BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Ham on Rye

Average Rating 4.5
( 76 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(39)

4 Star

(29)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 39 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2005

    Hold the mayo

    HAM ON RYE is one of my all-time favorite novels. In all of Bukowski's work there is a constant search for truth and freedom. With every breath that Bukowski takes he is locked in a fevered struggle with the forces around him that contiually attempt to make him walk the path of the common man. His writing has been likened to that of McCrae (think, his KATZENJAMMER) and for a good reason: both men have a knack for keen observation, wit, and writing style that knocks you over. But Bukowski sees this ¿common man path¿ as nothing more than falling into a lock step towards certain death. Though he portrays himself as a repulsive type of human being, he is able to convince us that it is the world around him that is far more repulsive. In Ham On Rye, we are lead through the more meaningful chapters of Bukowski's childhood and early adulthood. There are very few pieces of literature that reaches readers with more honesty. I plow through Bukowski like I do Cap'n'Crunch. The man inspires drunken poetry on hot summer nights- while talking about women, booze, masturbation, classical music, & horse racing. This book is my new favorite. Why? Because while facinating the reader with lurid tales of a painful and depressing childhood, Bukowski makes us laugh, cry, and feel sorry for that kid we made fun of in 7th grade. If you liked POST OFFICE or McCrae¿s KATZENJAMMER, then you¿ll love HAM ON RYE as well. All are great, and this novel is the best place to start if you¿re new to the BUKOWSKI canon of literature.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 1, 2011

    A wonderful introduction

    This was the first venture i made into the world of Bukowski. It is well written and fairly quick read. Highly recommended!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2005

    I HAVE SEEN THE LIGHT

    I heard about the author when i was watching some countdown on Comedy Central. I have seen the light. When u read you feel like u are living Henry's life with him. i felt what the character felt. I like books that make u feel that u are there wit the person. Well written. Cop it, u will not be disappointed.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 27, 2002

    Bukowski Schmowski

    The violence described in the book shocked me at first.I kept reading though and liked it very much.It will speak to the loser in you.This book is a quick read and its very straightforward.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2001

    Lean, tough, hilarious prose

    Bukowski wrote exactly liked he looked: Tough, ugly, honest, and nonetheless compelling. His prose shocks with its humor, brutality, realism, but crackles with a uniquely lean, clean prose that you simply can't stop reading. Ham on Rye is his best book. His other novels are great also, especially Factotem. Anyone that hasn't read him, find him, do so, and you won't stop until you've read more.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2001

    THIS IS AN ULTIMATE READ!!!!

    This was the very first book I read written by Bukowski and after I was done, I knew he was my favorite. This is a must read for anyone who is in their teenage years or who once was!!!! So in other words if you can read this book is for you. Warning...If you are one of those people who like to criticize people who really use their imagination in language....then this book may not become one of your favorites. LOL Enjoy it I'm buying a second copy for my brother who is in high school right now, he needs the reading, and this is a book thats fun!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2014

    Skyler

    Nm u

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 18, 2013

    Hey fellow readers, This is a must read book. Reading only read


    Hey fellow readers,
    This is a must read book. Reading only reading three pages wanted me to read the whole book. Charles Bukowski's alter ego Henley chinaski will have you surprised and dumbfounded on how his childhood was. The story takes place in Los angles during the Great Depression. The Story starts off the story with memories of the past. Then slowly progresses into his adult hood. For me since I am a young male adult I could relate to some of the events in the story. The way his emotions change over time was comparable somewhat to mine.
    This book would be concerted graphic for young readers. There is a lot of detail towards his sexual urges. You must understand that he is a boy growing into a man. The violence is as graphic, His dad had anger issues and his mom just let it all happen. Henry didn’t really have any real friends he was just there, around people. As he got older it became worse for him. His dad started to beat him for senseless stuff he regularly got into fights.
    His dad decided to send him to a private school because he thought he was rich and it would be better for Henry. All that led to was severe Acne that causes him to get taken out of school. He wasn’t a approachable person. The story is written a first person perspective. All of Henry’s thoughts and sights are very limit though because he doesn’t really explain himself.
    The author really lets the readers in on the stuff that happens around Henry. Giving background information on other characters. From his family to his friends. Henry’s to me weent just ordinary kids. Each one of them were a little thing seemed strange to me. The strange that makes me want to keep reading to see where it leads. There the kids you hear in a story that your friend is telling you. Like the one's that we'll leave you like “ He didn't really do that, did he?”. 
    This may be my favorite book. It tells me about a child hood of  adventures, exploration, pain, depression.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 6, 2011

    Love this book

    Fantastic

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2005

    Good Bukowski, good.

    Written in his simple, rough style that I love so much. If you're a fan of Bukoski you'll like this book, if you're not then I don't know how you'll feel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2003

    Great book

    Read it. You'll love it. The book is about a kid named Henry.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2002

    Wow

    Extremely well written, content is outstanding. everything Charles says is real, he brings you into the world of Henry Chinaski and takes you through everything in his life utterly amazing, good for salinger fans.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2000

    Truely his best stuff

    this quickly became my favorite book. It brought back feeling and thoughts I had as a boy growing up in L.A.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 10, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 39 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2