Customer Reviews for

Hamlet (No Fear Shakespeare Series)

Average Rating 4
( 46 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(24)

4 Star

(8)

3 Star

(10)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

I love the no fear version!

If you love Shakespeare or have to read it you will appreciate the no-fear books. It helps you understand plot line and really get into the characters. It also has original text right next to it so you can teach yourself quite easily Shakespeare talk. It is not cliff no...
If you love Shakespeare or have to read it you will appreciate the no-fear books. It helps you understand plot line and really get into the characters. It also has original text right next to it so you can teach yourself quite easily Shakespeare talk. It is not cliff notes and they do not offer any explanations if that is what your looking for. This is its best part because it still leaves you in charge of what you read and imagine and not what another scholar thinks of it.

posted by weez19 on January 28, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Very Easy, very fun

It was very useful for my English class. The side-by-side text helps you really understand what is going on better. The whole series is great!

posted by R2-D2106 on July 11, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted January 28, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I love the no fear version!

    If you love Shakespeare or have to read it you will appreciate the no-fear books. It helps you understand plot line and really get into the characters. It also has original text right next to it so you can teach yourself quite easily Shakespeare talk. It is not cliff notes and they do not offer any explanations if that is what your looking for. This is its best part because it still leaves you in charge of what you read and imagine and not what another scholar thinks of it.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2003

    Smarter, Better, Faster

    As a student, this book has allowed to me to better appreciate the beauty of Shakespeare's plays. The modern english translation allows me to better grasp the play, and it speeds up my reading time.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2004

    Improves grade

    This book is great if you are having a hard time understanding Hamlet.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2009

    Boon to Substitute Teachers!

    ALL of the No Fear Shakespeare series is wonderful. For over twenty years, I taught English in high school and now I substitute teach. Although I have taught almost every single one of the plays at one time or another, I certainly don't have them memorized! Thanks to these books, I can be prepared very quickly to work in the classroom with kids who are reading one of Shakespeare's plays; the No Fear versions are invaluable to me.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2006

    i never knew shakespeare could be so easy

    Of all the plays that I have read this was the easiest to read because of no fear shakespeare. It is so easy to comprehend and analyze. While my class is reading the play in original text, I like to read it in modern text. By doing that I don't get left behind on what is going on and I am able to answer questions because I understand.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 18, 2005

    Well done and easy to understand

    In the classic versions I always found it hard to get past a lot of the archaic English Shapespere used. This enhanced my understanding of Hamlet more than reading the original or even watching the play or the various movie interpretations. It really helped me to understand what Shakespere was really saying like nothing else that has ever come before. Now I know what's going on, which is great.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2005

    Hamlet for Everyone

    Hamlet is the best of the No Fear series and the series does exactly what it touts. But also, other reviewers haven't mentioned that if you read the original and use the modern for needed explanations and review the lines to see how it makes sense you will understand Shakespeare's style and eventually be able to read without the translations (at least more of the text without restorting to it).

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 18, 2004

    It's like Hamlet for dummies

    I love this book, it is def. a life saver, i really did not understand the real one so i went and bought this one and i really truly understood this book and made an A on my paper and essay on my test. I am very sure an A on notations as well!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2004

    The fog has lifted!

    My honors english teacher suggested this book and she said that it would help a lot to read the translated text in conjunction with the Shakespearean language. She was right! All that confusion over shakespeare is gone.!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2004

    Why didn't they think of this before?

    No-Fear Shakespeare is the best thing to ever happen to me. I'm a procrastinator when I have to read stuff for English, so I end up reading a lot late at night. It's difficult to comprehend the original Shakespeare text when your brain is wanting to shut off. So, I simply read the plain English text and everything goes a lot smoother.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 20, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    To BUY or not to BUY!

    The left-hand side of the book is the Shakespeare version and the right-hand side is the English translation with some (very little) commentary. This translation along with the Spark Notes: Guide to Hamlet will give you the tools to succeed in understanding the brilliance of this wonderful and timeless play. Buy, Buy, Buy!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2009

    i<3nofearshakespeare

    Hamlet is my soulmate.<BR/>no fear shakespeare is the best.<BR/><3

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2