an assassin and Will has to take over. Then, to save Halt's life, Will has to go to the forest wizard Malkallam to save Halt's life by getting an antidote. Things I liked about the novel were: It is still refreshing to read a Ranger's Apprentice, and ever since the first one, I have never grown tired of the common theme of the book, and seeing how Will becomes more and more competent each story makes it like I am in the story itself. Things I didn't like, however, were the parts of the book that just made it seem like the skills of Halt and Will surpassed that of the abilities of the average ranger (tracking and such) and just the idea that EVERY idea that Halt had in this book was spot on, and there wasn't one wrong move, which made it seem too easy. Themes and messages I got from the book were that if you try you will almost never fail and you can never be too careful, even if the going doesn't seem at all tough. Another thing I like about the book is that I can relate to Will, who, when he seemed like an outcast, he was accepted by that one person who made everything better, and he was able to return that favor 100 times over, especially in this novel, and that same thing happened to me, although I have yet to pay that person back too much, so I will get on that.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2011

    Recommended

    I started this series to check it out for my son. I fell in love with the characters along the way. Gosh I want to say more but I am afraid I will ruin the story. I loved the ending. It made me cry and want a little more.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 771 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 39