Customer Reviews for

Halt's Peril (Ranger's Apprentice Series #9)

Average Rating 4.5
( 750 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(611)

4 Star

(86)

3 Star

(25)

2 Star

(11)

1 Star

(17)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

20 out of 27 people found this review helpful.

Cannot Wait!

I love the Ranger's Apprentice series. It's hooked me since the first page of book one, with great characters, interesting plotlines, and just wonderful writing. It's a true hero's story about a young orphan, Will, and the way his life changes when a mysterious Ranger, ...
I love the Ranger's Apprentice series. It's hooked me since the first page of book one, with great characters, interesting plotlines, and just wonderful writing. It's a true hero's story about a young orphan, Will, and the way his life changes when a mysterious Ranger, Halt, takes him as an apprentice. But the story also has a theme of friendship and trust, which I just loved. The story is put together throughout books one through eight, in a different, but effective way. (Books one through four are Will as an apprentice, books five, six, and eight are when he is full Ranger, and seven is in the middle of the two groups.) Book nine looks both exciting and great. Halt is, by far, my favorite character, and "Halt's Peril" might mean some bad news for him. (Apparently there is a funeral at the end. I'm keeping my fingers crossed!!) Anyhow, the Ranger's Apprentice series is great , and more than worth reading. I'm positive that this beautifully writing fantasy will not let you down for a moment. I can't wait!

posted by Lilith-Hawk on July 17, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

NOOK problems

The book was great, like all of the others in this series. However, the NOOK ebook is terrible. I would be reading and try to flip the page and it would flip backwards several pages without seeming to. It would get caught in a perpetual loop between about 2 to 5 page...
The book was great, like all of the others in this series. However, the NOOK ebook is terrible. I would be reading and try to flip the page and it would flip backwards several pages without seeming to. It would get caught in a perpetual loop between about 2 to 5 pages. Had to manually enter a page number FARTHER into the book than my previous one and then flip backwards to get to the correct page. Extremely irritating.

posted by Anonymous on January 11, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 86 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5
  • Posted October 9, 2011

    Ranger's Apprentice... In a way (Spoilers, If You Don't Read the Cover)

    Will, Halt and Horace are on the pursuit of The Outsiders after them having poisoned and killing Halt's Brother. Starting in the beginning of the book, Will faces hardships when negotiating with the pirate O'Malley, and becomes all but surprised when Halt shows how he can do it so easily. The book progresses on, as such, for it is a Ranger's Apprentice novel, and Will is the apprentice to the master, Halt, however, tables get turned when Halt is poisoned by an assassin and Will has to take over. Then, to save Halt's life, Will has to go to the forest wizard Malkallam to save Halt's life by getting an antidote. Things I liked about the novel were: It is still refreshing to read a Ranger's Apprentice, and ever since the first one, I have never grown tired of the common theme of the book, and seeing how Will becomes more and more competent each story makes it like I am in the story itself. Things I didn't like, however, were the parts of the book that just made it seem like the skills of Halt and Will surpassed that of the abilities of the average ranger (tracking and such) and just the idea that EVERY idea that Halt had in this book was spot on, and there wasn't one wrong move, which made it seem too easy. Themes and messages I got from the book were that if you try you will almost never fail and you can never be too careful, even if the going doesn't seem at all tough. Another thing I like about the book is that I can relate to Will, who, when he seemed like an outcast, he was accepted by that one person who made everything better, and he was able to return that favor 100 times over, especially in this novel, and that same thing happened to me, although I have yet to pay that person back too much, so I will get on that.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2011

    Recommended

    I started this series to check it out for my son. I fell in love with the characters along the way. Gosh I want to say more but I am afraid I will ruin the story. I loved the ending. It made me cry and want a little more.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2013

    Amazing

    This book was good even when nothing is going on in the book john flagon keeps you intrested with halt sarcasim.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2012

    Awsome and great books

    Best book

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2012

    Easton Webb review

    To start off not one of Johns best it was really predictable if i hadnt read all the other books in the series i would of hated the book. I would recomend it to ages 9 and up or els it might not make much sence but dont get me wrong great book but even better series i sugest you buy now read now and ask questions later. -Easton Webb

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 19, 2012

    It's okay

    I like book 8 a little better

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 10, 2012

    highly recomended-just fun to read

    the caricters in the rangers apprintice series,are fully formed individuals. i can relate to them as bowman, hunters and good companions. i spent my youth hunting the siera nevada montins from horse back and camping under the trees and stars. when i read these storys i remember the comaradury,and companionship of my father and family. i yern to go back in time, so i could live those days agin.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 23, 2013

    Great read

    A little on the boring side to me considering all of his other great books

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2011

    Very exciting

    This book could have been better. But it was still a good book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 30, 2010

    one you wont forget!!!!!

    this i a great book, that kept me on the edge of my seat. i am in dread and anticipation, since it will be the last book but it will sure be one to remember.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 11, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 86 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5