Customer Reviews for

Hamlet (Folger Shakespeare Library Series)

Average Rating 4
( 416 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(260)

4 Star

(62)

3 Star

(28)

2 Star

(12)

1 Star

(54)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

an outstandingstory and a tragedy

this is a one of shakespears great play. it has everything in it. friendship, love enemies, etc.

posted by Anonymous on April 24, 2002

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

6 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

just okay

no helpful footnotes, no line numbers, and it was very slow to move from one page to the next

posted by 6140514 on February 12, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 416 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 21
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 1999

    WORTHLESS, PRETENTIOUS TRASH

    All and all this play is atrocious. Though millions have acclaimed it as the greatest piece of theatre ever, it is hardly that. People who say such things, such as Yale University professor Harold Bloom, are clearly self-serving conformists without credibility. In truth, HAMLET is a fraud. It is a classic rendition of 'The Emperor's New Clothes.' The intelligent reader recognizes this and so subsequently wastes no time in trying to decipher difficult language that is only meant to obscure a play void of meaning. The play's only purpose is to beguile the reader/playgoer with grandiose words into believing that it is something more than utter nonsense. For example, a close examination of Hamlet's true character reveals a man hiding behind 'limbs and outward flourishes'-his soliloquies. This examination eventually shows that Hamlet is nothing more than a simpleton who has donned a large vocabulary. In fact, he can easily be seen as the mirror image of Lennie in OF MICE AND MEN, Barnaby Rudge in Dickens' novel of the same name, Benjy from THE SOUND IN THE FURY, or Dogberry from Shakespeare's own MUCH ADO ABOUT NOTHING. The other characters in HAMLET (Claudius, Gertrude, The Ghost, Ophelia, Polonius, Horatio, Rosencrantz, Guildenstern, Fortinbras, Barnardo, Reynaldo, Osric, The First Gravedigger, and The Player King) are ridiculous and annoying caricatures, providing, as Dr. Johnson stated, 'no just picture of life.' Their total exclusion from the play would indeed vastly improve it, for they make no substantial contributions. In fact, their only contributions lie in the fustian and obfuscating nature of the work. Take my advice: Read Marlowe's DR. FAUSTUS, containing the brilliant Mephistopheles, the forerunner of Iago, or read Kyd's THE SPANISH TRAGEDY, home to the sublime Don Andrea, predecessor of Austen's Anne Elliot, if you are searching for great tragedy. Don't be drawn in with the countless others to an exaltation of the 'aesthetic failure,' as T.S. Eliot called it, otherwise known as HAMLET.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 1999

    Shakespeare's Best

    Hamlet is one of best tradegies that has been writen by Shakespeare. I never cared for his writing till I read Hamlet, then I was sold. Hamlets' words were just on fire all the time. There is nothing that he can not make sence of. And what a way to understand the human race! 'What a piece of work is man...' Hamlet proves Shakespears ability to look into the human mind, and find the dignity that unites us all.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2014

    Terrible formatting

    Not formatted

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2014

    F**k you b***h

    Hws

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 27, 2014

    Equiti Eclipse

    Name: Equiti Eclipse <p> Rank: Equiti ((Elite/Senior Warrior)) <p> Gender: &female <p> Appearance: Gray pelt <br> Deep, Pale Violet eyes <p> Kin: ... <p> Other: Was in BloodClan with Legend for a while

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 27, 2014

    Laticx Abyss

    Name: *sigh*<br>
    Age: Don't you be askin' no ladeh her age! Just kiddin'. I'm no ladeh.<br>
    Rank: *yet another sigh*<br>
    Description: Since you be blind, you wouldn' know no colahs anyway. (Black pelt, green eyes.)<br>
    Personality: Ain't I talkin' to you right now?<br>
    Skills: Well... Ignorin' you, for one... (Stalking, watching.)<br>
    Mate: My lovleh darlin', Dune.<br>
    Kits: Not yet...<br>
    History: Well, not a very long time ago, and in a land not so far away...
    Family: What do you be wantin' to know 'bout my fambly!?
    Other: Isn't usually this this insane. <br>
    Me: You be callin' me insane?
    Myself: No! No! I didn't mean it that way!<br>
    I: Ooo...<br>
    Me: *Throws a brick.*<br>
    Myself: Not the brick! Please! *Clunck.*<br>
    I: Houston, we have a problem.<p>
    Me: And that is all we have for you today, folks.<br>
    *applause*<p>
    -Abyss<br>
    Don't judge. :D

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 27, 2014

    Laticx Snake's bio

    Name: Snake <p>Age: 19 moons, I think it was? <p>Gender: Female<p>Appearance: A lean black shecat with soft blue eyes. <p>Persona: Snake's personality matches her abilities. She is very hard to find when she doesn't want to be found. <p>Rank: Laticx<p>History: Snake sits there and watches you die. (In other words, don't ask.)<p>Kin: NPC<p>Mate: None<p>Crush: None<p>Kits: None, but she wants one.<p>Other: Ask me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 27, 2014

    Duscis ghost

    Name: Ghost (previously known as shadow.) Age: doesnt matter. Gender: female. Description: black with grey markings and silvery blue eyes. Rank: duscis. Previously both laticx and equiti. History: none of your buisness. Kin: they disowned her, she disowned them. Allegiance: neutral. Personality: quiet and observant, smarter than she looks, but more deadly than she looks. She excels at blending in and changing not only her name, but also her comolete personality. She also knows how to adapt to certain situations very quickly on the fly and also know when to abandon a mission, making her one of the best laticx's. Mate/crush/kits: none. Other: dint mess aeound with her. She has a sense of humor, but not much of one, and often a short fuse.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 27, 2014

    Laticx Silent

    Name: Laticx Silent <p> Rank: Laticx ((Spy)) & Syfa ((Queen)) <p> Gender: &female <p> Appearance: Dark Gray pelt <br> Deep Silver eyes <p> Kin: ... <p> Kit: Quest <p> Other: Is also Sakon Obsidian

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2014

    WHY ..............

    Why is basically everyone doing bios?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2014

    Lily's Bio

    Full name , Lily Laurenya Russo . Age 17 .looks long slighly wavy blonde hair and blue green eyes and slightly tanned skin . Daughter of Aphrodite and Hephastus . Motto : Act like a lady think like a man

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 11, 2014

    Russia's Bio

    Name: Russia Annaleise Wolfgang
    <p>Gender: Female
    <p>Age: 18
    <p>Godly Parent: Persephone [Maiden Goddess and Queen of the Underworld.]
    <p>Earthly Parents: Johan Wolfgang [Deceased] and Anna Wolfgang.
    <p>Looks: Russia is small in stature but her frame is toned. She stands at 5"5, weighs around 120 pounds, she has long flowing midnight black hair that stops at the small of her back, with one pink streak underneath her hair on the right side, Russia has big, bright pale green eyes with small golden flecks around the pupil. She has one tattoo on her forearm of the symbol ' &Omega ' with the words in crusive that reads Underworld.
    <p>Attire: Russia wears a sleeveless black shirt with white upsidedown hearts on it and a red pocket on the upper right side; White skinny jeans with red skulls on the knees and black combat boots.
    <p>Persona: That depends on you.
    <p>Weapons: She has a pair of twin daggers strapped to each thigh [Mercy and Hopeless] then a scythe like weapon strapped to her back, the sythe is not as oong as one shoukd be, it is small enough to fit her on her back. [SoulReaper]
    <p>Crush: Nope.
    <p>Friends: Not yet.
    <p>Powers: Unknown ATM

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2014

    Gracie's bio

    Age:14 Name:Gracie Valentine Godly Parent:Ares Wears:white and blue ripped skinny jeans,black straplees shirt,black vans Assecories:beats

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2014

    Sage's bio

    Name: Uh duh? <p> Age: 15 <p> Height: 5'5 <p> Godly Parent: Zues <p> Eyes: Sky blue <p> Hair: Black, long, straight, and i dye my tips once every week <p> Clothes: A shirt with a pun on it, black shorts, and flip flops <p> Personality: sweet, kind, shy <p> Likes: soccer, volleyball, baseball, singing, hiking <p> Dislikes: Good luck finding something i dont like <p> Status: Single and ready to mingle.......... <p> Other: Just ask.....

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2014

    Kevin

    Age: 6 <br>
    Appearance: White, brown eyes, short brown hair <br>
    Personality: Nice, friendly, confident <br>
    Clothing: Tennis shoes, jeans, T-shirt, still wears diapers at night. <br>
    Parent(s): Clyde is my dad, but Hercules is my actual father

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2014

    Hey

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2014

    Ansley

    Wow! Nice little bio but how can you hate that many things?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2014

    Ansley

    Girl..uh aphrodite. Knife as weapon..age is 15 . I dont like 1.being aphrodites daughter 2.when no ones on 3.my cat 4. Annoying people 5. Ex-boyfriends 6. Pokemon 7. Desperate losers 8. Stuck up people 9. People with no confidence 10. Cowards 11. Listing things 12. Making 30,000 bios. 13. Superstition 14. Religion 15. Lame bar-mitzvahs 16. Birthday parties. 17 . Movie theatres without reclining chairs. 18. Meat....19. carrots 20. Cheese 21. Dairy products 22. School band 23 school orchestra 24. Chorus 25. Boy bands 26. Ed sheeran 27 Ellie goulding 28. Taylor swift 29. Babies 30 old ppl. 31 my mom. 32. Bad dads who dont pay child support. 33. Stinkiness 34. Markers 35. Aphrodite 36. Binghamton 37. CAsey 38. My nook. 39. People who think Lordes ugly. 40. People who are afraid of clowns. 41. People who cut themselves. 42. My mom irl. 43 wpmuatde. When People make up abbrieviations that dont exist. 44. People who critisize me on grammar 45. My other cat. 46. My step mom. 47. Lawyers 48. 18 year olds who rp still. 49. People with no life. 50. People who dont lie trampolines. 51. THIS

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2014

    Nicole's bio

    At school bios res 1.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2014

    Marisha marrie

    Name: look up but i go by marrie Age:17 Gender: what you think Godly parents: Dinyous and Demeter (sorry if spelt wrong) Apperince: 5'3 white shouldr lenth hair with blood red tips, wears black skull tu-tu and black corset and comat boots with her makeup done. Eyes change colors on mood. Relationship status: Taken not telling who Wepons: Bow and arrows, double daggers and a long sword with rubies inbedded in the handle and a sheild. Abilities: Good fighter and disciser and NEVER misses her target. An has good aim and super fast. Powers: cant tell you secret. Other: just ask

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 416 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 21